We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Style Over Substance?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Ranked #32 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Style Over Substance?”
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Very beutiful, elegant hotel. Rooms, bar, restaurant even corridors are all turned out beautifully.
Staff very friendly and willing to help at all times.
However, scratch the surface and the gloss fades slightly.
The tv in the room with cable consisted of less chanels than the freeview box in my portable tv at home.
The wireless internet i could find in some parts of my room but not others.
The,rather small, full scottish breakfast was lukewarm at best.
I was promised a free "minibar" but this consisted of 6 cans of coke and 2 cans of juice along with a single pack of crisps, although this is probably more the fault of lastminute.com and there advertising. On those same lines this was booked as a top secret hotel with the promise of large saving by lastminute.com, i save less than 2% on booking the same room direct.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,680 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,740
    634
    206
    61
    39
See reviews for
286
1,502
96
242
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (471)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Surrey
Level Contributor
89 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012 via mobile

There is a cadre of excellent contemporary Edinburgh hotels- we have stayed in several. However for design, location and value, the Missoni is amongst the best. Decent sized rooms, quality bathroom, service excellent and like the free mini bar. Superb location for the old town and the uni. If you get a higher room then lovely glimpses of the Pentlands and Arthurs Seat between the roof tops. Love it.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Zouppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunbar
Level Contributor
198 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

Really great place and plan to go back ASAP. I had hake and also tiramisu for dessert. Staff excellent. Bar before dinner was great.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PAC2207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2012

From the instant I booked to the moment we left, everything was clockwork.

It was a two night stay for a milestone birthday surprise. The guest services team were fantastic at helping out with arrangements and reservations prior to and throughout our stay.

We were, however, let down with our chauffeur service at the station. On admission by the driver who returned us to the station, it was the fault of the car company and NOT the hotel. But the hotel went out of their way to compensate (Thank you James).

The staff went the extra mile to keep everything under wraps as a surprise for my husband. The concierge, reception and guest services clearly worked together - very impressive!!

The suites are a bit of an indulgence, but well worth it. We shall be back!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daphne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2012

Booked the Missoni for a birthday treat and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.We have stayed in majority of hotels in Edinburgh and would definately rate this as one of the best.We were greeted at the front of hotel and our car was swiftly taken away and parked yes the price is a bit steep at £35 however this is a city and parking is never cheap!
When we arrived our room wasn't ready however this was no problem as bags were taken away and we hit the shops.
On return room was ready and bags were already in room along with a lovely bottle of chilled Prosecco which was a nice touch.
Rooms are a good size with plenty space for hanging clothes and also come with free minibar and free movies which was good.
Really enjoyed our stay at the hotel if you are looking for a stylish hotel close to all amenities then give it a try.

Room Tip: If you are bothered by noise then select one of the quiet room as rooms facing the royal mile are ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank familyclub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
868 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 150 in Edinburgh
858 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#11 of 150 in Edinburgh
3,626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#20 of 150 in Edinburgh
280 reviews
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#52 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,535 reviews
Old Town
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
#51 of 150 in Edinburgh
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh

Property: G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Address: 1 George IV Bridge, Edinburgh EH1 1AD, Scotland (Formerly Hotel Missoni)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Cowgate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#4 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#4 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#20 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price range (per night): ₹ 15,287 - ₹ 33,942
Hotel Class:5 star — G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
G&V Royal Mile Hotel, Edinburgh is set in the heart of the capital on the historic Royal Mile. The hotel has breath-taking views over the Royal Mile, Edinburgh's Old Town, Arthur's Seat and even on to and across the Firth of Forth. Established as one of Scotland's most stylish five star hotels, G&V Hotel is known for warm, friendly, five star hospitality tailored to the individual. As part of the Quorvus Collection, G&V Royal Mile Hotel is a new generation of luxury combining contemporary design, a warm welcome and Scottish character. All 136 rooms and suites come with complimentary Wi-Fi, newspapers and Nespresso coffee and tea. Each room includes rain showers, generous bath products, LCD TV's with iPod and laptop connections, luxurious bathrobes and slippers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing