We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food, polite helpful staff & very reasonably priced”
Review of The Khukuri

The Khukuri
Reserve with OpenTable
The Khukuri is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #300 of 2,530 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Nepalese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Neighbourhood: West End
Edinburgh
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Excellent food, polite helpful staff & very reasonably priced”
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Don't be put off by the unprepossessing exterior or the current access problems caused by the tram-works on Shandwick Place and Maitland Street. It is worth the walk. Once you are through the door, you are in a different world with smiling Nepali staff, flowers on all the tables and linen napkins. The menu is vast and the waiter was helpful in making recommendations and suggestions. The food was excellent and arrived promptly.
We wouldn't have known about it except for the Groupon token but we shall definitely return.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alekto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

308 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    185
    81
    23
    9
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Warm welcome, wonderful food”
Reviewed 16 April 2012

We used to come here a lot several years ago then, due to a change in circumstances (unrelated to the restaurant) we stopped visiting. We recently returned, to find that it is just as good as ever. Staff are very welcoming and the food is amazing. In our absence the restaurant itself had been refurbished and redecorated so it looks fresh and attractive. There is so much choice on the menu that actually deciding what to have is quite a challenge. When the food arrived we were amazed at how much good quality meat you get. Would definitely recommend.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Warm welcome by friendly staff and excellent NEPALESE food....”
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We managed to find this restaurnat after poor experience in other Nepalese restaurant!

Staff were very plesant and welcoming, food and atmosphere is excellent/great. Food was fantastic, all of us enjoyed the food including my 4 year old daughter. Apparently this restaurant is well known in Edinburgh and established for over 15years. Head chef came to introduce himself stating he is willing to prepare the food that is not on the menu if required.

You can find authentic NEPALESE food in resonable price. Definately recommend this restaurnat to all visitors in Edinburgh.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GurkhaDurbarFeltham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed 9 April 2012

What can I say? The food was fantastic. I'm a big lover of Nepalese food and this place was brilliant.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank piebaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great Food and Great Service!”
Reviewed 5 April 2012

The food and the service at the Khukuri is top notch. They've done some really innovative things like using local salmon in traditional Indian dishes.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank DocBrien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Khukuri also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to The Khukuri? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing