We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not to be missed”

Royal Yacht Britannia
Book In Advance
More Info
US$ 20.20*
and up
The Royal Yacht Britannia
Ranked #3 of 394 things to do in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Step aboard The Queen's former floating palace and experience this iconic 5 star attraction for yourself. Rated Scotland's Best Attraction for 11 years running and TripAdvisor's UK No.1 Landmark Attraction (TripAdvisor Travellers' Choice Awards 2014), Britannia is one of the most famous ships in the world. Sailing a million miles on a thousand official visits, during 40 years in service, the Royal Yacht played host to glittering state banquets and official receptions, but was also home to the Royal Family and crew of 220 Royal Yachtsmen. Explore Britannia's highly accessible 5 decks with highlights including the elegant Royal Apartments, Crew's Quarters, Engine Room and stunning Royal Deck Tea Room. FREE audio guide in 30 languages and British Sign Language Tablet. Highly accessible for wheelchairs and buggies. Open year round with FREE parking at Ocean Terminal. Only 15 minutes from Edinburgh city centre (local buses every 10 minutes - 11, 22, 34 and 35 to Ocean Terminal).
London
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Not to be missed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

Really is worth the 20min bus trip out to Britannia. The ship is fasinating and preserved very well and you feel the royal family have only just left. Entry includes free audio tour and you get to visit everywhere from the bridge to the engine room. The staff were all very friendly, even offering to take a picture of us together.

I'd suggest buying the Royal Conections ticket that includes Edinburgh Castle, Holyrood Palace and Britannia as it then gives you 48 hours of free travel on the tour buses>

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalYachtBritannia, Manager at Royal Yacht Britannia, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
Some great tips for other visitors, Peter W. The Royal Edinburgh Ticket is a great way to gain fast-track entry into Edinburgh’s top royal attractions. Thanks for visiting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

14,505 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10,482
    3,323
    572
    97
    31
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glenrothes
Level Contributor
105 reviews
97 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“A floating palace?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

Truthfully it wasn't! It is still furnished with its original furniture and lacks the opulence I would associate with Royalty. But this was the vessel that represented us around the world for many years and was greatly loved by our monarchs. It's a piece of our heritage that must be seen.

Helpful?
Thank Charlie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalYachtBritannia, Manager at Royal Yacht Britannia, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
You are right, Charlie H. Britannia’s interiors are more like a country house, than a palace. Thank you for coming to visit and posting a review on Tripadvisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redhill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Royal Yacht Britannia”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

This was a fab day out - the staff were lovely and so helpful and the audio tour was very interesting

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sheila S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalYachtBritannia, Manager at Royal Yacht Britannia, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
We do like to give all of our visitors the red carpet treatment, Sheila S. Thanks so much for your fantastic five-star review. We hope to welcome you back on board again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orpington
Level Contributor
63 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Worth the bus ride out of the centre (half hour)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

Buses terminate at Ocean Terminal so you can't get lost. Despite it being a ship, it had good access for wheelchair users. The (compulsory) audio handset was very informative and allowed you to go at your own pace. Pleased that the audios were in various languages for our foreign visitors. Fascinating

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank OrpingtonSylvia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalYachtBritannia, Manager at Royal Yacht Britannia, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
Thanks for letting other visitors know that our audio tour is available in 22 languages, OrpingtonSylvia, and its included in the admission price. Bus service no. 22 is the one that comes from Edinburgh city centre to Ocean Terminal. Delighted that you had such a good time when you visited.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Interesting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

At £11.75 each I'm not sure we would have normally paid to visit the Royal Yacht Britannia.

However, we received free tickets from the hotel we were staying at and are glad we made the effort to take the tour.

You can walk round the yacht at your leisure and are given an audio handset which gives you interesting information about the yacht as you wander round.

There are plenty of rooms to see and it is particularly good if you already have an interest in the royal family.

We spent almost three hours looking around the yacht which was a morning well spent.

Worth taking a look at.

Helpful?
2 Thank RubeusMinerva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalYachtBritannia, Manager at Royal Yacht Britannia, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
A nice treat to be given free tickets through your hotel, RubeusMinerva! Great to hear that Britannia was an unexpected highlight of your visit to Edinburgh. Thanks for visiting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Royal Yacht Britannia also viewed

 

Been to Royal Yacht Britannia? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing