We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First Class Spa” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh
Ranked #41 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
edinburgh
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“First Class Spa”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2012

Just returned from a day spa here and had a brilliant time, I booked only a couple of hours before I arrived, and was surprised to note that Norton House is the only Spa in Scotland who offer online booking ! anyway, treatments were amazing, the girls were friendly and very accommodating, the facilities are really clean and it felt like I was the only person there - My package included a two course lunch which was delicious. One of the best Spas I;ve ever been to - will definately book again and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mansaclaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronnie_MacKay, General Manager at Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, responded to this review, 17 July 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a lovely review of our Spa here at Norton House Hotel. I was delighted to read how much you enjoyed your treatments and lunch. I will ensure that the team in the Spa are aware of your comments; I am sure they will be very encouraged by them.

Kind Regards

R MacKay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,376 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    788
    383
    132
    53
    20
See reviews for
225
639
34
184
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

Bedroom/bathroom fresh and tasteful. Exceptionally comfortable bed. Attentive reception staff. Beautiful surroundings. If I was pushed, I'd have to say breakfast (full cooked aspect) was not great and service slow. But for me it would be unfair to focus on that when we left feeling we had a very good stay here.

Room Tip: This was a standard room (208) one of the cheapest I think. It had lovely views too!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heatherhuntly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronnie_MacKay, General Manager at Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, responded to this review, 17 July 2012
Thank you very much for posting a lovely review of Norton House Hotel and Spa after you recent stay with us. I was delighted to read how much you enjoyed your visit to our hotel. I acknowledge your comment regarding your breakfast and I trust that this did not detract too much from the enjoyment of your stay. hopefully we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Norton House in the future.

Kind regards.

R MacKay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ST. ANDREWS
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012

Hotel is worthy of 5 stars - staff were exceptionally helpful - especially Jennifer on reception - the food was to die for and my treatments from Rose were just out of this world - only one complaint - we had to leave. Will certainly return hopefully in the not to distant future - I am really fussy but this place is Wonderful.

Room Tip: Stay as long as you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WEELASSIE_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronnie_MacKay, General Manager at Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, responded to this review, 17 July 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to post such a glowing review of your recent visit to Norton House Hotel and Spa. I was delighted to read what a good time you had and how much you enjoyed your Spa Treatments and food. I will ensure that Jennifer and Rose in particular are made aware of how much they pleased you. I look forward to seeing you return to Norton House in the near future.

Kind regards

R MacKay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012

Beautiful setting, only stayed for 1 night and really enjoyed our stay.
Used the gym and pool which were really good. Staff all very friendly.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HelzoP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronnie_MacKay, General Manager at Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, responded to this review, 17 July 2012
Thank you for posting a review of Norton House Hotel and Spa after your visit to us in June. I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us so much and I will ensure that the team are made aware of you kind comments. I do hope you will visit us again soon.

Kind regards

R MacKay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2012

I stayed at this hotel on 9 June as I attended a wedding reception there. The reception was lovely decor beautiful and food gorgeous. Different altogether from the room. I booked an Executive room at a cost of £156 for one night. The tv in the bathroom did not work, there were obviously pipes running through the bathroom to other parts of the hotel which made constant noise. I had a tv less bath then found only one towel in the bathroom. One towel in this class of hotel and type of room? I eventually found another in the top of the wardrobe.

When I opened the patio door I couldn't close it again. A metal plate was loose at the top of the door which prevented it closing. On tip toes and using the key fob and some ingenuity I managed eventually to get the door locked. This room was on the ground floor right next to the road and being a lone female I found this very disconcerting. I called reception to report these faults but as it was 11pm decided to decline the offer of someone coming to my room. Again, the nervousness of a lone female.

Ever heard of a hotel giving a guest a time limit in which to eat a room service breakfast? I had breakfast delivered. The breakfast was distinctly average, the tea and toast were cold. The person delivering the breakfast asked me if he could collect the train 30 minutes. Of course I refused.

When I checked out I relayed my complaints to the receptionist about the tv, the breakfast and the door. He could not find a record of me reporting the door and tv the previous night. He wrote these down and took my phone number and email address and said someone would contact me. I'm still waiting.

Room Tip: Avoid room 510
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ScottishLady38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronnie_MacKay, General Manager at Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, responded to this review, 17 July 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay with us at Norton House for a wedding in June. I was sorry to read the points you raised in you review but when we don't get things quite right it is important that we know about them so that we can rectify them. I know that you spoke with my Deputy Manager in person around these comments and I trust that you found his explantion and apology acceptable.

Kind Regards

R MacKay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
#16 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,678 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,585 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Airport
DoubleTree by Hilton Edinburgh Airport
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#33 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,166 reviews
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#13 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh

Property: Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh
Address: Ingliston, Edinburgh EH28 8LX, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#10 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#10 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#25 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#25 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,058 - ₹ 21,626
Hotel Class:4 star — Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Norton House Hotel & Spa, one of the finest country house hotels in Edinburgh and AA Hotel of the Year Scotland 2010. The perfect backdrop to any wedding in Scotland, this romantic venue will make your Scottish Wedding dream come true. Built in 1840, Norton House Hotel & Spa in Edinburgh, Scotland was always intended as a traditional country retreat, removed from the bustle of the city. This four star hotel in Scotland is just a 20-minute drive from Edinburgh city centre and a mere ten minutes away from Edinburgh Airport. Situated in 55 acres of grounds, Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh offers 83 bedrooms, including 36 luxury executive bedrooms, junior suites and the master suite. Norton House Hotel in Scotland offers the popular contemporary Brasserie. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norton House Hotel And Spa Edinburgh
Norton Hotel Edinburgh
Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing