We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Royal Mile Stay”
other travellers have booked this property
bedroom with kingsize double
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
bedroom with kingsize double
lounge/kitchen area with window onto Royal Mile shower room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
127 reviews
bedroom with kingsize double
lounge/kitchen area with window onto Royal Mile
shower room
Ladystairs 1 floor plan
front of Ladystairs building on the Royal mile
view up Royal mile from lounge window
view down Royal mile from bedroom window
close entrance and looking down the Royal Mile
Ladystair Close entrance from Royal mile
view from stair onto Writers museum in Ladystairs Close
Ladystairs starir entrance door
bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 127 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
English first
Portuguese first
Any
English first
Teresa M
Millstadt, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Royal Mile Stay”
Reviewed 8 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

My friend and I had the pleasure of staying at Ladystairs for six very comfortable nights in May. The location is the best. We took the On/Off bus and exited right in front of the apartment. This flat is located only blocks from the Castle and is surrounded by retail establishments and is a stone's throw from the Cathedral. The flat will sleep 4. There are plenty of linens It is modern and clean. The kitchen is fully stocked.
Dave, the manager, is prompt and very accommodating. The view from the back is the Writers Museum which dates to the 1600. The price is reasonable and my deposit was returned in a timely manner. I would stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: not enough tp
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Betsie201...
Airdrie, Canada
1 review
“Lovely flat in the historic area of Edinburgh.”
Reviewed 16 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

This is a lovely flat just a block and a half from the Castle on the Royal mile. We couldn't ask for a better spot to get around to all the sites you want to see in Edinburgh.

It was easy to book and secure our reservation which was important as we stayed for ten days over Christmas 2015. We were met on time so we could move in and start enjoying our holidays. Small but clean with a nice bathroom and small kitchen for making meals. Good for two people and then you could have friends or family over for a visit. Would be difficult to have more that two stay though.

It is very well situated with a 10-15 minute walk to all the tourist attractions and down to transit and "Rabbie's" tour busses down on Princes street. You will do a ton of walking and many stairs so I would not be recommended for small children or someone with mobility issues.

Loved going through the turret to reach the apartment and often had people around us trying to sneak a peak up the stairs. This apartment is ideally located for the 'candlelight procession" on December 30th as it starts right on the corner of the block and you can see it glow from your bedroom window.

I would recommend you find a store to buy groceries and toiletries right away as there is only a small shop with the very basics close by. We only used the kitchen for breakfast but you could easily come back for lunch or supper if you are in the area. Nice to stop and quickly drop off any packages as well.

Will be looking at other properties by this company for future visits!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Historic building with great location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Channahas...
Cornhill-on-Tweed, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect location, but very loud at night”
Reviewed 5 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

This lovely flat is in perfect location, directly on the Royal Mile. It is nice and clean and the personal welcome is very friendly. Everything was great, apart from the noise at night. I was only able to sleep with ear plugs in. If you have a deep sleep, this might not disturb you. I would not recommend sleeping on the sofa, as it is very uncomfortable. We got told so before we booked, but as it was just for 2 nights, I didn't mind.
I would stay here again, but only if the single glassing would be improved.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: noise over night
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
K E
A
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fun central location, helpful manager, expect night disturbances.”
Reviewed 6 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

This was a fun central location to stay for our first visit to Edinburgh. Can easily walk to many sites and shops. It is well suited to partners sharing a bed (the bed was divine), but the pull out couch is too uncomfortable to use. The manager graciously met us for an early sign in and the apartment had the basics to get started. Small issues such as burned out light, plugged shower drain, and only bath sized towels (no face/hand towels) were somewhat inconvenient. The nightly drunks on the main mile and noisy trash collectors will wake you unless you are a very sound sleeper. The hike back up the hill and building steps got old after a few days.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: central location
Liked least: street noise
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JTATTIE
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Super Apartment”
Reviewed 8 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

An excellent well located property in a historic building in the heart of the Old Town of Edinburgh. It is close to all sights, shops, restaurants and pubs., including Edinburgh Castle, The Royal Mile, The Grassmarket and Princess Street. Ideal for a short break.
A well equipped though compact flat with comfortable double bed. Attractive view .Good value rental.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: The stairs
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing