We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still dreaming of their gralic fried king prawns!”
Review of Port of Siam at Newhaven - CLOSED

Port of Siam at Newhaven
Price range: US$ 15 - US$ 25
Cuisines: Seafood, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Port of Siam offers Thai Fusion by the beautiful Newhaven Harbour, Edinburgh. Chef Phaitoon and his team blend authentic Thai spices with locally sourced fresh fish and seafood from Newhaven Fish Market, merging traditional Thai cuisines with modern Scottish cooking to create our delicious seafood dishes, and quality Scottish farm produce to re-create our traditional and contemporary dishes. Port of Siam is currently open for dinner Tuesday to Sunday. We are open for a lunch service on Thursdays and Fridays from noon till 2pm and open from noon till 10:00pm on Saturdays and Sundays. We look forward to seeing you.
Kirriemuir, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Still dreaming of their gralic fried king prawns!”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Starters were absolutely delicious - and then my main course arrived and, to my amazement, it was even better! Good atmosphere, too, which added to our night out being a fabulous success! Can't wait untl my next visit!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WendyG17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
75

290 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    221
    51
    11
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go back!”
Reviewed 22 April 2012

I took a few friends here a couple of weekends ago because they wanted this food. This had been my second visit and yet again I was not disappointed! The food really was amazing as was the service and atmosphere! I can't wait to go back to feast on fantastic Thai food.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ecrolla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburgh
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Best in Edinburgh”
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Don't be fooled by shinier/newer/up-town Thai restaurants - The Port of Siam is still the best in Edinburgh. Small, but perfectly formed, in a charming seafront location, it offers the freshest of ingredients cooked to perfection. Their fish & seafood dishes are to die for - puting some of our specialist fish restaurants to shame. For a break with tradition, they also offer a Fusion menu - with a Thai twist to modern Western dishes. All this at very reasonable prices - especially their lunchtime menu or Tapas evening. Yum Yum!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank trinitybloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely Fabulous”
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Absolutely Fabulous
I have been to the Port of Siam , on a number of occasions , with different people and everyone has raved about it. My last visit was to try out their new menu and we were not disappointed , the food was fantastic and could not fault anything. It’s a great place to visit.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lesley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Truely excellent”
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Have been twice now, and both times have been excellent, with amazing flavours in every dish.

I particularly enjoyed their Tapas Tuesday night - 4 tapas and a glass of wine for £15 is exceptional value for the quality and variety of the food available.

Will be back again soon.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank edinburgh_rocks100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Port of Siam at Newhaven also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing