We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bang tidy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Ranked #28 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 23 April 2012

My wife and I stayed at the missoni for 3nights last weekend, from walking up to the door to leaving 3days later the staff were nothing short of brilliant. Every staff member was helpful and knowledgeable about the hotel and Edinburgh. We asked for a quite room which we got, we were warned that the quietest rooms don't have a view which is fine by us, as it was we looked on to the rear of some very old very interesting high street buildings so don't be put off by the no view claim.
My wife had a massage at the spa which she said was excellent and the masseuse was very professional and friendly. We had an afternoon of cocktails at the bar and again the staff were well informed and pleasent.
The rom was spacious with a good bed, the pillows were not to my liking but one quick call to reception and 5 minutes later some different firmer pillows arrived. The shower is great and every thing was sparkling clean.
The only negative observation ,not criticism, is the tv was too far away from the bed. The solution would be bigger tv or move it closer. It's really difficult to read any text on the tv and you have to turn it up quite loud to hear it but who goes to Edinburgh to watch tv right.
We love Edinburgh and we love this hotel I know the management read these reviews so thank you for a great stay keep up the good work.

Room Tip: Ask for the things you want e.g. Quiet or a view and you find you get what you ask for.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank badfx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,819)
There are newer reviews for G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,004 - 2,008 of 2,819 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2012

A top hotel that sets itself apart from the crowd with the attitude and attentiveness of the staff. Nothing is too much trouble - with a really genuine feel to it - they really do stand out from the crowd by some way - I have never experienced such high quality service in any hotel - and that includes most of the top hotels in Scotland. Not sure I ever will! Thoroughly recommend it - they also have sweets for you in the lobby - what more can you ask for! Also worth having a couple of drinks in the cocktail bar which is the epitome of modern chic. First class all round.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fraser B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

We stayed one night at the Missoni Hotel in Edinburgh. It is very convenient to explore the city as it is located on the Royal Mile. The staff is efficient without an attitude, very friendly. The room was lovely and well appointed with beautiful Missoni linens and toiletries. The mini bar is complimentary!! I loved the bar. I was there with my 21 year old son and we sat at the bar and watched Aaron the bartender work his magic. The bartenders were very creative and fun. The only problem I had was at breakfast when I had to ask 3 times for coffee! Breakfast was overpriced. I would stay here again but go somewhere else for breakfast!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelbright229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

Wow! What an amazing place! Not only is the hotel beautiful and unlike anything I have ever seen the staff was UNBELIEVABLE!!!! They would do just about anything to make our stay comfortable. Including helping us send a rather large box back to the states. And they seemed so happy to do so. The room was very comfortable and included many different ammenities. Even free soda in the room, which seems to be hard to find in Europe. The restaurant and the staff there were wonderful as well! If ever visiting Edinburgh I highly recommend Hotel Missoni! It is located right in the center of all the attractions. Two thumbs up for the Missoni!!!!

Stayed: April 2012
1  Thank AmandaH54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

I recently spent a couple of nights at the Missoni over the Easter bank holiday weekend, A standard double room booked direct on the hotel website, There’s no doubting the place is very stylish and swanky, However, I must prefer the more practical and traditional hotel stay rather than the modern and sleek approach, Yes, There’s some real quirky gadgets in the room, such as, a Bang & Olufsen LCD TV, A free Nespresso coffee machine, Also, A couple of nice little extras with a bathrobe to use and free slippers along with a free NON alcoholic mini bar (Water, Coke and soft drinks) and your free toiletries in the bathroom. Obviously I can only comment from what I like from a hotel when I'm away for the weekend and after long day walking the streets, getting dragged into every other shop by her indoors and visiting all the sights etc…. I really look forward to coming back to the hotel for a good old soak in the bath to rest my weary tired legs with along with a glass of fizzy stuff in order to be fully recharged for the evening’s proceedings ahead!! And if anyone is like minded as me then I’m afraid the Missoni is not for you, Although, I couldn’t comment what’s in the suites etc…. Also, you couldn’t open the ceiling to floor window for fresh air so a little stuffy and really warm with only the air con, In summary, A really nice hotel with a high spec finish in a great location on the royal mile and well worth staying to see what the fuss is all about, However, For me personally, When back in Edinburgh I’ll be going back to somewhere more traditional for me bath!! For the same sort of money as the Missoni maybe try the Radisson, Macdonald Holyrood or Macdonald Roxburgh all three are very good.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Southshields_DAVE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 150 in Edinburgh
982 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#13 of 150 in Edinburgh
3,852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
West End
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
#16 of 150 in Edinburgh
2,866 reviews
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#56 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh

Address: 1 George IV Bridge, Edinburgh EH1 1AD, Scotland (Formerly Hotel Missoni)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Cowgate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#4 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#19 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: ₹ 12,256 - ₹ 31,413 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
G&V Royal Mile Hotel, Edinburgh is set in the heart of the capital on the historic Royal Mile. The hotel has breath-taking views over the Royal Mile, Edinburgh's Old Town, Arthur's Seat and even on to and across the Firth of Forth. Established as one of Scotland's most stylish five star hotels, G&V Hotel is known for warm, friendly, five star hospitality tailored to the individual. As part of the Quorvus Collection, G&V Royal Mile Hotel is a new generation of luxury combining contemporary design, a warm welcome and Scottish character. All 136 rooms and suites come with complimentary Wi-Fi, newspapers and Nespresso coffee and tea. Each room includes rain showers, generous bath products, LCD TV's with iPod and laptop connections, luxurious bathrobes and slippers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing