We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cozy with view”
other travellers have booked this property
Living-room (with double sofabed) with dining area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living-room (with double sofabed) with dining area
Dining area of the living-room Another view of the dining area in the Living-room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
77 reviews
Living-room (with double sofabed) with dining area
Dining area of the living-room
Another view of the dining area in the Living-room
Kitchen (a separate room from the living-room)
Bedroom with king-size double bed
Bathroom with bathtub and shower over
A view of the Royal Mile from Jeffrey Street
View of Princes Street and the Balmoral Tower from the apartment
View of Calton Hill from the roof terrace
Roof ornament of 8 Jeffrey Street
The facade of 8 Jeffrey Street
Another view of the facade of 8 Jeffrey Street
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 77 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Danish first
English first
French first
Italian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Bindiji
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
“Cozy with view”
Reviewed 27 December 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We were delighted with this flat on the top floor of a fine old building in Old Town, convenient walking distance from train station, castle, museums, and all the best Edinburgh sights. Excellent choice of good restaurants, pubs, and shops nearby. Does require walking up 4 flights but the grand view (and rooftop terrace) are your reward.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlastairB...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An excellent base of operations.”
Reviewed 24 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This is a great flat and an excellent location for exploring this beautiful city either during the festival or at any other time of year. It had everything we needed including some wonderful welcoming touches. The only drawback is the four flights of stairs!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the views
Liked least: The position of the shower and its controls
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FMB041
Ninole, Hawaii
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A wonderful base for visiting Edinburgh!”
Reviewed 27 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed here the second week in June when temperatures were still rather cool. We are a married couple with two daughters ages 21 and 11 that accompanied us.
The apartment was as advertised. The owners have provided everything to make a stay comfortable: not only was the kitchen fitted out with all the necessities but there were replacement garbage bags, band-aids, extra blankets, laundry soap, a binder with written instructions on how to operated everything in this fully fitted unit. The bookshelf held maps and travel guides.
Parking our car was no problem. There is a car park nearby and it was never full. We were also able to park on the street over Sunday saving some money. The flat was a short walk from the Waverly Station (train). It was literally on the Royal Mile, and we were able to walk to everything with ease. Location could not have been better.
We thoroughly enjoyed staying there and would stay again. One thing bears noting: the advertisement clearly mentions the stairs. There is no lift and the flat is on the top floor. I loved the exercise but travelers who cannot tolerate stairs would not enjoy this flat. My mother could never have made it past the first landing.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Ambience, Location
Liked least: Mattress was a 9 out of 10, I would have liked a 10
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cjean11
newcastle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“good location”
Reviewed 18 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This was my second stay at this apartment. It is a well presented apartment in a central location and I would have no hesitation in choosing it again. The only drawback if you are not fit is that it is on the fourth floor so be aware there are a lot of steps to climb.

Travelling group: Solo
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jun 2015
Thanks for your review, and we're pleased to hear that you enjoyed your return visit to Flat 14. Yes, you're right that there are quite a few stairs up to the top floor, but I guess that the up side are the views that you get from being at this height, both from the living room and from the roof terrace above. Best regards, Martin, Vacation Rentals Scotland
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica R
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Super location!”
Reviewed 1 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We really enjoyed our stay at Jeffery St. The location is perfect, steps off the Royal Mile and 5 minutes walk or less to the train station. The flat is very comfortable and well equipped. It was a bit too cold this time to enjoy the rooftop patio, but it is a beautiful spot. The flat is on the top floor, so lots of steps. (Which was fine with us as it helps to work off all that pub food!)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and comfort.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jun 2015
Glad to hear that you had a good time at Jeffrey Street. Yes, the roof top can be a little chilly when the sun isn't shining, but we hope that you nevertheless enjoyed the views from up there (even if you had to wrap up when out in the open air!).
We hope to be able to welcome you back at some point in the future.
Best regards, Martin, Vacation Rentals Scotland.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing