We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good, needs more attention to customers specific needs for 5*”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Forbes of Kingennie
Ranked #6 of 28 Hotels in Dundee
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“very good, needs more attention to customers specific needs for 5*”
Reviewed 16 June 2012

Stayed in Glen Logie lodge for six nights while visiting family nearby in Dundee. On arrival we found complimentary cookies which went down very well (although you can't buy these from FoK?!), first impressions of the lodge were good, great size and excellent views over the pool towards the restaurant.
This would be five stars but for a few small items - we were disappointed with overall cleanliness - spiders webs on both balconies which had obviously been there a LONG time, dead and alive spiders and webs in each of the two bathrooms. In addition supply of basic items such as loo rolls (2 rolls in a lodge that sleeps six?), 1 bin bag, no coffee to be found but plenty of tea bags and sugar, bin emptied once over the course of the stay etc etc.

We've stayed in other lodges around this area which we would consider 5*, this would be the same but for the lack of some personal touches (and perhaps a hot-tub!!)

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Forbes of Kingennie, responded to this review, 24 June 2012
Thank you for your review, I am pleased to hear you enjoyed the cookies. I have discussed your points with the team and hopefully the next time you visit we will achieve that 5* rating from yourselves although we may not have the hot-tub!! Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

311 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    225
    47
    18
    13
    8
See reviews for
130
72
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
stoney
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

After comparing many possible venues to host our Ruby Anniversary Weekend, we decided on Forbes of Kingennie. From the first meetings with staff (a year in advance) we were confident that this was the ideal place for us. Luxurious lodges for our guests, sporting facilities to keep everyone occupied during the days and a very pleasant function room in which to hold our two evening parties.
Today, following our celebrations, we are pleasantly satisfied that having spending the last week at F.O.K., we made the right choice. Our friends and family all had a fantastic time. They enjoyed some "Silly" putting competitions; target golf at the driving range; 9 holes of golf on the excellent (fairly challenging) golf course; plenty of catches for the anglers and both adults and kids had fun in the Maze and tracking The Treasure Hunt around the grounds.
The food we were served at breakfast and in the evenings was excellent and some of us who remained there for the whole week ate frequently in their restaurant and enjoyed everything laid down in front of us.
The staff, throughout our whole stay, were amazing. Nothing was ever too much trouble and any concern quickly rectified. The Function Operations staff were efficient and friendly, the Administration and Managerial staff were experienced and attentive, the Kitchen, Restaurant and Bar staff were skilled, charming and obliging, the Sports Coordinators were professional and expert and the Lodge administrators and Housekeepers, accommodating and thorough in their duties. They made a spendid "team" and added to our whole week being "great fun"!
We have stayed in three of the lodges at Kingennie and they were all extremely comfortable, fitted with quality furnishings and very well equipped.
If there were to be any minor improvements in the lodges, we would suggest the addition of: hair-driers, a small shelf in the shower cubicles for toiletries and a hook on the back of all bathroom doors.
We thank all "the Team" for their concerted effort in making our "Weekend" memorable for all the right reasons and wish them all the best in the future. We plan to meet them again next year....and hopefully the next!

Room Tip: Most 6-person lodges have a double room en suite, a large twin room and a smaller twin room (single...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hoteldocStoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Forbes of Kingennie, responded to this review, 24 June 2012
Hi Alistair and Evelyn, thank you so much for your fabulous review. I am delighted you had a great weekend and am very pleased to hear your comments on the team here at the resort. I am very lucky to have such a great team and we all look forward to seeing you both again next year, if not before!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 10 June 2012

Had a great stay in clean, comfortable lodges. Lovely food at the restaurant, very friendly and helpful staff throughout the resort. Fishing and golfing great fun and many memorable times at the bar. Great location for travelling around the scottish countryside! Would recommend.
from your "peeps" in Aussieland

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SheenaJ989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

We chose Forbes of Kingennie for our wedding and the three main reasons were we could have our dog join us for the ceremony, the setting is beautiful and having eaten there on a few occasions we were impressed with food and service.

We booked our wedding with 18 months to go and can only offer good comments about our experience of booking and Louise who handeled our booking made the process simple and made sure she covered everything with us a few weeks before to ensure we had everything in place to make our big day go smoothly.

I can honestly the say that the day itself was brilliant the staff were all attentive and Ali our MC could not have done more (he even helped Stuart do up his kilt laces properly, and he kindly leant his jacket to a guest who wanted to pop out to take photos at a particularly windy part ofthe day - seriously though all the little efforts did not go unoticed and it is worth mentioning that this contributed to the overall 5 star rating)

The food was excellent with all the dishes (we had a menu choice) being served correctly, it was all very tasty and the portions were a good size ( I could not manage to finish my strawberry shortcake tower)

The setting was stunning and we have some excellent photos (despite the weather being blustery) and the whole atmosphere was amazing

The staff at night again could not do more and made sure everyone had a lovely time.

We stayed in Glen Esk Lodge and it was very comfortable and was in a nice setting , in the woodland area (Liz gave us a lift there when the evening celebrations had finished) We ate in the restaurant the Sunday night and again the food was fabulous and the service brilliant (Liz even took a photo of us showing our wedding rings)

We will definitely be back.

All in all A wonderful experience of a fabulous day. Thanks to all at Forbes of Kingennie

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lferr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Forbes of Kingennie, responded to this review, 24 June 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review following your wedding here at the resort. I am delighted to hear you had such a great day and hope that we will see you both again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Reasonably priced self catering accommodation. Smart and well fitted. Friendly helpful staff. Very good for families. Enjoyed.

Would have been 5/5 if they didn't try to have silly charges on the hire of a cot for the baby and charged us extra to walk around the hedge maze!!! Really - was it worth arguing over a few quid????

Would recommend. Nice restaurant too.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pieandchips2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingennie, General Manager at Forbes of Kingennie, responded to this review, 2 May 2012
Thank you so much for your review of the resort, I am really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found us to be reasonably priced with friendly helpful staff. I am delighted that you enjoyed a visit to our restaurant during your stay and hope that we will see you again in the future.
I am concerned that we missed out on 5/5 and am certainly considering the points that you have mentioned in relation to extra charges.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dundee
9.3 km away
Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa
2.9 km away
Premier Inn Dundee (Monifieth) Hotel
10.0 km away
Hampton by Hilton Dundee City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dundee
4.5 km away
Best Western Dundee Woodlands Hotel
8.2 km away
Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forbes of Kingennie? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forbes of Kingennie

Property: Forbes of Kingennie
Address: Kingennie, Dundee DD5 3RD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dundee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Dundee
#4 Luxury Hotel in Dundee
#14 Romantic Hotel in Dundee
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,039 - ₹ 61,488
Hotel Class:4 star — Forbes of Kingennie 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are looking for an activity holiday with family and friends, a romantic short break, the perfect wedding venue, or somewhere to celebrate that special event, Forbes of Kingennie Country Resort has it all. With top-class golf and fishing on the estate, the peaceful and unspoiled environment is also home to some of the very best luxury woodland and lochside lodges in Scotland. Its location makes it the perfect spot to explore Scotland's glorious countryside or play a round or two at the world's best know golf courses nearby. Conference and business meetings and events are all catered for, while sister company Corporate Kingennie can create memorable and effective team building or corporate days out. In the heart of the countryside, Forbes of Kingennie Country Resort nevertheless enjoys easy access to major towns and cities. Dundee is only 6 miles away, while Edinburgh, Perth and Aberdeen are within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Forbes of Kingennie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forbes Of Kingennie Hotel Dundee
Forbes Of Kingennie Dundee, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing