We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great reason to eat in Leith.”

The Ship on the Shore
Ranked #93 of 2,478 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: The Ship on the Shore, a secret gem in Edinburgh’s Seafood dining scene. At the Ship on the Shore, we have the opportunity to explore and enjoy the freshest and most extraordinary Scottish fish and seafood. The Ship on the Shore loves to use these offerings and we take great pride in using the freshest, which arrives daily and is harvested from sustainable stocks, we love this gift from nature's larder and wanted to share what we enjoy with you, our fellow travellers. Our approach is simple really; we offer the finest ingredients, passionately prepared and expertly presented. When the sun shines, our delicious seafood can be served outside, on our shore-front terrace beside the Water of Leith. When it doesn’t, our atmospheric restaurant and bar awaits you. We serve food all day, from our delicious menus; Breakfast (9-11.30am) recognised by the Guardian as one of the best breakfasts in the UK, Crustacea and Mollusc (12 noon -10pm), Lunch (12 noon -5pm) Dinner (5-10pm). On Sunday's we also offer a delicious Sunday Roast. Whether it’s a Champagne Breakfast, light lunch or dinner you’re after, or luxuriating over our Fruits de Mer 'Royale' or Hot Shellfish Platter, accompanied by the finest wine or champagne, The Ship on the Shore offers informal, understated excellence.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
485 reviews
315 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 278 helpful votes
“Another great reason to eat in Leith.”
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Not been here is many a year, but enjoyed a very good lunch earlier on today. The first thing that I noticed was how much smarter and grown up the decor is since my last visit. It has been tastefully put together and there is a really friendly and welcoming ambiance about the place.

The menu is wide ranging and extensive with a natural emphasis on seafood given the location. I had an excellent fish pie with a generous serving of cabbage cooked in mustard and bacon which was exceptional value at £9.95. My dining companion had a docker filling brie and bacon baguette with fries which also came in at under a tenner.

With prices like these and very attentive service it is clear to see why The Ship is such a popular spot with locals and visitors alike. Michelin starred chef, Tom Kitchin obviously thinks so, because he was enjoying lunch with his family at another table.

A place I definitely intend to return to, soon.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DavidDundonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    750
    307
    81
    20
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fantastic "value" Fruit de Mer”
Reviewed 9 April 2012

The reason why the value is in inverted comma's is that it is not a cheap option, but what you get is really very good indeed.

If you're staying in Edinburgh just get a bus down to Leith, it takes about 15 minutes max and is definitely worth the trip, the area is really nice and quite a nice contrast to the hustle and "Disney" Scotland of the Royal Mile. Make sure you have correct change for the bus though, even though the bus driver let us on with just what we had in our pocket on the way back.

OK back to the restaurant, it's a converted pub and has a great atmosphere, the staff were nice but the service wasn't super attentive. We had the £60 Fruit de Mer and a bottle of champagne which took up a lot of the table and it meant that I had to keep reaching right around everything to pour the wine. OK it's a bit picky but at over £50 a head you do expect a little bit of attention.

The Fruit de Mer was outstanding, you can opt for the £115 version with the champagne thrown in but we went for the smaller version at £60 plus drinks. We thought we'd have a half bottle of champagne but after much searching they didn't have any, we were just about to opt for the larger Fruit de Mer (as with the full bottle we now opted for the price differential was minimal) when our original £60 one arrived. In the end we were quite pleased not to have gone for the larger one, we saw one other table of two throw in the towel and another valiantly kept going as we'd left.....it's huge and probably enough for 3 or 4.

The standard of seafood on it was extremely high, delicious lobster, crab, razor clams, mussels, clams smoked salmon, arbroath smokie, delicious langoustines and oysters.....really delicious and very well presented. You also get a bowl of chips which is a nice warm interlude between all the cold seafood. The house champagne was lovely and overall you won't be unhappy that you stretched yourself to afford such a treat. A tip though, if there's just two of you, try and get a big table so you can see each other and not just eyeball a spoot throughout the meal!

All in all really wonderful food and a great experience.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mr_and_Mrs_T_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
317 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Really good food right on the Shore at Leith. There is lots of restaurants to choose from but this is one of my favourites.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank Scottishperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Seafood”
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Although we would have liked a window seat, we weren't disappointed with the food. We had the fruit de mer royale platter with champagne, which was to die for. Never seen so much fresh seafood - truly spectacular!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MissNK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“How do they make those chips?”
Reviewed 3 April 2012

We went at lunch time. Husband and daughter ordered the large mussels, which came with delicious bread, and also with a pot of chips. I ordered the small haddock and chips, which came with mushy peas. They were delighted with their mussels, and my choice was wonderful. Couldn't fault it. The fish was plenty big enough for me - couldn't have managed bigger - and those chips were the best I've ever tasted - and I'm an expert chip critic. Please, oh please, give me the recipe! We'll be back to try the seafood platter, which looked wonderful on other people's plates! Lovely place to sit and have a leisurely lunch, good service, and delicious food all round.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marged36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Ship on the Shore also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to The Ship on the Shore? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing