We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect central location and excellent...”
other travellers have booked this property
lounge area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
lounge area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
65 reviews
lounge area
floor plan , first floor
floor plan, ground floor
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 65 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Berry-SA
South Australia
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Perfect central location and excellent accommodation”
Reviewed 8 January 2012 for a stay in January 2012

The apartment is in a perfect central location away from the hustle and bustle but extremely close to the Royal Mile and all the restraunt and bars you would ever need on our dorrstep.

The apartment is looking a little tired, but that is very minor to what you get in other places and value for money is excellent in our opinion. We travelled with another couple and we both felt we had our own space and enjoyed the large lounge area and kitchen and the privacy.

The back lane does have some garbage bins in it, they do get collected most days from the restaurant down the lane, it is however a very minor inconvenience, one that we blinked at and did not complain about at all. The quietness of the accommodation is superb and it is not overlooked, although there are buildings across the road none of the windows look into the apartment as they are opaque.

Having a garage is a massive bonus and of a good size, great to leave your vehicle there as you will not need in in Edinburgh.

We did have a maintance problem with the washing, Dave came to fix it the very next day, exellent service!

We would definitely stay there again and recommend it to any we know. Enjoy!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, good for two couples
Liked least: Crockery and glasses chipped.
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eindhoven
Reviewed 10 November 2011 for a stay in October 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family with young children
Your age range 35-44
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Luxury-minded travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
alonzogo
Brooklyn, New York
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great base for exploring Edinburgh”
Reviewed 27 September 2011 for a stay in September 2011

This apartment is in a converted carriage house in an exceptional location in New Town. There are many dining and shopping options within a few blocks, and it is just a short walk to the National Galleries, the Royal Mile, and Edinburgh Castle. It is on a lane behind busy Thistle Street, so is relatively quiet while still being in the center of things. The reviewer who complained that the apartment is on a "garbage lane" is likely referring to the fact that the shops and restaurants on Thistle Street have their back entrances and garbage dumpsters on the lane, but anyone who is familiar with neighborhoods like SoHo or Dumbo in NYC will not be taken aback by this.

On the down side, the mattress in the downstairs bedroom was thin and uncomfortable, as was the rollaway bed. The only one of the three mattresses in the apartment that is really suitable for sleeping is the one in the main bedroom upstairs. Especially annoying to us was that the washing machine malfunctioned on our last night there, leaving us with a pile of soaking wet laundry as we were preparing to vacate and begin a cross-country drive. The washer may have been an isolated problem, but management really should address the mattresses. Otherwise, the apartment was comfortable and above-average for a vacation rental.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: thin mattress and malfunctioning washing machine
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Sep 2011
Thank you for the positive review. I will take it up owner/client on your feedback of the mattresses in the downstairs bedroom and portable bed.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Reviewed 11 September 2011 for a stay in August 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family (extended)
Your age range 35-44
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
11 Sep 2011
Delighted that the guest/reviewer had a fantastic time in Edinburgh in an apartment that was "clean and nice, and in a great location".

With regards to the problems/issues raised. Precise instructions on central heating are given when guests arrive and the maintenance manager is only a phone call away if it required to go over again, not sure why this guest did not do that?

The street is not a garbage Lane, there a some bins for other residences and businesses but this typical of any city. A quick look on google street view can show this. I am perplexed and have no explanation why this guest would want bars on the bedroom window?
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Wolverhampton
Reviewed 5 July 2011 for a stay in June 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 65+
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing