We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (303)
Filter reviews
303 results
Traveller rating
166
98
21
12
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
166
98
21
12
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews juniper bar princes street train station british hotel ihg hotels aveda toiletries complimentary snacks excellent location travelling by train walk in shower wardrobe space lovely hotel tourist sites rain shower building site scott monument mini bar
Filter
Updating list...
135 - 140 of 303 reviews
Reviewed 13 November 2017 via mobile

If it's a great location you are looking for then this hotel should be definitely one on the list. It's right opposite the train station so super convenient for anyone who's coming via train. Hotel also has a nice buzzy bar called Juniper which is a nice place to hang after a long day walking and we did walk a lot in this charming city. Hard to fault this hotel, staff were nice friendly and helpful, house keeping cleaned the room well and early enough. Only issue is that there would be a nasty smell in the bathroom in the mornings and when we returned in the evenings (presume when not in use) which probably came out of the drains. All in all solid hotel and I would consider staying here again if I visited Edinburgh.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank TravelerDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen W, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh - Princes Street, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2017

Dear TravelerDude

Thanks for posting your review, we're really pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay.

Juniper is a great place to relax, whether it's for morning coffee, or evening cocktails. Glad you enjoyed spending time enjoying it.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Stephen Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2017 via mobile

I stayed for a couple of nights. The rooms are very nice, I love Aveda toiletries and the dining room has a lovely view over to the old town plus the breakfasts are cooked to perfection. The decor is tasteful and regal in feel.
The only reason to drop a star was because there was dried blood on my sheets, pillow and duvet so, although they had been washed in, it looked like someone had cut themselves shaving and got into bed. When I told them they apologised and changed the bedding but I don’t think I should have had to ask really as it should have been spotted when the bed was made.
The location across from the station is great. I flew into Edinburgh and hopped straight on the Airport Express bus so it terminated right opposite the hotel. Couldn’t have been more convenient.
For looking around it’s a 5 minute walk to the Golden mile and a 5 minute walk to the George street attractions and the Galleries

Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank lisa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen W, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh - Princes Street, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2017

Dear lisa T

Delighted to read so many positive comments about your visit, but very sorry to hear that we missed something which affected your overall score.

I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel again soon.

Stephen Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2017

We stayed here twice on our travel through Scotland, first for 4 days and then the last day before flying home. Location is brilliant on Princes street opposite Waverley station and walking distance to so many attractions. The staff were friendly and helpful with our luggage as reception is on first floor. Our room on the second floor had wonderful views over Princes street and Waverley station. The bed was comfortable, the bathroom modern with a great shower and the Wi Fi worked well. We had breakfast and dinner many times and enjoyed the food and ambience. Restaurant Twenty has a high standard with professional service. When we returned for our last night we were given an upgrade to a fifth floor room which was more spacious. The staff were amazing and we compliment the management. Will definately return.

Room Tip: higher rooms are better. Fifth floor the best
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank beheaded c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen W, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh - Princes Street, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2017

Dear beheaded c

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the location, the bedroom/bathroom, Twenty and most of all, the helpfulness of the team.

We hope to be able to welcome you back again in the future.

Stephen Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2017 via mobile

Stayed for night the previous night stayed in the indigo in York Place. Thanks for the chocolates in the room for my birthday and the room upgrade for being ihg spire member. Rain fall showers are powerful. Beds are huge and comfortable. Wi fi was fast. Free mini bar items. Breakfast was nice. The room service menu for meals in the evening didn’t have much on it for vegetarians. You can tell they have spent a lot of money doing up the hotel. Next time I would try and ask for a room at the front to try and get a view as was in room 311 and doesn’t face anything but scaffolding and you can hear some of the drilling not the fault of the hotel know as it isn’t there building that is getting done. Would recommend know and if was in the area again would book again as always try and book ihg hotels to collect the points. Like some of the items in the room to add character to it the lamps had mini typewriters on the base and there was a old fashioned type phone which was fun. Thanks

Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
Thank dazzer81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen W, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh - Princes Street, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2017

Dear dazzer81

I'm delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay at the hotel.

We are very grateful for your various positive comments about all aspects of your stay.

Kind regards
Stephen Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2017 via mobile

Fab hotel in a perfect location within walking distance to all popular sights and attractions .

Modern and comfortable rooms with comfortable beds and complimentary snacks. Room was kept to a high standard of cleanliness.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Edinburgh and we will definitely book here on our next visit- it’s very good value for money for the standard.

A special thanks to Fiona who checked us in, she was exceptional - we arrived early (9am) to make the most of our anniversary weekend; she got a map of Edinburgh out to show us where things we wanted to see were located and even gave us a courtesy call when our room was ready.

Hotel is located Directly opposite Waverley station with a view of the castle from the front door. You can get to the royal mile in 20 minutes from here.

Bar ( Juniper ) & restaurant ( Twenty ) we’re both fantastic ( will write separate reviews for those).

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank MrsH0716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen W, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh - Princes Street, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2017

Dear MrsH0716

Thank you for your review. You have highlighted several great things about the hotel, but the most pleasing thing is undoubtedly your comments about Fiona.

We are very lucky to have someone on our team who is completely dedicated to giving the best possible service to all of our guests.

Kind regards

Stephen Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews