We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Frednly hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kildonan Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kildonan Lodge Hotel
Ranked #10 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Pitea, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Frednly hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

A verry good hotel with serviceminded emploees. The rooms is beautiful. Not that far from Edinburgh downtown center with alot of restaurangs and shops. The bus stops right outside the hotel, but we walked to downtown, took just around 25 minuts (no stress). The onely thing we can say that isn't superpositive is that the windows are verry big and if the weather is good the rooms will be quite warm.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anette D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

495 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    317
    136
    31
    6
    5
See reviews for
63
288
20
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hessle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2012

This hotel is in an excellent location, within walking distance to Edinburgh town centre (approx 20 mins) There is also a bus stop directly across the road. Ample parking is available around the back of the property. Staff where very friendly and welcoming, breakfast was nice and we received complimentary sherry and biscuits in our room. Really nice looking building, although i felt that our room was slightly tired considering it was priced at over £100, only minor things -paintwork/wall paper slightly damaged, mould on window frame, but apart from this the room itself was spacious and had a good view.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cherrybee5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KildonanLodgeHotel, Manager at Kildonan Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2012
Thank you so much for your review, I am glad to hear you found us to be in an excellent location. We are located 1.5 miles from the high street and on a sunny day it is a lovely walk in to town or you could get one of the frequent buses from directly across the hotel.

We are also glad to hear that you found the staff friendly and welcoming and that you enjoyed the breakfast. We do realise that there is some work needing done in the classic double room that you stayed in and we are currently doing renovations at the hotel.

We hope that we can welcome you back to the Kildonan Lodge Hotel in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

I stayed here while on business at the King's Buildings and it was a nice walk to the conference. I stayed in the garden lodge and absolutely loved it. However, my colleagues stayed in the main building and were not nearly as impressed with this hotel. Breakfast was lovely. It is a bit far from downtown, but the bus is very convenient and makes travel to the more touristy areas simple and quick.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the garden lodge!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank atmosstudent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

We were attending a wedding in Edinburgh and chose the Kildonan Lodge to stay over. What a great choice, really easy to book - spoke to Sean lovely manner who booked for us. On arrival we were given a beautiful 4 poster bedded room - gorgeous, loved the liitle touches in the room, the complimentary sherry and shortbread. Room was spotless, bathroom was small but had a good shower. Toiletries were great as well. The breakfast was perfectly cooked with good quality sausages and bacon and lovely service from the staff. We could have gone home after the wedding but decided to stay here - liked the idea of the Honesty Bar in the lounge - maybe next time for that. We will definitely stay again when we visit Edinburgh for the Theatre or shows. Thanks to everyone there.

Room Tip: Room 8 has 4 poster and another single bed so ideal if you have a child with you - you can combine f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NanAllan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KildonanLodgeHotel, Manager at Kildonan Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Thank you so much for the great review. We are all really glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that we can welcome you back to the Kildonan soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

Awesome break with my wife at Kildonan Lodge. Greeted by the friendly staff who offered to take out bags up to our room for us which was a nice touch. As my wife sank in to the spa bath I docked my iphone (and it charged :) ) and chilled out on the four poster bed while sipping the complementary sherry.
Room was impeccably decorated and cleaned to a high standard. Free wifi too!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeekEcosse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,711 reviews
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#12 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,201 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#21 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
West End
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#6 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kildonan Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kildonan Lodge Hotel

Property: Kildonan Lodge Hotel
Address: 27 Craigmillar Park | Newington, Edinburgh EH16 5PE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#15 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#21 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,950 - ₹ 15,381
Hotel Class:4 star — Kildonan Lodge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kildonan Lodge is an elegant Victorian 4* small hotel located close to Edinburgh city centre, only 1.5 miles from Princes St with frequent bus services opposite the hotel. It offers individually designed ensuite bedrooms, free wireless internet access, private car parking, full Scottish breakfasts, Mathew's Restaurant, honesty bar and a warm and friendly atmosphere. Romantic four poster beds and spa baths are also available to compliment any special occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Kildonan Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kildonan Hotel Edinburgh
Kildonan Lodge Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing