We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never stay in hotel that is inside a disco”
Review of Stay Central Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Stay Central Hotel
Ranked #44 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 October 2017

I am actually writing this review at 02:30hrs in my room and the noise is incredible the base line of every tune is just thumping through the walls..Hotel is a quirky, bright and funky. Rooms are way more better than your average run of the mill Weekender hotel overly advertised on TV , with more than just a chocolate on the pillow. Staff are very friendly and effective.

This a fantastic hotel for people who love parties and can manage to live on 3hrs sleep a day, because you are not going to sleep one bit until after the music dies.

I looked on the other reviews and saw a few people's reviews about the noise, all have said the noise comes from the court yard, I'll agree that it will affect those facing the court yard but the worst music comes from the student union bar just below us on the second floor.. the hotel shares the same rear stair well where the entrance to said bar is, you might as well have built the room on the dance floor it's that loud.

Yes come to this hotel if drinking and partying to the wee hours is your thing.. this is not a peaceful place. And before anyone replies with the "we mention this in our website" they do not.. it's said it's built around a pub but they do not mention the student union bar or the incredible noise level.

Well it's quarter to three in the morning and the thumping noise is still going, no sleep for me!

Room Tip: No rooms are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Steven C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
64manager, Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2017

Hi Steven C,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, we appreciate all feedback we receive from our guests.

Firstly I am sorry to know that you were not satisfied with your recent visit and that the volume of noise had a negative impact on your time with us.
We appreciate that it can be loud especially on weekend nights, although you have mentioned that we do not advertise this we do our best to highlight our bars popularity. I am sorry that you did not report these issues to our reception team as I'm sure we could have arranged an alternative room for you.

We do have 6 hotels in our collection, should be staying in Edinburgh in the future please call us directly so we might suggest the venue which would suit you best.

Christie & The STAY Central Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,644)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

71 - 75 of 1,644 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2017

The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was large and quit, the décor was entertaining and unique! It was also well stocked and comfortable. probably one of the best night sleep we had. Breakfast needs improvement.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Christian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
64manager, Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2017

Hi Christian R,

Thank you for taking the time to write this great review of your recent stay with us in Edinburgh.

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and enjoyed so many aspects of our hotel like our wonderful reception team, our unique room decor and comfy beds!
We appreciate your comments regarding breakfast and will pass them onto Three Sisters bar management for discussion.

Don't be a stranger, give us a call directly on 0131 6226801 the next time you are in the city for our best rates
Christie & The STAY Central Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017 via mobile

Simply one of the best places I have stayed in.
We rocked up to the place during a Harry Potter wizard festival which took us by surprise and yet it just showed how fun and interesting the place is.
So much to compliment including the friendly & helpful staff (especially Caz who guided us to great places to eat & the must see touristy spots) the excellent and very clean room, including a rain fall shower which was amazing!! Also the added charm around, including the paper tags pinned to the world map in the reception which showed how many people have been and how much they loved it as well as the tunnocks teacakes on arrival and during our stay! Such a chill place to visit and we will be back :)

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Rachael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
64manager, Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Hi Rachael H,

Thank you for taking the time to write this great 5 star review of your recent stay with us!

We are so happy to know that you felt our hotel was one of the best you have stayed in and enjoyed so many aspects like our lovely reception team (especially Caroline!), clean rooms and amazing rainfall showers!

It's lovely to know that you felt so relaxed here and we would love to see you again for a return visit - remember to contact us directly on 0131 6226801 for our best rates.
Christie & The STAY Central Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017 via mobile

I am so impressed with this hotel! Everything from the room itself to the location was perfect.

I visited with my partner and found it really easy to find the hotel (literally 10 minutes walk from the station). We entered our room to find teas and coffees, good quality shampoos and shower gels and even a couple of Tunnocks tea cakes in the mugs. Even better was a hair dryer, a pair of GHDs and a Bluetooth sound system! The bathroom was well equipped and I need to buy a rainfall shower as that thing was the best!

We were on the other side of the hotel so didn’t find noise from the adjoining 3 Sisters bar to be an issue. You can always just ask for a quiet room if you don’t want to risk this or bring earplugs! We visited the bar next door a few times as that’s where breakfast is served. They had a great variety on the continental breakfast buffet and a really tasty full Scottish breakfast which is great value for only £5 extra. On one night we had a burger and a pizza for tea, followed by a stein in the outside area which was great as well.

If I was to be picky, I would mention that the WiFi was a little bit weaker than I would have hoped (I believe that it’s the 3 Sisters WiFi). I also felt that the beds could have been comfier but again that depends on what you’re used to sleeping on. I still had a couple of solid nights sleep!

I do want to call out Caz on the front desk who we both found friendly and genuinely enthusiastic. She was really chatty and was the cherry on top of a fantastic stay. We will definitely be coming back!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Charjade92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
64manager, Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Hi Charjade92,

Wow - thank you for taking the time to write such a fantastic review of your recent stay with us in Edinburgh!

It's lovely to hear such positive feedback from our guests, we are so pleased you enjoyed our central location, £5 breakfast in the Three Sisters and our amazing rainfall showers! We're so happy that you enjoyed one of our L rooms with the added extras such as the GHD's, coffee machine and skybox, and of course the bluetooth speakers. I'm sure Caroline will be thrilled to be mentioned in your review - I will pass on your comments to her.

We are so flattered that you plan to return - remember to contact us directly on 0131 6226801 for our best rates.
Christie & The STAY Central Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017

This is easily the worst hotel I've ever stayed in

First the good points, the staff were friendly and chatty, the bed was clean and comfy, the shower cubicle was one of the biggest I've ever seen in a hotel and the Royal Mile is only 5 minutes away on foot.

Now the bad points, the bar/restaurant was cold, dirty, rundown, dingy and depressing, the floor was sticky underfoot when we arrived and it was still the same when we left.
Part of the seating had been torn at some time in the past and crudely repaired with duct tape!
The cooked breakfasts were grim, often cold and on one occasion, half cooked.

So come on owners, get a grip, gut the place out and start again. This place has great potential, bang in the centre of the old town near many of the popular tourist attractions. It would make a wonderful family hotel instead of a students and backpackers drinking den.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank johntN7528FI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
64manager, Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Hi johntN7528FI,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us in Edinburgh, we appreciate all feedback we receive from our guests.

Firstly I am so happy to know that you fully enjoyed your time in the hotel, especially the amazing rainfall showers and our lovely reception team who are always up for a chat!
I am disappointed however to know that this poor ranking comes from your experience in our neighbouring bar the Three Sisters. I will be sure to pass on your comments to them for discussion.

We do hope to see you in the future, perhaps you would consider one of our other Central Edinburgh Hotels for your next trip to the city.
Christie & The STAY Central Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Grassmarket Hotel
Grassmarket Hotel
#52 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,314 reviews
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#33 of 151 in Edinburgh
385 reviews
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#61 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,757 reviews
Old Town
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stay Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stay Central Hotel

Address: 139 Cowgate, Edinburgh EH1 1JS, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range: ₹ 4,692 - ₹ 23,072 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Stay Central Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At STAY central we aim a little bit higher than just providing you with a good night's sleep. We have 37 fresh and refurbished bedrooms perfect for 2 to share or bedrooms for up to 6 guests. We like to look after you and free Wi-Fi is a must for our guests. Each of our lovely bedrooms have large flat screen TV's, iPod docks, rain fall style showers to get lathered up in and lots of little extras you won't expect. Located in the heart of Edinburgh's eclectic Cowgate surrounding the famous lively Three Sisters bar, STAY Central is a short stroll from everywhere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stay Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tailors Hall
Tailors Hall Hotel Edinburgh
Stay Central Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing