We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good looking hotel in the heart of Leith”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh
Ranked #94 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
hartlepool
Level Contributor
204 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“Good looking hotel in the heart of Leith”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

The hotel is nicely situated for all the bars/restaurants and Ocean Terminal in Leith. The rooms are very clean and comfortable with the usual flat screen TV with lots of channels. However, as with a lot of hotels the double bed is 2 single beds pushed together?? but on the plus side pretty comfortable. The hotel itself is well ran by very pleasant staff and very clean/plush throughout. The bar and restaurant area is furnished to the highest quality but of course very expensive (£4.10/pint and Steaks from £17.00).We had breakfast on both days we stayed and upgraded (£2.00 each/day) and we where'nt disappointed with lots of choices for our taste. Overall a very nice hotel well worth the stay if in Leith.

Room Tip: Ask for room facing the sea as other rooms face a brick wall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tonysprings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,805 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    598
    677
    348
    135
    47
See reviews for
156
1,061
38
239
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Stayed here for a night at the start of April and the whole stay was just 'ok'. The old building looks great from the outside but the old Malmaison trick of having very low lighting would suggest that they are covering up a multitude of sins. This hotel could probably benefit from an update throughout the reception and hallways, although the room was of average decor it just didn't have the wow factor of rooms in other Malmaison properties we've stayed in. Don't let this put you off staying I guess I just expected more design flair I'd associate with the Malmaison brand.

Location-wise it's surrounded by loads of bars, pubs and restaurants so plenty of choice for eating and drinking. Didn't try the hotel bar or eat in the hotel restaurant though so can't comment on these!

Had read prior to our stay of people experiencing fire alarm issues, and I'm sad to say we got the wake-up call sound of the alarm too!! Although we were already woken around 9am with the cleaner in a room nearby using an extremely loud carpet cleaner, followed by a vacuum, then the fire-alarm gave a shriek.....so an eventful half hour wake-up call, which after a late-ish night was something we didn't really appreciate!!

On the plus side there was plenty of free parking, which is rare for any hotel nowadays!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tommytyke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

My friend and I stayed in a twin room for a short break - we flew up from Manchester, having done the same last year. Be warned, the Malmaison is about £24 in a taxi from the airport. Room was very nice, and we also ate/drank there, rubbing shoulders with Ally McCoist and The Proclaimers, no less! Breakfast was included (best price including this was on Alpharooms.com not direct on the Malmaison website as they claim) and was great. Excellent location in Leith for Britannia, but if you're an Edinburgh first-timer, I'd recommend staying somewhere central as none of the iconic/must-see attractions are within walking distance. If you're staying longer than two nights, maybe you wouldn't mind going into town on the bus for a day of sight-seeing, then back to the hotel to get ready for your night out, then another bus or taxi back to town again for the night, but we spent quite a bit on taxis as time was at a premium!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClaireL81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights in April. Can't fault the staff - very personable, helpful and friendly. However, the room we had was not quite to the same standard. Our room was at the back of the hotel with a view of the back of the other building (just a few feet away), the air con units (which hummed night and day), and the pigeons trapped beneath the pigeon proof netting! The carpet track could be felt by the bathroom door, and the toilet seat was broken and loose. We did ask if we could move rooms though and they were happy to let us move the following morning - we decided it was not worth packing up again - so the issues were not deal breakers. The bed was very comfortable and it was all nice and clean. The bar is a little lacking in personality unfortunately, but the brasserie is dark and very cosy (good for romantic meal) and the staff there were extemely attentive and friendly. The food was also very good. It has an onsite car park which is really good, but yes it is a little out of the city centre - it cost us £9 to get a taxi into the centre, it is walkable but not advisable in heels ! There are frequent buses though. Leith itself is hiding under a bushel - there are some nice trendy bars nearby but you would never know it!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that isn't at the back of the building! Sea view please!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzybelleLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

Nice peacful setting. Pretty average room lay- outs but with the usual high standard of fittings and decoration you get in a Mal. There was nothing exceptional about anything but everything was just of a consistent high standard.

Good location for Ocean Terminal and its a nice 45 minute down hill walk from the City Centre if you are that way inclined. The mini Gym is fine if you want a quick cardio work out and there is a useful running map in the room too.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MXE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#14 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,282 reviews
Channings Hotel
#35 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#40 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,838 reviews
Old Town
The Scotsman Hotel
The Scotsman Hotel
#90 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,223 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh

Property: Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh
Address: 1 Tower Place | Leith, Edinburgh EH6 7BZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#49 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#53 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#59 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,162 - ₹ 21,270
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's the mother of all Malmaison's. The former house of ill-repute now has a reputation that's second to none, and it's also just a short taxi ride away from Waverley Station. Malmaison Edinburgh bides at Leith (as they say up here), just a stone's throw from the Royal Yacht Britannia, but offering far more funky luxury. Yes, when you want exciting hotels in Edinburgh, this is the King, not the castle. Our Edinburgh hotel puts you close to all of Edinburgh's cobbled splendours, incredible shopping and famous galleries. Then it's back to Mal for Scots dining with a twist, a fine selection of single malts and mojitos in the bar and then back to the slinkiest and most spectacular rooms in the Scots capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Prestigia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edinburgh Malmaison Hotel
Malmaison Edinburgh
Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing