We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,051)
Filter reviews
3,051 results
Traveller rating
1,411
1,248
278
86
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,411
1,248
278
86
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location royal mile rubber duck grassmarket area walk in shower master suite elemis toiletries grass market pubs and restaurants castle view excellent hotel nespresso machine modern hotel would highly recommend this hotel stayed here for nights breakfast was excellent few minutes walk
Filter
Updating list...
158 - 163 of 3,051 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2018

I stayed at the Apex City with my wife and friends during a recent visit to Edinburgh. On-site parking was available at the side of the hotel and the reception procedure was quick and friendly. Our rooms were spotlessly clean and very comfortable. The hotel has a comfortable bar lounge and restaurant where we enjoyed a tasty lunch of venison burgers as well as a substantial breakfast the next day.
The staff at the hotel deserve special praise for their friendliness and professional attitude. I must mention Margaret and Bella who were a credit to the hotel. Well done to all concerned.

Stayed: March 2018
1  Thank Kirky99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHobin, General Manager at Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2018

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review.

I am delighted that you have enjoyed your stay.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards

Mike Hobin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

Absolutely loved this hotel, was such good value for money, the rooms were spotless, really big, reallyyy comfy beds and in the best location! Can’t fault it at all! The bathroom had a bath and shower, there was a huge couch in the room which was a nice touch and room freshened every day! Love love love it here and will definitely be back! Rooms have hairdryer and iron with ironing board which helped! If having a drink bring your own bottle opener and there is no fridge in the basic rooms. Still and sparkling water left in room for you to drink at no cost and tea/coffee/hot chocolate etc filled daily. Will recommend to anyone and everyone! Very happy thank you apex!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Beth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHobin, General Manager at Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2018

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review.

I am thrilled that you enjoyed your stay, and found it to be great value.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards

Mike Hobin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

Alex city hotel was fantastic. It was in the perfect location, and a view of the castle. Rooms were very clean and staff were lovely and friendly. There was a bar/restaurant but we didn't eat or drink in there but looked great. Would stay here again with out a doubt. Edinburgh is beautiful x

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Kirsty S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHobin, General Manager at Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2018

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review.

I am delighted that you have enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards

Mike Hobin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

We stayed in the apex for 3 nights over St Patrick's Weekend. The hotel is beautiful, modern and crisply clean. The staff at reception were really nice. We did not eat food here but the menu looked appetizing. We were given a map of Edinburgh and any questions we had were answered.
The room was beautiful and very clean. We were greeted in the bathroom by 'Bobby' our apex duck. I thought this was a lovely idea. It now has pride of place in our bathroom in Ireland.
We will certainly be returning to Edinburgh and will for sure stay at the apex again.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank sezm88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHobin, General Manager at Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed the St Patrick's celebrations.

I also agree that the menu is very appetising, and should be sampled upon your return.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards

Mike Hobin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

We stayed at Apex for a week and really enjoyed it! The staff was extremely friendly and they went out of their way to help us celebrate our belated honeymoon! We had a sweet card from the hotel and a couple surprises in our room to help us celebrate!
The location was perfect with only a small hike up Victoria St. to get to the Royal Mile.
We had a wonderful view of the castle and there are several bars and restaurants close by.
The continental breakfast was tasty but we were craving more protein with our breakfast. Our only wish would be for some eggs to be added to the continental breakfast...whether scrambled or hard boiled.
After reading reviews about the loud doors, we brought a travel sound machine which really helped. It would be great if they could find a way to soften the closing of the stairwell doors! Very loud considering it’s all tile/hardwood floors in the hallway and the rooms. Sound travels.
Overall a wonderful stay and we would definitely go back!
Thank you for making our trip so special!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank af2910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHobin, General Manager at Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for feedback on breakfast, this is something that I will action.

Kind Regards

Mike Hobin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews