We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Nowhere better for a capital visit!”
other travellers have booked this property
external view of Parliament Sq
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
external view of Parliament Sq
lounge at Parliament Square bedroom 1, superking double or can be split into twins.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
156 reviews
external view of Parliament Sq
lounge at Parliament Square
bedroom 1, superking double or can be split into twins.
bedroom 2, kingsize double.
kitchen at Parliament Sq
hallway of Parliament Square
floor plan of Parliament Square
bathroom with shower over bath
view from west facing lounge window to rear of St Giles Cathedral  and Royal Mile
entrance to Parliament Sq building
Inside stairwell entrance
Royal Mile/Parliament Square
Royal Mile view looking up to apartment
view from lounge, kitchen & bedroom 1
ear of St Giles Cathedral outside builing door
bedroom 2
stairwell
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 156 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Fraser A
Ayr, Scotland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nowhere better for a capital visit!”
Reviewed 5 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

What was there not to like about this splendid apartment in the heart of Edinburgh? Trying to find any negatives is quite impossible as it surpassed our every expectation...the location, the comfort, the ambience and the cost were all superb, and, though one has to be reasonably fit to clmb the four floors up the elegant staircase, the effort is so worthwhile when you consider the views from each of the rooms!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jun 2017
Thank you for leaving a review. It is very pleasing you enjoyed all the aspects of the apartment, including the healthy stair climb. Regards, Glenn Esc Ltd
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
msmarybet...
Springfield, Virginia
1 review
“A Truly Memorable Holiday”
Reviewed 22 February 2017 for a stay in December 2016

I wholeheartedly agree with other positive reviewers, because we enjoyed the same hospitality and consideration by the genuinely nice folks of Edinburgh Self Catering. They could not have been more accommodating or receptive, and I highly recommend ESC. Glenn was very responsive to my email inquiries and Dave was great on our arrival in familiarizing us with the place.

My husband and daughter and I stayed in this apartment over Christmas and Hogmanay, and we had a truly memorable holiday. To say this building is well located is an understatement. The Old Town Ceilidh on December 31 is held in the courtyard of St. Giles, which is literally outside the front door.

Online photos of this apartment don't do it justice - the rooms are good sized and the high ceilings and beautiful large windows add to the ambiance. Overall, the apartment is roomy, well laid-out and incredibly well appointed – especially the kitchen. (Need a corkscrew? I found three.) I never had a great appreciation for appliance manuals before – but the binder of manuals was especially helpful when trying to figure out things like the unfamiliar combo washer/dryer.

The bedrooms were very comfortable, and the shutters worked well to block both sound and light to ensure a good night’s sleep. Our daughter loved her room with the view of the cathedral (which she immediately Instagrammed). The bathroom was very large with a number of shelves, which is useful. The shower itself was fantastic.

I'm not a shopping expert by any means, but I did come across a few shops nearby which you may want to check out:

Groceries: Close by Sainsbury's (79 South Bridge) is convenient. For a larger, more upscale grocery store, there’s M&S.

Scottish goods: Cranachan & Crowdie (263 Canongate). Not only does it offer a nice variety of Scottish goods at reasonable prices, but the owner and her staff were very friendly.

Hats: For a great selection of hats, Fabhatrix (13 Cowgatehead).

Scarves/Sweaters: It seems nearly every store on the Royal Mile sells wool and cashmere, so you’ll have many options. I gravitated toward Marchbrae (just up the street) and Dunedin Cashmere (around the corner next to Starbucks) – both nice shops with good selections and conveniently located.

Souvenirs: Victoria Street/W. Bow is not only picturesque, but there are a number of fun shops to explore on this street, including The Mutt’s Nuts (108 W. Bow). This fun, funky shop is filled with clever and quirky items, affordably priced. The gift shops at both the Castle and the Palace of Holyroodhouse had a nice selection of souvenirs as well.

And, of course, during the holidays, be sure to check out the Christmas market.

As mentioned in previous reviews, the only negative for this property is the stairs. Inasmuch as navigating Edinburgh generally involves climbing many hills and stairs, these were just additional steps that offset our intake of shortbread. The good news is at the top of those stairs is an apartment with a wonderful fireplace…..a perfect setting to cozy up in front of on a cold December night.

Positives: location, incredible views, comfortable, well appointed, well maintained, well-managed, very clean.

Negatives: stairs (I know, everyone says the stairs).

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Feb 2017
Thank you for finding the time to leave a review. We strife to provide great service & accommodation to ensure we make a contribution to a successful trip to Edinburgh. Thank you for letting us know we acheived that. Hopefully see you back. Regards Glenn ESC Ltd
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kerryh907
Vista, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Royal Stay on the Royal Mile!”
Reviewed 18 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Location, location, location! You couldn't find a better and more central location in all of Edinburgh. Walking distance to everything, the castle, shops, great restaurants and night life. Minutes away from the train station. The apartment was so perfect for our family of 4. Large, quite, clean, everything needed to make a comfortable and convenient stay. Glenn was easy to work with and responded quickly. We were met by Dave who showed us the lovely flat and answered all our tourist question. We have stayed in A LOT of VRBO's over the past 20 years and this is definitely one of our favorites.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jan 2017
Thank you for leaving a review and there were many aspects which you enjoyed at Parliament Sq 1. Hope to see you back some time. Regards Glenn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen B
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location. Property a little tired”
Reviewed 30 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

The property is a fantastic location though the stairs take their toll after a while. Not advisable if unfit or elderly. No lift either.
Property is a little tired now inside and could just do with a lick of paint and some plastering to the cracks. Beds are comfortable but could do with some of the space being turned into another toilet - but as listed building probably not possible. Shame! With teenage kids you could imagine the wait for the loo could be a long one!
With all of this I would revisit as the location wins the day!

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Capri9791
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Excellent from start to finish”
Reviewed 4 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

A truly lovely flat, in the most perfect location in Edinburgh. Walking distance to all attractions. The flat is clean, comfortable and well appointed.
Booking and all communications were straight forward and Dave that greeted us, was great to deal with.
I'd certainly book again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and cleanliness
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Oct 2016
Lovely to know Parliamnet Sq and ESC Ltd contributed to a good trip to Edinburgh and we might see you back at some time. Regards Glenn ESC Ltd
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing