We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Auld Reekie Apartments
Nearby Hotels
US$ 587
US$ 489
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$ 187
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$ 155
US$ 151
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 207
US$ 187
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Apex Grassmarket Hotel(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$ 151
US$ 140
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 301
US$ 280
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$ 335
US$ 279
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Scotsman Hotel(Edinburgh)
US$ 228
US$ 160
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$ 164
US$ 152
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 222
US$ 202
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (32)
Filter reviews
32 results
Traveller rating
7
10
8
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
7
10
8
4
3
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 32 reviews
Reviewed 20 July 2009

I have travelled all over the world and am used to staying in very nice accommodations. That being said, I thought this apartment was a great find, My sister and two friends stayed at this apartment for three nights, and found it to be a lovely stay. The decor was shiek, it was clean, and it was very spacious. Also, check in and out was super easy. The only downside was that one of the single beds had a bad matress and you definately have to climb stairs to get up there, but I thought the stairs were part of the experience. It is a historical building on the royal mile, I expected there to be stairs.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laceofbase-LacyLynch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2009

I stayed at Auld Reekie on a hen do with 6 friends. The entrance to the appartment was shocking. 6 flights of stairs and the stale smell of unrine in the hall ways was horrific, the handrails on the way up were also thick with dust. I don't think it had been cleaned for years! At first glance the appartment looked basic but ok. But once we were in and had put our things away we began to notice it wasn't clean. The shower curtain was covered in mould. We found an empty crisp packet on top of the wardrobe. My freind had a small dead bug in her bed. And overall it was dusty and in good need of a serious mop. Our feet were black from walking around with no shoes on! Then to top it all off the single beds in the room I shared creeked very loud every time we moved. The springs had also gone in the matress making it totally uncomfortable & impossible to get a good sleep. Although we had 2 showers only one worked properly. Thank god the appartment was in a good location otherwise it would have ruined the weekend, therfore the only posive to this appartment is that we didn't have to spend much time in it!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CharlMet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
auldreekieapts, Owner at Auld Reekie Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2011

This review was left by one member of a group of 12 guests who booked two of our apartments for a hen weekend. After the guests vacated both apartments, one was found to be in an acceptable condition. The other apartment was left in a completely unsatisfactory condition. We do make allowances in terms of the state our apartments are left in and only apply charges when an excessive amount of additional cleaning is required or damages are found. In this regard we have made charges to less than 1% of our guests.
A modest charge of £20 was made in respect of excessive cleaning and the guest who made the booking was notified by e-mail. We received a reply from the guest stating that she had stayed in the other apartment, had no idea of the state of the other apartment and apologised for any inconvenience.
We can only assume that the guest who left this review was held accountable by the group for the shocking state in which the apartment was left in. The comments regarding the cleanliness of the apartment and the common entrance / stairs are simply untrue. In particular we would note that:-
1. The apartment is not up six flights of stairs. There are three flights of stairs as it is a third floor apartment!!!
2. All apartment owners in this block entered into a contract to have the common entrance and stairs cleaned on a regular basis, in early 2009. All parts of the entrance / stairs including hand rails are professionally cleaned regularly. The comment about the stairs looking like they had not been cleaned for years and hallways smelling of stale urine are not only untrue, they are quite frankly libellous.
3. All our apartments are cleaned to the highest standard and our reviews on major websites that we advertise with reflect this. Certainly, out of over 2000 groups of guest we have never bee n notified of a dead bug being found in a bed before or since!!
4. Both showers were working perfectly well. One of the showers, is electric and will not work properly unless the power switch outside the bathroom is turned on. The operation of the showers and all other aspects of the apartment, eg heating, free WIFI, are included in a manual located in clear view on the coffee table in the living room. We would also have been very happy to assist with any required instructions over the telephone had we been contacted.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews