We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Ranked #30 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 3 August 2012

Stayed here with my family and had great experience. I have to say this hotel is a best part of my experience in Edinburgh trip. Lovely cosy rooms, friendly and helpful staff, lovely atmosphere and excellent service. What else you need from a hotel?? I would definitely recommend this hotel to everyone and I will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrs_anna187069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,763 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,796
    653
    210
    62
    42
See reviews for
302
1,551
99
250
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (482)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012

Great location, lovely staff, faultless service and funky, modern design. Lots of extras, delonghi coffee machine in room, free movies, two items free laundry etc....
Small details matter - free soft drinks , crisps and water in mini bar, fresh milk- makes for a much friendlier feel that £3 for water in some 5 stars nearby. Breakfast delicious.
Even left some chocolates in the room as it was my birthday! Feels like a hotel run by people who genuinely want you to have a great experience. We loved it!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank toriGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012

We had booked a spa treatment online via a search site but found that there had been an error when we arrived. The staff at the hotel were mortified and went out of their way to sort something out for us. We ended up having to wait some time for shorter sessions but did get to have afternoon tea with a glass of prosecco while we were waiting. The staff were amazing and kept making sure we were OK (and not just us - it was apparent that all guests were treated this way). We were escorted to the spa, so no-one can access the upper floors without authorisation which is a real safety plus! . In the spa, the atmosphere was calm and relaxing and the massage excellent. The hotel is stylishly decorated and is very close to the castle so is an excellent base for a visit. A super hotel which we hope to return to!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angiking89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

You can make good use of your vocabulary without really giving them the deserved complement.The staff above all made our stay wonderful.

The hotel is a true gem.The location is central and the rooms were nicely designed and equipped.
The Cucina again has very good modern Italian food and the staff were really nice.

Ok the gym is very small.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kamalysf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

I'm usually the one who takes care of making travel plans whenever my boyfriend and I go on vacation. Therefore, I was shocked when he surprised me with a trip to Edinburgh as my Christmas present and that he's booked us to stay at Hotel Missoni for 2 nights! This hotel is outstanding and well deserved of its 5 star rating, both for service and accommodation. We had a hard time initially finding the hotel and had to call for directions. The staff very kindly sent a valet wearing a stylish kilt to flag us down when we came driving by so we know where to go. Our room was very stylishly decorated with trendy Missoni touches such as the designer's signature zig zag prints on the pillow cases and bathrobes. The Nespresso machine, free movie entertainment, free snacks and drinks and amazing rainfall shower system were all big pluses for us. We also loved that the hotel was centrally located so we were walking distance to some of the main attractions of Edinburgh such as the Royal Mile and Edinburgh Castle. The only thing that was annoying was our keycard seems to get deactivated every day around noon which prevented us from using the elevator without a detour to the front desk to get the cards activated again. I'm not sure how much the room cost but I do remember our credit card temporarily getting charged an additional 100 GBP for incidentals. This amount was credited back to the card after we checked out. We would definitely stay here again should we return to Edinburgh.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oopzydaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#4 of 149 in Edinburgh
938 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 149 in Edinburgh
3,775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Old Town
The Scotsman Hotel
The Scotsman Hotel
#89 of 149 in Edinburgh
2,279 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh

Property: G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Address: 1 George IV Bridge, Edinburgh EH1 1AD, Scotland (Formerly Hotel Missoni)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Cowgate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#4 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#20 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,851 - ₹ 40,103
Hotel Class:5 star — G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
G&V Royal Mile Hotel, Edinburgh is set in the heart of the capital on the historic Royal Mile. The hotel has breath-taking views over the Royal Mile, Edinburgh's Old Town, Arthur's Seat and even on to and across the Firth of Forth. Established as one of Scotland's most stylish five star hotels, G&V Hotel is known for warm, friendly, five star hospitality tailored to the individual. As part of the Quorvus Collection, G&V Royal Mile Hotel is a new generation of luxury combining contemporary design, a warm welcome and Scottish character. All 136 rooms and suites come with complimentary Wi-Fi, newspapers and Nespresso coffee and tea. Each room includes rain showers, generous bath products, LCD TV's with iPod and laptop connections, luxurious bathrobes and slippers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing