We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Luxary apartment at affordable prices.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Princes Street Suites
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Luxary apartment at affordable prices.”
Reviewed 19 January 2012

What can I say about this place, except, WOW. Yes you could find little faults with it but that would just be being picky. We had booked a 1 bed apartment, but when we got there 2hrs earier then we should of we were told that we had a 2 bed apartment. Walking through our front door that's when we realised that we had picked a brilliant place to stay to celebrate our anniversary. Lovely fitted kitchen, open planned living room. Two bedrooms one en suite. The staff on the front were very helpful and friendly. Now for the bad bit. After checking out I went to the bank to withdraw some money but noticed I had no money in my account. Cutting a long explanation short I find out that Princes Street Suites had taken out the cost of my stay again. After a 10min phone call to the place they excepted their mistake. Only to find out that it could take 3 days to return my money. Totally spoiling my 2nd day up in Edinburgh. Would I stay here again yes would be the answer even though I had a bad experience over the money

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulD1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

742 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    437
    203
    70
    18
    14
See reviews for
255
188
23
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denny, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2012

Stayed in 3 bedroom apartment. Apartment was lovely and I would have moved in if I could. Comfortable and well furnished with everything you could need - even hair straighteners! Excellent views and in a central localle. Staff were helpful, friendly and informative. Wonderful weekend and will be back whenever possible.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2012

We stayed in this apartment styled hotel over the Christmas period. On reading their web site, they suggest luxury suites, fully serviced and suitable for long stays. We took a one bedroom suite.
On the first night, we discovered that the central heating wasn't working in all the rooms particularly the bedroom, other "radiators" were also not working in the main living area. The bed and pillows were very uncomfortable. It's clear that we were the first people to use this apartment in the Scottish Winter!
Do not accept apartment 3 on the minus 3 floor (not sure if this is because we received a good rate from late rooms?), however, this is the furthest room in the hotel overlooking the construction site of the train station and office buildings.
The washer/dryer leaked water onto the floor when in drying mode. The kitchen was well under provisioned for utensils. One coffee mug for two people, no fry pan to cook eggs, not enough cutlery, etc. etc.
During this period, the bathroom amenities were only replenished once, yet the web site boasts of the quality products being used. I think that one of the tricks during the period was to come as early as you can in the morning to hope that the Guests say "no" to a service because we still haven't had a shower. Make sure you let the room attendants know to "come back later".
The only redeeming point for this hotel is the location. It is indeed in the centre of the city and minutes walk to the shopping area. I would not recommend nor return despite the location.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2012

Stayed in a 3 bedroom, 2 bathroom suite. Loads of room, televisions in all bedrooms.

24 hour reception. Right at the top of Princes Street in very quiet area.

Lovely views of Edinburgh. Local Sainsburys up the road or a M&S. Brought bacon, sausage and eggs and cooked brekkie in the suite and ate it overlooking Edinburgh. Cost of room was £90 which is great money if you can utilise all bedrooms.

Room Tip. Request 2 bathroom suite with view on 3rd or 4th floor.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank freddietriffid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PSSteam, General Manager at Princes Street Suites, responded to this review, 17 January 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review after you recent stay. We were delighted that you enjoyed your experience in Edinburgh and found the property to be well located for ease of access to all the experiences that Edinburgh has to offer. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to Princes Street Suites on your next visit to Edinburgh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2012

These apartments are fabulous,having stayed before,we knew what to expect,but we were upgraded to the penthouse suite,3 bedrooms,all very well appointed,comfy beds,flatscreen tvs,hairdryers,robes,one room en-suite,large bath with overshower,huge lounge with dining area and open plan kitchen.Everything you need and more in kitchen area.The views were simply stunning.We love the quirky decor.As frequent travellers to edinburgh and having stayed in numerous hotels in the area,we will always use these apartments from now on.The staff are lovely.Be sure to check out the roof terrace,take your camera!

Room Tip: Apartments are all different decor,very modern design.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maddison90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PSSteam, General Manager at Princes Street Suites, responded to this review, 17 January 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review after you recent stay. We were delighted that you enjoyed your experience in Edinburgh and Princes Street Suites. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to Princes Street Suites on your next visit to Edinburgh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#11 of 150 in Edinburgh
3,627 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
868 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#30 of 150 in Edinburgh
4,250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 150 in Edinburgh
862 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,766 reviews
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#52 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Princes Street Suites? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princes Street Suites

Property: Princes Street Suites
Address: 16 Waterloo Place, Edinburgh EH1 3EG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton , Castle / Royal Mile / High St
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 215 Speciality Lodging in Edinburgh
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,527 - ₹ 25,200
Hotel Class:4 star — Princes Street Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location, space and service make Princes Street Suites a modern Edinburgh classic. Whether you check in for two nights or two weeks you'll enjoy the unrivaled space to entertain, work or simply relax that these superb award winning serviced apartments have to offer. You can choose from our luxurious three bedroom penthouse with views of Edinburgh Castle and Arthurs Seat to our spacious studio, one, two and three bedroom apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Princes Street Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Princes Street Suites At 16 Waterloo Place Hotel Edinburgh
Princes Street Suites Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing