We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Weekend Break” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Ranked #34 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Weekend Break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2012

Fantastic hotel in a great city. Cocktails and food are excellent. Would highly recommend to anyone both the hotel and edinburgh.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JOMO79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,562 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,662
    609
    194
    60
    37
See reviews for
266
1,439
92
232
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (462)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

Loved it here. Staff look fabulous in their uniforms and from start to finish you are made very welcome and given a service which is both professional and friendly. VIP service almost! Rooms are decorated very stylishly and have everything you need. The only downside is rooms can be a little noisy-soundproofed and it would be perfect.

Our problem was we were there for the MoonWalk so sadly didn't spend enough time at the hotel but will definitely be back.

Everywhere is super stylish from rooms right through to the toilets at the bar!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leedsbarbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
73 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

Stayed for 3 nights. Was very pleasantly surprised - overall experience was excellent.

The front door fellows in their kilts were great, especially Douglas. They were always friendly and helpful and had wonderful suggestions to give on what to do everyday.
The front reception staff, especially Julianne were also wonderful - nice, cheery and helpful.

The room was nice and colourful - modern rather than classic - but that is what one would expect from the name Missoni. The breakfast area and set-up were good. The cold and hot offerings were adequate with good variety. Better than I had expected.

The location is excellent - close to Edinburgh Castle, right next to the Royal Mile and a little walk "down" to the New Town. Can't ask for a better spot.

Loved my stay and would definitely recommend this hotel - just remember this is not your "classic" hotel, but a young, hip, fun place with cheerful colours.

The recommended casual dining place, about a 1 min walk from the hotel - Angel with Bagspipe was excellent.

Looking forward to my next visit to Edinburgh and definitely back to this hotel. The best styled kilts I have ever seen.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank foodie2828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandbach, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2012

To summarise, impressive from start to finish!
Right from approaching the hotel where we were greeted by friendly doormen (dressed in traditional Scottish attire) we were checked in and were shown to our rooms by a really friendly member of staff who took the time to show us how everything worked and made sure we were settled in.
The hotel itself is fabulously designed with really bright, vibrant colours everywhere (including the rooms). If you need your spirits lifting, this is the hotel to say at!
We especially loved having a range of films (a lot free of charge) to select from the interactive menu on the TV (including many recent blockbusters). The free wi - fi in the rooms was a bonus, and if required, for a deposit it is possible to hire a laptop from reception!
The bathroom was also lovely with a large shower cubicle with an overhead shower head. The bed was also extremely comfortable too.
The hotel is also well positioned and is just a short walk from Edinburgh Castle.
One piece of advice though, if you are arriving by train, I suggest you take a taxi from the station especially if you have luggage, as it is uphill almost all the way to the hotel.
I highly recommend this hotel and I hope to stay here again one day.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Duststorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2012

We spent two nights at the Missoni over the Jubilee holiday week-end. The hotel was well located although there was a considerable climb to get to it, being a short distance from the castle. The room was a decent size, and well appointed; however after a long day of sightseeing I would have loved to have had a relaxing bath to soothe my aching limbs. This was not possible as the bathroom was essentially a wetroom with a fancy shower. The decor in the room was trendy and modern although a little tired as the wallpaper was starting to lift at the seams. The bed was a bit too hard for my liking and the pillows were so thin my head practically touched the mattress. On the plus side, breakfast was excellent and the staff were extremely courteous and helpful. I expected the bar to be hiving given the fact that it was a holiday week-end but I have to say that it lacked atmosphere. The drink was expensive which is what one expects from a 5 star hotel - we adjourned to the nearby Dean Brodie's tavern which was great! We booked the hotel at a heavily discounted rate through Superbreak and for the money we paid what we got was pretty good. If however we had paid full rate I think I would have been a bit disappointed. I have stayed at a number of 5 star hotels and there was just something missing here - it didn't exude the luxury that one expects from such an establishment. Would I go back? Probably not.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NornIronNic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#21 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#24 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,706 reviews
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#52 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh

Property: G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Address: 1 George IV Bridge, Edinburgh EH1 1AD, Scotland (Formerly Hotel Missoni)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Cowgate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#4 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#4 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#21 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,182 - ₹ 31,024
Hotel Class:5 star — G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established as one of Scotland’s most stylish five star hotels, G&V Hotel is known for warm, friendly, five star hospitality tailored to the individual. As part of the Quorvus Collection, G&V Royal Mile Hotel is a new generation of luxury combining contemporary design, a warm welcome and Scottish character. All 136 rooms and suites come with complimentary internet, newspapers and Nespresso coffee and tea. Each room includes rain showers, generous bath products, LCD TV with iPod and laptop connections, luxurious bathrobes and slippers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia and Agoda so you can book your G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing