We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,604)
Filter reviews
1,604 results
Traveller rating
773
491
192
88
60
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
773
491
192
88
60
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmal barclub roominner courtdennis the menacemini barcontinental breakfaststunning hotelitison dealsunday lunchriver viewroll top bathan upgradecar parkwaiting staffbuilding sitemain courseovernight stay
Filter
Updating list...
115 - 120 of 1,604 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2018

My review should help answer some questions you may have, before booking. Review based on a Sunday night stay...less busy, so bare that in mind.
PARKING - Park at the Greenmarket multi storey car park. It's secure and has cameras. There is a car park in front of hotel, with loose gravel, but multi storey is literally 2 mins walk in front of this car park. It can be seen from hotel. Keeps car dry and safe. You get your ticket as you enter multi storey and pay on foot before you exit. 8pm-8am is free. So if you arrive at 6pm and leave at 12am, you will be charged 6hours. No need to head back in morning to get another ticket. Maximum cost is £9.80 for 6-12 hours + 12 hours free parking. See my photo.
BREAKFAST - ours was included in room price. Served in the brasserie (first floor). We paid extra £2 for cooked. Tell waiter your room number and it gets billed to your room. So eat and go. Continental is served at the back, buffet style, help yourself. Fresh juices- grapefruit, orange etc. Cereals, fruit, pastries, yoghurt, Nutella portions and so on. When we first entered they asked if we wanted toast, so hot toast was brought to our table, along with coffee. Jam, milk, butter in jars on table. For the extra £2 you can eat all the continental you want as well as the hot stuff on top. Piggy heaven! There is a menu you pick from. Full cooked, egg on toast, porridge, waffles, pancakes, various other things but everyone that morning seemed to be ordering the same as us...EGGS BENEDICT! Three versions, with bacon, smoked salmon or mushroom for the veggies. We got one of each, as three of us...all poached eggs were cooked to perfection! Credit to the chef! Staff extremely friendly. In fact they all are, never had any issues with "don't want to be here" staff.
Mal bar - you must try their cocktails! Delicious and so pretty on the eye. One cocktail had the wow factor, the waiter poured it from a conical glass with smoke bellowing out. Yum! Mocktails available for young ones or those cutting out alcohol. Sit upstairs in the Mal bar if you want more privacy. Sunday stay means it's nice and quiet for us. Avoiding the hustle and bustle of weekend drinkers. Food can be ordered in the Mal bar, if you don't want so formal dining. We got 3 plates for £20 to share. Burger sliders etc. Small portions but extremely tasty.
Room - bathroom, heated floor and great shower/ bath. Room temp can be controlled with air con dial. Bed super comfy, slept like a dream! Pay a little more for riverside view, if you like to look out, but if the outside doesn't bother you then save yourself the expense. We were on the second floor this time and we had an awfully squeaky floor...management put this on your "to do" list! Room 205. This is why a star was lost. Everything else...no complaints! Staff etc fab! But, room 205 please get a joiner to look at the floor! I realise some things, are out with their control, so I'm hoping this can be fixed in the future. If not I'm sure alot of people may downgrade the star rating for malmaisondundee, for this very reason. There is squeaky, then there is squeaky! This floor could win awards for being the loudest...not even exaggerating! This cheapened the room, which is hard to say. I hope they take this comment as constructive criticism, for the benefit of all parties. We have stayed in other rooms and never had an issue with floor. So don't think my review is a reflection of the rest of the hotel, cos it's not. Just one room out of many. If I got this room again, and it wasn't fixed, I'd definitely be pleading for a different room.
Some people complain about the lighting. Yes for a woman doing her make-up, it is a bit of a pain. Would have been nice somewhere in the room to have an option to put on a light that you can see your face clearly. However, overall I prefer the darker atmosphere for a night away. It's fitting with the decor and creates a nice ambience. Isn't that what it's all about?
To sum my review up....Brilliant staff. Credit to them all! Scrummy cocktails. Food delicious. Bed comfy. Bathroom to envy! (On my to do list ha ha) We will be back...says it all!

Room Tip: The higher the better, if you want views!
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank NatandSteven1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMDUNDEE, General Manager at Malmaison Dundee, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

thank you very much for your detailed review of your stay, we are already looking forward to welcome you back again, we are pleased you like the eggs benedict they are by far the top seller at breakfast. We change our cocktails seasonally so please keep an eye on our news and offers online and we hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Lovely clean hotel with nice, friendly staff, especially Aurelia and Roula.

Service at dinner was very slow and food was hit and miss but great table service besides.

Could do with a closer mirror in the bathroom for shaving and make-up.

Great location and overall, an enjoyable stay.
Would recommend.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMDUNDEE, General Manager at Malmaison Dundee, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Thank you for your feedback , Aurelia is delighted to be mentioned online
We hope to welcome you again soon
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

Stayed here for one night this week & was thoroughly looking forward to our stay.

Was disappointed with the wait on arrival to check in as receptionist was on the phone, with nobody else around at that time. At check in, it was pointed out that breakfast was only a continental breakfast, having paid £13.95. Cooked breakfast was an additional £2 so ended up paying £32 for 2 breakfasts. Having paid this, we were not advised what time breakfast was or where breakfast was served. We weren't even told what time check out was - pretty basic stuff surely when you're checking in!

Room was nice, although ridiculously hot & had to get up during the night to turn heating down. Bathroom door kept sticking on the tiled bathroom floor when opened, causing it to jar against you every time you opened the door. Bath panel was cracked & unsightly too.

Breakfast was ok but not worth the money & was annoyed when cooked breakfasts were brought out & table hadn't been cleared of cereal/fruit bowls & then the waitress commented that the table wasn't big enough!

To summarise:- hotel is nice, room ok, breakfast overpriced & service was poor for this standard of hotel. Would I stay again - probably not as it wasn't cheap & I left feeling disappointed.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank PAMELA D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMDUNDEE, General Manager at Malmaison Dundee, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2018

Thank you for your feedback, I am very sorry you had a poor experience, I a very surprised that you were not informed of breakfast times and I am sorry to hear that, it is basic information we always share with the guest, I shall review with the person who checked you in to ensure this is addressed. We will look into the bathroom door in your room this is the first comment we have about the door, so apologies again this was an inconvenience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018 via mobile

We booked this hotel due to the location and we got a good deal through the hotel website, we stayed two nights, iv read some rewiews saying the staff and the hotel were shabby, I couldn’t disagree more, the staff at the front desk were very helpful, and the room is great!
The WiFi works well, the room is modern enough, with a great selection in the mini bar, beds were very comfy, we got a inner Court room, the lighting in the room is a little dull but that’s the style of the rooms! We didn’t book breakfast so can’t comment on that, a little
Annoying that there isn’t any parking but that’s not the hotel fault as it’s in such a great location, we parked in green market parking which was only a 5-7min walk! Perfect!

I do think some of the negative comments are uncalled for, and the hotel is a great stay!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMDUNDEE, General Manager at Malmaison Dundee, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2018

thank you for your lovely feedback, we appreciate your comments and we look forward to welcome you back again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2018

Excellent location for the railway station and city center. Check in was quick and easy. Our room was quite spacious but the lighting a bit dark. Good sized shower room. the only issue with the room was that the pillows were the most uncomfortable i have ever used. There was a smell of what could have possibly been weed which was reported to reception but no outcome. (another resident said the same and got moved). There are some good deals to be had, we chose the room, three course meal, cocktail and full breakfast all for £113. The food was excellent but service quite slow. When checking out, we reported the lack of feedback regarding the smell so reception deducted the cost of the couple of glasses of wine we had with our meal. Over all a good night.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Steven H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMDUNDEE, General Manager at Malmaison Dundee, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2018

thank you for your feedback, will investigate the smells in your room and ensure this does not happen again. thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews