We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,246)
Filter reviews
3,246 results
Traveller rating
2,103
772
245
76
50
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,103
772
245
76
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviews royal mile free mini bar cucina restaurant george iv bridge nespresso machine victoria street stylish hotel rain shower turn down service hotel bar amazing hotel perfect location arthur's seat birthday treat loved this hotel walk in shower breakfast was included
Filter
Updating list...
859 - 864 of 3,246 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2016 via mobile

We visited G & V having previously stayed some years ago when it was Hotel Missoni - nothing has really changed if honest !!
We found the check in procedure a little embarrassing , in a busy reception we were questioned as to us booking a double room ( same sex couple ) .... not something we've ever experienced before & definitely not expected in a 5* hotel.
Our room was tired as were the communal hallways etc as still decorated with the Missoni twist.
We dined in Cucina restaurant & found the food lovely & the service from Melanie fantastic !!
We slept well & had lots of choice at breakfast the following morning.
Overall we would not return & thought the attention to detail that you would expect from a hotel of this rating was somewhat lacking

Date of stay: April 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank DellyLouLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James A, Front Office Manager at Radisson Collection Hotel Royal Mile Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2016

Dear DellyLouLou,
Please accept my sincere and profuse apologies that your stay did not live up to expectations. I certainly and not going to make any excuses for your feedback, it is clear that we have not provided the experience that we know we can, and for that I am very sorry. I would appreciate the opportunity to speak to your so I can apologise in person. If you would like to discuss your comments further please do not hesitate to get in touch with me on 0131 220 6666. Hope to hear from you soon!
Kind regards,
James
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2016

Visited for 2 nights with husband ,son and brother and sister-in-law who were visiting from New Zealand. Check in was a bit messy, I was handed another guests check in card, similar name but not mine. Upgraded our room to 236 and enjoyed the complimentary mini bar and prosecco - although I was told there would be another bottle of prosecco on our second night, though this never materialised. Room was spacious and shower amazing. Breakfast tasty and relaxing. Location could not have been better. Parking charge steep, but city centre space at a premium. Didn't eat in the hotel apart from breakfast as so many eateries on the doorstep. A great stay for all of our party.

Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline2066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James A, Front Office Manager at Radisson Collection Hotel Royal Mile Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2016

Dear Caroline2066,
I am sorry to read that you were handed the wrong key on arrival and that we missed the bottle of prosecco on the second night however pleased that it did not have too much of an impact on the overall enjoyment of the hotel. If you have any further feedback please do not hesitate to contact me directly on 0131 220 6666. Looking forward to hopefully welcoming you back soon,
Kind regards,
James
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2016 via mobile

Very well run hotel with excellent rooms done in a modern style, with a large bathroom and walk-in shower but sadly no bath. Very good breakfast each day and all the staff were helpful and friendly. We'd definitely go back again. A real city centre gem.

Date of stay: April 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank simonmisterbig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James A, Front Office Manager at Radisson Collection Hotel Royal Mile Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2016

Hi simonmistebig,
Thank you for your fabulous review. We cannot wait to welcome you back a second time. See you very soon!
Kind regards,
James
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2016

Central in the old town with a short walk to Princes street for shopping and of course the main tourist attractions nearby. All the mod cons in your room including USB points, wifi and a flat screen tv set in the wall. We stayed in a signature room and the room was excellent but the only small fault was one drawer for small clothes (plenty of hanging space for large). Staff were very pleasant and helpful on arrival and throughout our stay. Lovely a la carte restaurant in the evening, and breakfast there in the morning also good quality with an excellent choice at the buffet to compliment the cooked menu. All in all, couldn't fault it and would definitely stay again.

Date of stay: April 2016
1  Thank Daz777T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James A, Front Office Manager at Radisson Collection Hotel Royal Mile Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2016

Hi Daz777T,
Stunning feedback, thank you so much. I sincerely hope that we are able to welcome you back to G&V again soon. If you have a date in mind do get in touch with me directly and I can arrange everything for you. See you soon!
Kind regards,
James
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2016

My mother and I visited here for birthday celebrations for afternoon tea in February. We had pre booked in advance, I recommend doing this, although it wasn't busy when we first arrived, it soon began to get busier into early evening as it is situated in the bar area.

The afternoon tea is not how it is advertised on the website, please double check the menu when you are booking or you'll be gutted you aren't getting pina colada ice lollies like we were!

The afternoon tea arrives in rounds of different items, mini shot glass of soup and then other pieces before onto the afternoon tea itself. We pre booked a veggie option before hand and received this when we came. Probably best to do this in advance rather than on the day as it will take longer to prep and the choice's might not be as great.
However our sandwiches weren't the most idealistic option for us, we didn't think there was much thought into sandwiches (the meat was simply just taken off= bread with leaves) and had reported this back to the hotel. I spoke to the manager of the bar, and couldn't have been happier with the quick response and service he provided.

The staff were incredibly lovely, happy to top up tea and offer more jams or cream if needed. Always checking everything was okay and topping up glasses with fresh water.

Although to some it may seem a bit pricey, for the location it was in, it fitted perfect.
Maybe won't be back for afternoon tea again, but we have since returned for the fabulous cocktails and we will be back again soon!!

Date of stay: February 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James A, Front Office Manager at Radisson Collection Hotel Royal Mile Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2016

Hi Rachael W,
Thank you for your review following your afternoon tea experience at G&V for your birthday. We really appreciate your feedback which will enable us to continue to provide the very best service to all our of guests in the future. We hope to welcome you back soon!
Kind regards,
James
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews