We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Malmaison Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$ 330
US$ 216
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 125
US$ 121
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 175
US$ 170
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 108
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$ 304
US$ 249
Waldorf Astoria
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$ 137
US$ 133
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 248
US$ 226
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 105
US$ 78
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Holiday Inn Edinburgh(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$ 94
US$ 76
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$ 149
US$ 121
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (2,084)
Filter reviews
2,084 results
Traveller rating
701
770
400
154
59
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
701
770
400
154
59
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscity centreleith docksocean terminalmini barsuperior roomcontinental breakfastan upgradeeggs benedictroyal yachtbars and restaurantslovely hotelclub roomhotel is situatedan overnight staystayed for one nighta lovely staycomfy bed
Filter
Updating list...
1,670 - 1,675 of 2,084 reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Stayed here for a night at the start of April and the whole stay was just 'ok'. The old building looks great from the outside but the old Malmaison trick of having very low lighting would suggest that they are covering up a multitude of sins. This hotel could probably benefit from an update throughout the reception and hallways, although the room was of average decor it just didn't have the wow factor of rooms in other Malmaison properties we've stayed in. Don't let this put you off staying I guess I just expected more design flair I'd associate with the Malmaison brand.

Location-wise it's surrounded by loads of bars, pubs and restaurants so plenty of choice for eating and drinking. Didn't try the hotel bar or eat in the hotel restaurant though so can't comment on these!

Had read prior to our stay of people experiencing fire alarm issues, and I'm sad to say we got the wake-up call sound of the alarm too!! Although we were already woken around 9am with the cleaner in a room nearby using an extremely loud carpet cleaner, followed by a vacuum, then the fire-alarm gave a shriek.....so an eventful half hour wake-up call, which after a late-ish night was something we didn't really appreciate!!

On the plus side there was plenty of free parking, which is rare for any hotel nowadays!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tommytyke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

My friend and I stayed in a twin room for a short break - we flew up from Manchester, having done the same last year. Be warned, the Malmaison is about £24 in a taxi from the airport. Room was very nice, and we also ate/drank there, rubbing shoulders with Ally McCoist and The Proclaimers, no less! Breakfast was included (best price including this was on Alpharooms.com not direct on the Malmaison website as they claim) and was great. Excellent location in Leith for Britannia, but if you're an Edinburgh first-timer, I'd recommend staying somewhere central as none of the iconic/must-see attractions are within walking distance. If you're staying longer than two nights, maybe you wouldn't mind going into town on the bus for a day of sight-seeing, then back to the hotel to get ready for your night out, then another bus or taxi back to town again for the night, but we spent quite a bit on taxis as time was at a premium!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ClaireL81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights in April. Can't fault the staff - very personable, helpful and friendly. However, the room we had was not quite to the same standard. Our room was at the back of the hotel with a view of the back of the other building (just a few feet away), the air con units (which hummed night and day), and the pigeons trapped beneath the pigeon proof netting! The carpet track could be felt by the bathroom door, and the toilet seat was broken and loose. We did ask if we could move rooms though and they were happy to let us move the following morning - we decided it was not worth packing up again - so the issues were not deal breakers. The bed was very comfortable and it was all nice and clean. The bar is a little lacking in personality unfortunately, but the brasserie is dark and very cosy (good for romantic meal) and the staff there were extemely attentive and friendly. The food was also very good. It has an onsite car park which is really good, but yes it is a little out of the city centre - it cost us £9 to get a taxi into the centre, it is walkable but not advisable in heels ! There are frequent buses though. Leith itself is hiding under a bushel - there are some nice trendy bars nearby but you would never know it!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that isn't at the back of the building! Sea view please!
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suzybelleLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2012

Nice peacful setting. Pretty average room lay- outs but with the usual high standard of fittings and decoration you get in a Mal. There was nothing exceptional about anything but everything was just of a consistent high standard.

Good location for Ocean Terminal and its a nice 45 minute down hill walk from the City Centre if you are that way inclined. The mini Gym is fine if you want a quick cardio work out and there is a useful running map in the room too.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MXE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Stayed here for one night and must say that everything was impressive. Lots of options on accommodation. Obviously a bit away from the mainstream of the city centre but if you want the option of a walk to some of Edinburgh's best restaurants in the evening (Martin Wishart, Fisher's The Kitchin) you could not go wrong with this location.
Lots of free car parking, friendly welcoming staff. I stayed in a deluxe double and had a very substantial comfortable, clean room with large bathroom and shower with lots of towels and bathrobes. Excellent restaurant downstairs. Difficulty is choosing between breakfast downstairs of the wonderful breakfast delivered to your room in what I can only describe as a breakfast hamper. Wonderful experience.
Rooms 329/429 look over indifferent buildings but give excellent views of Arthur's seat and the Castle.

Room Tip: 329 and 429 corner rooms - large with great views
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews