We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very interesting!”
Review of Gilmerton Cove

Gilmerton Cove
Ranked #26 of 402 things to do in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Enter one of Scotland's most curious heritage sites. An archeological mystery that has baffled investigators for over 300 years. Gilmerton Cove is a series of chambers and passageways lying hidden beneath the streets on the South side of Edinburgh. Join us on a guided tour and help us unravel the mysteries of this strange mysterious labyrinth. Please note this attraction is by appointment only, please call to book a slot.
Useful Information: Stairs / lift
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very interesting!”
Reviewed 24 March 2012

Great for a fiver! Very interesting tour with time to wander around on your own at the end. The guide obviously enjoys her job and happily answers any questions. Me and my partner walked from princes street although not for the faint hearted, there is the 3, 3a and 29 bus that you can get for £2.80. Definatly worth a look if visiting the area, as stated before its only £5 which is cheap for one of Edinburgh attractions.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Maria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

627 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    464
    138
    19
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Prestwick, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Guide didn't turn up.”
Reviewed 23 March 2012

We emailed Gilmerton Cove to arrange a tour during our recent visit to Edinburgh, told we could go at 12md, arrived outside Gilmerton Cove entrance on Drum Street at 11.50am, door locked, no instructions, waited until 12.15pm, phoned numbers given, straight to voicemail. Emailed about this to be told they had checked for latecomers at 12.10 before decending abd could we come back the next day! Must've decended through a hidden door then since we were stood outside for 20 minutes along with others who had been promised a tour!

Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GilmertonEdinburgh, Manager at Gilmerton Cove, responded to this review, 24 March 2012
Apologies again as we were there meeting visitors from 11.45 right up to 12 noon the tour started at 12 we were expecting other visitors so we double checked outside at 12.05pm for any latecomers alas no-one there. I'm worried you may have been at the wrong location. Sincere apologies if you can conact us we would like to offer you a free tour for your inconvenience. Best regards, Margaretanne Dugan, Gilmerton Cove.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“excellent”
Reviewed 21 March 2012

fantastic trip really enjoyed it, full of interesting tales and maybes!!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“perfect to spend some time in something very mysterius”
Reviewed 20 March 2012

highly reccomended for a morning or afternoon out in edinburgh,have a drink in the nearbye local pub (very local)

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Goegebeur K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilmerton, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 20 March 2012

Kids loved it, would go back in a min, I live local, can not believe I have never been before.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerry E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gilmerton Cove also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Gilmerton Cove? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing