We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lost it's charm”

The Fishermans Tavern Restaurant
Ranked #64 of 424 Restaurants in Dundee
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Scottish
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 6 April 2018

Popped in for a quick pint and a bite to eat, it's recently undergone a massive makeover but is now a bit of a pubco's interpretation of a heritage pub and not the Fish of old.
Fish and chips were ok but pricey for a half a fillet of Haddock and a few tripple cooked chips. Not a bad choice of mains but starter choice very limited.

Date of visit: March 2018
4  Thank charles c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (145)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 145 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2018

Two rump steak with a bottle of wine was advertised at £19.99. I was charged £29.99 ..I called and was told web site needs to be updated.....prices have gone up since they have reopened after a refurbishment .... it was not worth £29.99

Date of visit: March 2018
1  Thank shantiredi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2018

Come here for several pints and food a lot while passing through home with work but the past year or two it has seriously went down hill. Went back just a couple of weeks ago and the quality of the pints, service and cleanliness has declined a fair bit from previous visits and there is a frankly odd smell in the place that I think is coming from the toilet and filtering through the bar. It is a pity has it is a proper old school pub which I really like and there is not many like it left but I will go elsewhere when passing through as it really isn't the same.

Date of visit: January 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank KDT250817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2017 via mobile

Went to the fisherman's for lunch with 3 friends today. Nice cosy atmosphere, service was very good and helpful when we had a spillage at the table. Food was nice enough pub grub, but we were very disappointed by the portion sizes. For almost £10 I got maybe 7 or 8 medium sized pieces of scampi and around 8 fat triple cooked chips. I think I could have counted the number of peas on my plate, really only a smattering. My friend asked for a side order of chips with her macaroni and again only received around 8 chips. I had to ask for extra tartare sauce as only a shallow amount filled in the dish. I'm sorry to say we didn't complain at the time, I would have felt like a fat middle aged glutton making a fuss about it and our waiter was so nice and accommodating. I booked the fisherman's this time after a lovely and very good value meal on their Christmas menu, but today's lunch didn't leave me as satisfied. It's probably saved me a bit of dieting after Christmas, but I wanted to let you know, if you're going to serve triple cooked chips, customers won't be satisfied with a one third portion and you got everything else right so it's a shame.

Date of visit: December 2017
5  Thank Elaine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2017 via mobile

On another regular visit to The Fish. We received quick service on a busy night - the new menu is delightful - the food was hot and delicious.
Our server Kay was very helpful with plenty of advice about the new menu - she made us feel very welcome.
Great meal. Will definitely come again.

Date of visit: November 2017
2  Thank Georgia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Fishermans Tavern Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Fishermans Tavern Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing