We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,882)
Filter reviews
2,882 results
Traveller rating
1,436
744
378
183
141
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,436
744
378
183
141
Show reviews that mention
All reviews scotsman newspaper privacy hatch north bridge royal mile train station market street health club deluxe room beautiful hotel street level mini bar an upgrade birthday treat beautiful room central location princess street edinburgh castle
Filter
Updating list...
990 - 995 of 2,882 reviews
Reviewed 19 February 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights and can't really fault it. We stayed in a lovely executive suite on the 9th floor for a treat and it didn't disappoint.

Only grumble is that the pool was a little cold and the wi fi didn't work.

Date of stay: February 2016
Trip type: Travelled solo
1  Thank bluemonkeymagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2016

Wonderful old historic hotel just off the Royal Mile. We loved the Scottish breakfasts and the dining room was opulent.

Rooms are large and have mini bars and fluffy robes.
The views are astounding.
A must stay.

Room tip: Get a room on a higher floor. The views of Edinburgh are worth it.
Date of stay: July 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank IrishMomof3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2016 via mobile

You husband proposed to me in Edinburgh and we stayed at the Scotsman while we toured around. The staff were very friendly! The room was very comfortable and the views were beautiful. Would love to go back soon!

Date of stay: February 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Kecia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2016

Reasonably enjoyable stay - first time at this hotel. Not quite sure the hotel deserves a 5 star rating.
Bed not great - mattress felt lifeless and it also had a ridge down the centre which was rather uncomfortable. Lights were difficult to operate and the TV didn't seem to work. Good shower and hairdryer.. quite unusual !! Food quality at breakfast was patchy - we didn't have an evening meal there so can't comment further.
Staff were very friendly and helpful though and the architecture of the hotel was a pleasure to be in. Needs updating to be a true 5 star experience.

Date of stay: February 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Stuart M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2016

We are regular visitors to Edinburgh and normally stay at The Roxburghe which has never failed to deliver. However this time, we fancied a change. The Scotsman appealed and I rang the hotel direct as I always feel slightly guilty using a booking website. Much to my surprise, the reception person advised me that the booking team was not available on a Saturday and would I like to RING back on Monday, even adding that I probably would get a better price from the likes of Expedia, Booking.com etc !! What sort of a 5 star service is that??

Date of stay: February 2016
Thank cafran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews