We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice”
Review of Duthus Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Duthus Lodge
Ranked #106 of 393 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 June 2012

We have stayed at this B&B 3 times. Kay and Murdo are great hosts and their breakfast is fantastic. The B&B is spotless and very convenient to the city as well as bus stops right out front. An added convenient is being able to purchase day tickets right at the B&B. You must have Murdo show you his prize 1960 Triumph as it is fantastic. Also, enjoy meeting Bracken their puppy.

Room Tip: When traveling in Scotland you should start looking about 4pm in order to get a room. In big cities...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cnapan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (114)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 48 of 114 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for a couple of nights with a large family group. The rooms were very clean and very nicely appointed. The beds were extremely comfortable. We were awakeen every morning by a wonderfully cooked Scottish breakfast that stuck with us most of the day. The owners were great and provided wonderful suggestions to restaraunts in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lita74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Have just spent two nights here and very happy with our stay. We were upgraded to e triple from double, probably because the place was not full during our stay. I had arranged a flower delivery to the guest house prior to our arrival which was kindly placed in the room as requested. A vase had also been left for us to use.

The room was very well presented and very clean. The en suite was small but it did the trick for us! The double bed was a very small double. It was comfortable but too small for us; I am 6'3" though!

The breakfast was great, full fry up with cereal, yoghurt etc also available and nothing was too much trouble for the owners.

Location is good with bus service from just outside running into the city centre for just £1.40 each way!

Would stay here again if we return to Edinburgh in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

i have just returned from a one night stay at the duthus lodge with 5 of my friends, we were all arriving and leaving at different times , my sister and niece got lost so murdo had to talk her in over the phone, we were allowed to leave our cases while we went to see the pandas,, absolutely nothing was too much trouble,, we loved their relaxed style and easy conversation, breakfast kept us going all day, there is not a negative about this hotel,thanks to everyone including bracken,

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carol h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2012

This "Bed & Breakfast" is in a good position for visiting the city, about 25 mins walking to the city centre. The hosts are friendly and helpful and the house is very nice. The lounge room was OK, but constantly used by the owner. The place was full, therefore breakfast room was crowded and the service a bit slow. What really disappointed us was the bedroom we were given. It was on the first floor, facing the back. Although it had a double bed, the bedroom was too small to be a double room, with no room to move. No wardrobes, just a metal rack to hang clothes. The en-suite was a box. It had a small shower, with a very weak jet which refused to heat up above lukewarm. The bed and the pillows were awful, hard and uncomfortable. I'm sure they must have better rooms - sadly, the one we got was dismal for the price we paid.

Room Tip: Ask for a large room or go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank salvador m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Apex Haymarket Hotel
Apex Haymarket Hotel
#72 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,089 reviews
The Edinburgh Lodge
#109 of 393 in Edinburgh
221 reviews
Kellerstain Stables B&B
#22 of 393 in Edinburgh
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Acer Lodge Guest House
#70 of 393 in Edinburgh
135 reviews
Alba House
#38 of 393 in Edinburgh
176 reviews
Emerald Guest House
#139 of 393 in Edinburgh
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duthus Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duthus Lodge

Address: 5 West Coates, Edinburgh EH12 5JG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 393 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: ₹ 6,033 - ₹ 18,488 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Duthus Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Expedia so you can book your Duthus Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duthus Lodge Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing