We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent contemporary hotel a stride off the Royal Mile”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Ranked #29 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 27 April 2012

We took the train up to Edinburgh for the weekend and the weather was fantastic right from the off. Beautiful blue skies, a great journey up. Arriving in Edinburgh chilled and happy, our spirits were lifted even higher when we reached the Missoni which is a short walk from Waverley Station. We were greeted by a very cool guy with dreads and a designer Missoni kilt. He was obviously a big hit with the ladies.

Check in was painless, courteous, efifcient and friendy. We arrived early so left our bags with them and headed out to explore Edinburgh. We had lunch next door at the excellent Ondine restaurant and then after more sightseeing headed back to the Missoni.

Our room was very contemporary and had quality Missoni furnishings and top f the range B&O TV etc. The bed was large and extremely comfortable. Nespresso machine with a good choice of coffees, plus a very nice touch was the complimentary mini bar - just soft drinks and water, but more than most hotels will give you.

The bathroom was beautifully designed with quality toiletries - excellent shower too.

We didn't eat at the Missoni as we dheaded out into Edinburgh for the evening but we did enjoy the on-tap Prosecco and some expertly prepared martinis.

I would totally recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to stay somewhere incredibly central, stylish and comfortable. We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank simonand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,856)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,035 - 2,039 of 2,856 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2012

Really enjoyed my stay here last weekend but I had jet lag and could have done without the piper outside my room window! All in all a great place to stay.

Stayed: April 2012
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

Like the majority of reviewers I couldn't fault this lovely hotel. The location couldn't be more central and staff couldn't be friendlier. Our room (just a standard double) was gorgeously decorated and all the little touches make a big difference - big fluffy Missoni dressing gowns and slippers, a proper Nespresso coffee machine in the room, free non-alcoholic mini bar, and tons of free on-demand movies. The bathroom was also beautiful. I'd definitely recommend the cocktails in the bar - inventive and delicious. Breakfast was also great, lots of choice and pretty good value. Absolutely recommend staying here. And if you're looking for a great Scottish meal - try Dubh Prais restaurant for dinner, just down the Royal Mile.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KatyR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

My partner took me to Edinburgh for my 40th birthday and we stayed in the Hotel Missoni and ate in the restaurant. The hotel was excellent very modern and clean, our room was very nicely decorated and very comfortable with a beautiful bathrooom. The hotel staff were amazing very very frienfdly and could not do enough for nothing was a problem to them they even found me a i-phone charger as i had forgotten mine. Highly recommend this very modern hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elizabeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

A great, modern and fashionable hotel right in the heart of Edinburgh. Great design. Stayed one night on business and would return again and again. Spacious room (worth paying for the upgrade) with excellent facilities - lovely comfy bed, great rainfall shower and B&O TV. View from room was spectacular.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 2809GPL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,003 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#14 of 151 in Edinburgh
3,884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#54 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,677 reviews
West End
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
#16 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh

Address: 1 George IV Bridge, Edinburgh EH1 1AD, Scotland (Formerly Hotel Missoni)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Cowgate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#4 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#20 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: ₹ 12,683 - ₹ 29,073 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
G&V Royal Mile Hotel, Edinburgh is set in the heart of the capital on the historic Royal Mile. The hotel has breath-taking views over the Royal Mile, Edinburgh's Old Town, Arthur's Seat and even on to and across the Firth of Forth. Established as one of Scotland's most stylish five star hotels, G&V Hotel is known for warm, friendly, five star hospitality tailored to the individual. As part of the Quorvus Collection, G&V Royal Mile Hotel is a new generation of luxury combining contemporary design, a warm welcome and Scottish character. All 136 rooms and suites come with complimentary Wi-Fi, newspapers and Nespresso coffee and tea. Each room includes rain showers, generous bath products, LCD TV's with iPod and laptop connections, luxurious bathrobes and slippers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing