We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful B&B , Fantastic Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kingsway Guest House
Ranked #13 of 444 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New Jersey, USA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful B&B , Fantastic Stay”
Reviewed 12 April 2012

While looking for a B&B to stay in Edinburgh for four nights, I knew I had to pick a special one. Kingsway was just what we needed. It was in a good location, it got great reviews and it was at a worthwhile price. Lizzie and Gary welcomed us in and it was a real treat to be under their care. A lot of B&B's have short breakfast windows where you have 30 minutes to eat but they gave their guests a nice 90 min. window in which to come down. There was a car park behind the row of homes where we were able to park our vehicle off the road, which was good in case the "Blue Meanies / Meter Maids" came to ticket us. Every morning while we were at breakfast, our room was promptly serviced and the beds were maid. Talk about fast!! And the breakfast itself... amazing!! Kingsway is about a mile and half from High Street. If you're with a family, get bus tickets. The walk up Minto St. can be long and you might encounter some characters along the way. But it's no big deal otherwise and it's a healthy walk.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JerseyJosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

467 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    392
    67
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
100
236
22
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Lizzie and Gary are fantastic hosts and have been every time I stay here in Edinburgh, I wouldn't hesitate in recommending the Kingsway as a place to stay to friends or colleagues.

They are very friendly and knowledgeable with plenty of tips on where to go and what to do, both day and night.

Rooms and beds very clean and comfortable and a fantastic breakfast to boot.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DanWard77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maynooth, Ireland
Level Contributor
67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Liz and Gary Scott are two fantastic people who know how to treat a guest. Their Kingsway B'n'B near Mayfield in Edinburgh ticks every box, the food, the rooms, the excellent attitude, the overall aesthetic. Not to mention Edinburgh is a glorious city, of the same class as Prague and San Francisco. There's also something quite alluring about listening to BBC Radio 3 at 4am on the TV with the snow drifting down outside after a fantastic night at the El Barrio nightclub. This place has it all, as does its surrounding area. Edinburgh forever.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GreedyMessiah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

We chose this B&B based on Tripadvisor reviews and it's all true. Very clean, cozy B&B with new furniture and bathroom. The location is good, onyl a couple of bus stops away from the city. The hosts are really friendly and gave great recommendations for pubs, restaurants and daytrips. The nearby Salisbury Arms pub is a must!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NNora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

Stayed at this great B&B in the great city of Edinburgh and found the good reviews to be justified. It was good value with very generous breakfast, wifi and parking included in the price.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ravstereo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,765 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
868 reviews
23 Mayfield
#1 of 444 in Edinburgh
931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
94DR
#9 of 444 in Edinburgh
534 reviews
Barony House
#4 of 444 in Edinburgh
654 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Adria House
Adria House
#5 of 444 in Edinburgh
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingsway Guest House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsway Guest House

Property: Kingsway Guest House
Address: 5 East Mayfield, Edinburgh EH9 1SD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 444 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,056 - ₹ 10,453
Hotel Class:4 star — Kingsway Guest House 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kingsway is a great value AA four star gold rated guest house offering the warmest of Scottish hospitality, located just one mile from Edinburgh's famous Royal Mile. Always * BOOK DIRECT FOR BEST PRICE * Our stylish rooms are comfortable, cosy with all you will need for a great stay and our freshly cooked Scottish breakfasts with daily specials have won an AA breakfast awards for the last 4 years for quality and use of local produce. Rooms offer comfortable beds, fluffy towels, TV/DVD, internet radio, tea and coffee making facilities and hairdryer. We can offer our guests great local information to help enjoy their visit to Edinburgh, complementary high speed wifi and also use of our private off street car park. There is an excellent selection of cafes, restaurants and pubs within 5 - 10 minutes walk of the guest house. You can find more details and useful information about Edinburgh's sights and events on the KingswayGuestHouse FB page and also follow us on twitter/ instagram at KingswayEdin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Kingsway Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingsway Guest House Hotel Edinburgh
Kingsway Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing