We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,776)
Filter reviews
1,776 results
Traveller rating
986
543
138
71
38
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
986
543
138
71
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviews three sisters xl room sisters pub royal mile tunnocks tea cakes rainfall shower sky tv quiet room little touches amazing hotel great shower bottled water breakfast is served would definitely stay here again grass market bathroom door great room
Filter
Updating list...
173 - 178 of 1,776 reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2017

The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was large and quit, the décor was entertaining and unique! It was also well stocked and comfortable. probably one of the best night sleep we had. Breakfast needs improvement.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Christian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
64manager, Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2017

Hi Christian R,

Thank you for taking the time to write this great review of your recent stay with us in Edinburgh.

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and enjoyed so many aspects of our hotel like our wonderful reception team, our unique room decor and comfy beds!
We appreciate your comments regarding breakfast and will pass them onto Three Sisters bar management for discussion.

Don't be a stranger, give us a call directly on 0131 6226801 the next time you are in the city for our best rates
Christie & The STAY Central Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017 via mobile

Simply one of the best places I have stayed in.
We rocked up to the place during a Harry Potter wizard festival which took us by surprise and yet it just showed how fun and interesting the place is.
So much to compliment including the friendly & helpful staff (especially Caz who guided us to great places to eat & the must see touristy spots) the excellent and very clean room, including a rain fall shower which was amazing!! Also the added charm around, including the paper tags pinned to the world map in the reception which showed how many people have been and how much they loved it as well as the tunnocks teacakes on arrival and during our stay! Such a chill place to visit and we will be back :)

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Rachael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
64manager, Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Hi Rachael H,

Thank you for taking the time to write this great 5 star review of your recent stay with us!

We are so happy to know that you felt our hotel was one of the best you have stayed in and enjoyed so many aspects like our lovely reception team (especially Caroline!), clean rooms and amazing rainfall showers!

It's lovely to know that you felt so relaxed here and we would love to see you again for a return visit - remember to contact us directly on 0131 6226801 for our best rates.
Christie & The STAY Central Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017 via mobile

I am so impressed with this hotel! Everything from the room itself to the location was perfect.

I visited with my partner and found it really easy to find the hotel (literally 10 minutes walk from the station). We entered our room to find teas and coffees, good quality shampoos and shower gels and even a couple of Tunnocks tea cakes in the mugs. Even better was a hair dryer, a pair of GHDs and a Bluetooth sound system! The bathroom was well equipped and I need to buy a rainfall shower as that thing was the best!

We were on the other side of the hotel so didn’t find noise from the adjoining 3 Sisters bar to be an issue. You can always just ask for a quiet room if you don’t want to risk this or bring earplugs! We visited the bar next door a few times as that’s where breakfast is served. They had a great variety on the continental breakfast buffet and a really tasty full Scottish breakfast which is great value for only £5 extra. On one night we had a burger and a pizza for tea, followed by a stein in the outside area which was great as well.

If I was to be picky, I would mention that the WiFi was a little bit weaker than I would have hoped (I believe that it’s the 3 Sisters WiFi). I also felt that the beds could have been comfier but again that depends on what you’re used to sleeping on. I still had a couple of solid nights sleep!

I do want to call out Caz on the front desk who we both found friendly and genuinely enthusiastic. She was really chatty and was the cherry on top of a fantastic stay. We will definitely be coming back!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Charjade92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
64manager, Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Hi Charjade92,

Wow - thank you for taking the time to write such a fantastic review of your recent stay with us in Edinburgh!

It's lovely to hear such positive feedback from our guests, we are so pleased you enjoyed our central location, £5 breakfast in the Three Sisters and our amazing rainfall showers! We're so happy that you enjoyed one of our L rooms with the added extras such as the GHD's, coffee machine and skybox, and of course the bluetooth speakers. I'm sure Caroline will be thrilled to be mentioned in your review - I will pass on your comments to her.

We are so flattered that you plan to return - remember to contact us directly on 0131 6226801 for our best rates.
Christie & The STAY Central Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017

This is easily the worst hotel I've ever stayed in

First the good points, the staff were friendly and chatty, the bed was clean and comfy, the shower cubicle was one of the biggest I've ever seen in a hotel and the Royal Mile is only 5 minutes away on foot.

Now the bad points, the bar/restaurant was cold, dirty, rundown, dingy and depressing, the floor was sticky underfoot when we arrived and it was still the same when we left.
Part of the seating had been torn at some time in the past and crudely repaired with duct tape!
The cooked breakfasts were grim, often cold and on one occasion, half cooked.

So come on owners, get a grip, gut the place out and start again. This place has great potential, bang in the centre of the old town near many of the popular tourist attractions. It would make a wonderful family hotel instead of a students and backpackers drinking den.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank johntN7528FI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
64manager, Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Hi johntN7528FI,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us in Edinburgh, we appreciate all feedback we receive from our guests.

Firstly I am so happy to know that you fully enjoyed your time in the hotel, especially the amazing rainfall showers and our lovely reception team who are always up for a chat!
I am disappointed however to know that this poor ranking comes from your experience in our neighbouring bar the Three Sisters. I will be sure to pass on your comments to them for discussion.

We do hope to see you in the future, perhaps you would consider one of our other Central Edinburgh Hotels for your next trip to the city.
Christie & The STAY Central Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017 via mobile

Just back from an excellent stay here with my sister. Comfortable, clean room with very friendly, accommodating staff who couldn’t have done more to help make our visit better. You get a 15% food discount card for certain restaurants and we went to the Inn on the Mile for dinner which was fantastic.
Some nice touches in the room such as teacakes, teas and coffees, bottled water and a Bluetooth docking station. Funky decor and wet room type shower.
3 Sisters pub downstairs is awesome and we enjoyed dancing in there until the small hours and no taxi home as the room was upstairs. Yes you can hear the noise from the pub as the music goes on until 3 and we could also hear the bottles from the bar getting emptied into the bins but that didn’t bother us as we were away for a fun weekend.
Really good location too for walking to all the tourist locations. Staff provide maps and directions too.
Thanks for a great stay guys. We will be back!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank SuziePAP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
64manager, Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Hi SuziePAP!

Wow - thank you so much for this lovely 5 star review of your recent visit, it's lovely to hear such positive feedback from our guests.

We are so happy to know that you both enjoyed our unique decor and found your room to be so comfortable and well facilitated for your visit. And we are so pleased that you made use of our amazing guest discount card at some of our favourite venues like Inn on The Mile!

We would love to see you again and are so flattered that you plan to return - remember to give us a call directly on 0131 6226801 for our best rates next time you are in the city!
Christie & The STAY Central Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews