We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not amazing, but cheap!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Jurys Inn Edinburgh
Ranked #114 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
GreenLeadersBronze level
Ratoath, Meath, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not amazing, but cheap!”
Reviewed 24 April 2012

The staff were great, but the room was small, even though we paid a little extra for a bigger room with a view. The view was a car park and Waverly Train station. We only ate in the hotel once, because we are poor students. The only saving grace for me was the amazing little tea room right behind the hotel called Forsythes! Went there every morning for a cheap, wholesome breakfast! And the lady who works there was the friendliest woman in the world!! And she sold the best marmalade I've ever tasted! This tea room and the location of the hotel (right behind the Royal Mile) were the best things for this otherwise mediocre hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SineadDePaor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

3,827 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    904
    1,469
    893
    369
    192
See reviews for
918
1,334
180
518
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (604)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, UK
Level Contributor
58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Never stayed in this chain before but when I booked it suggested that the normal rate was over £300 per night. I was charged £58 which is about all it is worth. It really does annoy me when the rack rate of a hotel is so unrealistic.
Arrived late with no heat in room to be told that there must be a problem with radiator. I was given a space heater which on closer examination was 400 watts about the equivalent of 4 light bulbs! The heating came on at 5.30am - it woke me up but was off again before 7am. I suspect therefore that when i had complained in the evening it had actually gone off before I arrived rather than being a fault. Had the joy of a luke warm shower at 6.45 but noticed the water was really hot by the time I left just before 8.
Breakfast ok but one up from school canteen in terms of ambience and service - £300 a night.
Complained when checked out only to be told that the heating should have been on during the night.....
If you want good value suggest you head for a Premier Inn or something - at least they are honest.
Will not be using this brand again not because it is poor value - for what I paid it was not - but because I am fed up with the hotel industry over hyping the quality of it's product.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank djblincoln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Edinburgh hotels

Kent
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Stayed here twice - and the second time was most definitely by mistake. I'd forgotten how bad it is. The staff are (mostly) fine but that's all. Best avoided - nothing else positive to say about it. Rooms are Premier Inn basic but not as good and certainly more expensive.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GonewiththewindKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

I have stayed here twice this year, but never again (I hope!).
ACCESS. It's in an ideal location if you arrive by train at Waverley Station, as it's only a five-minute walk away. Close to the Royal Mile, with all it's tourist attractions and eateries. But, if you arrive by car, there is only very limited on-street parking , or else the car-park at the station.
NOISE. The staff are charming, but the rooms are old and tired, with very loud plumbing. At the front of the hotel, train noise is a problem. At the back, seagulls. Pack your ear-plugs! The rooms are stuffy in warm weather, but leaving the windows open makes sleep impossible.
BEER. If you arrive on a warm day, as I did, you will rush to the bar for a cooling pint of beer. Sadly, the bar staff seemed to have neglected to clean the pipes, since the Guinness was foul, and had to be exchanged for a pint of Stella, also pretty dire.
FOOD. As I was alone, and it was rather late, I foolishly ignored the delights of the Royal Mile and ordered fish and chips in the (tired scruffy) bar. I realise that haddock stocks are lower than they once were, but pollock is no substitute, especially the little old pollock I was served.
So to summarise, don't go there.
And if you must go, don't eat or drink there.

Room Tip: If you must stay here, eat out. Lots of restaurants nearby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZoomAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012

Only stayed here because of the existing conference arrangements.

The hotel check in staff were helpful and cheery and the location was convenient (just a few minute walk from the train station and Princess Street).

The rest was nothing to write home about:
- my room faced a car park at the back of the hotel
- dusty old-fashioned curtains
- dated basic furniture
- a flat-screen TV but the ‘brightness’ on the lowest level and the option to adjust it disabled so you can’t really see what’s on TV
- no mini-bar (the only bottle of water in the room has a price tag of about £4)
- no safe
- no ironing board or iron (and no option to get it delivered to the room - advice from the reception was to go to the ironing room on a different floor)
- dim old-fashioned light fittings
- No free internet

All of these riches and hospitality delights can be yours for mere £370 - the published standard room rate advertised at the reception.

Avoid if you can.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ozon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#44 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 148 in Edinburgh
967 reviews
Old Town
The Scotsman Hotel
The Scotsman Hotel
#90 of 148 in Edinburgh
2,263 reviews
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#23 of 148 in Edinburgh
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jurys Inn Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jurys Inn Edinburgh

Property: Jurys Inn Edinburgh
Address: 43 Jeffrey St., Edinburgh EH1 1DH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,047 - ₹ 28,329
Hotel Class:3 star — Jurys Inn Edinburgh 3*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jurys Inn Edinburgh is located in the heart of Edinburgh's beautiful Old Town next to the famous Royal Mile and a 2 minute walk from Waverly Train Station. Prince's Street and Edinburgh Castle are a pleasant 10-15 minute walk away. Whether visiting for sight-seeing, shopping or business at the International Conference Centre, choosing Jurys Inn Edinburgh guarantees all your destinations are within easy reach. The hotel features an all day Costa Coffee bar and a stylish onsite bar to relax in after an eventful day in the city. Enjoy a great selection of seasonal food and drink in our trendy restaurant which is open from 6:30am to 10:00am for breakfast and 6:00pm to 10:00pm for dinner. If arriving by car, public car parking is available nearby at Waverley Station car park. The hotel has 186 comfortable bedrooms that can accommodate up to 3 adults or 2 adults and 2 children. All bedrooms are furnished with large soft beds, spacious bathrooms with complimentary toiletries, a hair dryer, flat screen TV with Freeview and Free WiFi. Guests who book directly with us can enjoy Free Premium WiFi, our best price guarantee and can earn points and get rewards with our loyalty programme Jurys Rewards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Nozio Netplan srl, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jurys Inn Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jurys Inn Edinburgh Hotel Edinburgh
Jurys Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Jurys Hotel
Jurys Inn Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing