We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wholesome food, several vegetarian/vegan options also”
Review of The Filmhouse

The Filmhouse
Ranked #19 of 55 Fun & Games in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A small, three-screened theater playing Scotland's most innovative independent films.
Scotland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Wholesome food, several vegetarian/vegan options also”
Reviewed 13 April 2012

My friends and I eat at the Filmhouse regularly before or after seeing a film. The food is reasonably priced and there is choice of about 6 main courses and some more snack-type meals such as baked potatoes, falafels etc but no desserts. I think their soup is always vegan. Alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks as well as teas, coffees and hot chocolate are available. The atmosphere is very casual. It is also a comfortable place to go for tea/coffee and cake at any time of the day.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank MagicMags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    59
    9
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
St.Andrews
Level Contributor
346 reviews
90 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Full of Ambience”
Reviewed 13 April 2012

I like that I'm, probably going to the cinema in the afternoon and that I can have a very tasty snack before heading into the shadowy cocoon!
There's also a very good selection of DVD's (foreign language movies which I do appreciate) at very reasonable prices.
It's a great place to meet friends: and the staff are a happy bunch

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Busybee888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
130 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Fab”
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Great place to hang out, catch a film, meet up with friends, eat, drink and generally enjoy.
Child friendly.
Old and new films. Lots of foreign language films.
Food is great and always served promptly.
Go all the time and enjoy every visit - never fail to disappoint.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Scottish_Traveller25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Veggie or not the food is great”
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Great films shown but we go there for the food and the eclectic mix of people that frequent the place.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Best place to be in the whole of Edinburgh”
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Brilliant films, always something interesting challenging, entertaining. Lovely relaxed atmosphere everywhere. Ever so slightly shabby - perhaps well-worn would be politer - but please don't ever go for a glitzy makeover. The bar/café must be one of the most congenial places in the whole of Edinburgh. I could not possibly contemplate continuing to live in this city if they took the Filmhouse away!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank RuaridhCrossbost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Filmhouse also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to The Filmhouse? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing