We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic staff Wonderful Food Brilliant setting = Perfect Wedding”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Forbes of Kingennie Country Resort
Ranked #10 of 28 Hotels in Dundee
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 June 2012

We chose Forbes of Kingennie for our wedding and the three main reasons were we could have our dog join us for the ceremony, the setting is beautiful and having eaten there on a few occasions we were impressed with food and service.

We booked our wedding with 18 months to go and can only offer good comments about our experience of booking and Louise who handeled our booking made the process simple and made sure she covered everything with us a few weeks before to ensure we had everything in place to make our big day go smoothly.

I can honestly the say that the day itself was brilliant the staff were all attentive and Ali our MC could not have done more (he even helped Stuart do up his kilt laces properly, and he kindly leant his jacket to a guest who wanted to pop out to take photos at a particularly windy part ofthe day - seriously though all the little efforts did not go unoticed and it is worth mentioning that this contributed to the overall 5 star rating)

The food was excellent with all the dishes (we had a menu choice) being served correctly, it was all very tasty and the portions were a good size ( I could not manage to finish my strawberry shortcake tower)

The setting was stunning and we have some excellent photos (despite the weather being blustery) and the whole atmosphere was amazing

The staff at night again could not do more and made sure everyone had a lovely time.

We stayed in Glen Esk Lodge and it was very comfortable and was in a nice setting , in the woodland area (Liz gave us a lift there when the evening celebrations had finished) We ate in the restaurant the Sunday night and again the food was fabulous and the service brilliant (Liz even took a photo of us showing our wedding rings)

We will definitely be back.

All in all A wonderful experience of a fabulous day. Thanks to all at Forbes of Kingennie

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lferr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 24 June 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review following your wedding here at the resort. I am delighted to hear you had such a great day and hope that we will see you both again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (319)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

260 - 264 of 319 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2012

Reasonably priced self catering accommodation. Smart and well fitted. Friendly helpful staff. Very good for families. Enjoyed.

Would have been 5/5 if they didn't try to have silly charges on the hire of a cot for the baby and charged us extra to walk around the hedge maze!!! Really - was it worth arguing over a few quid????

Would recommend. Nice restaurant too.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pieandchips2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingennie, General Manager at Forbes of Kingennie Country Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2012

Thank you so much for your review of the resort, I am really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found us to be reasonably priced with friendly helpful staff. I am delighted that you enjoyed a visit to our restaurant during your stay and hope that we will see you again in the future.
I am concerned that we missed out on 5/5 and am certainly considering the points that you have mentioned in relation to extra charges.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2012

Just returned from a training event at Kingennie and it was brilliant. Wonderful lodges, great food, lovely surroundings. Our training course was made perfect by the excellent attention and most smiley manner of Carlo for whom nothing was to much trouble. I don't fish or golf but you don't need to to have a great time here - I guess if you do its the double icing on the cake. I only live a few miles away but I would certainly consider staying here just for a weekends downtime.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank catinthehat1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingennie, Manager at Forbes of Kingennie Country Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2012

Thank you so much for your review. I am delighted to hear your comments which I have shared with the team here at Kingennie. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2012

Great lodges, restaurant, bar and facilities; staff are very helpful and friendly, especially Johnny the fishery manager who is always welcoming and willing to offer advice on what flies are effective.
My fishing party is returning for our 29th stay at this fantastic estate so i think this say it all.

D. Simpson
Dumbarton. Scotland
.

Room Tip: All lodges are of a high standard therefore selection is not important
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingennie, General Manager at Forbes of Kingennie Country Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2012

Thanks for your review Mr Simpson, delighted to hear your comments and look forward to welcoming you for your 29th stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2012

Had lunch at Kingennie today. Asked for a fresh apple juice each to be told 5 minutes later that they had run out. 2nd choice - fresh orange juice. Can't even describe what it tasted like but it was off - the 'manager' even agreed and then proceeded to tell us she had looked at the other stock in the kitchen and it was a funny colour!
Food came - soup/sandwich combo (did not pay for) as bread was sticky and doughy - accompanying leaves were just that - not a salad. Burger meal was made with cheap, doughy roll - slice of processed cheese and frozen chips (inclusive of black/bad potato bits.) Have had a better McDonalds!
Advised waiter of all of this at the end - to be advised when the kitched is busy the chef can't check for 'bad chips' etc and really the waiter should have checked. Charged for burger meal and also charged for orange juice which was off - had to drive back to get refund for the £2.70 juice!
Have been to Kingennie many times and enjoyed. Have attended many weddings there too. Will never go back and will make sure people I know are aware of it's very low standards.
Disappointed customer.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank epatullo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingennie, General Manager at Forbes of Kingennie Country Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2012

Thank you for your feedback regarding your disappointing visit to Forbes of Kingennie. I am very sorry that on this occasion we failed to meet our normal high standards of service and have spoken to the team to ensure this doesn’t happen again. Unfortunately on the day it was not the manager that you spoke to, and I was only made aware of your disappointment after you had left.
We take all feedback very seriously and have now looked at a new bread supplier and will monitor the quality of all of our products much more closely.
I am disappointed to hear that you will not be returning as I note that you have been to Kingennie many times and enjoyed it. I do hope that we will see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dundee hotels
9.3 km away
Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa
10.0 km away
Hampton by Hilton Dundee City Center
3.4 km away
Premier Inn Dundee East Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
Premier Inn Dundee (Monifieth) Hotel
14.0 km away
Premier Inn Dundee West Hotel
14.4 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dundee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forbes of Kingennie Country Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forbes of Kingennie Country Resort

Address: Forbes of Kingennie Drive, Dundee DD5 3RD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dundee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Dundee
#4 Luxury Hotel in Dundee
#14 Romantic Hotel in Dundee
Price Range: ₹ 9,709 - ₹ 48,287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Forbes of Kingennie Country Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are looking for an activity holiday with family and friends, a romantic short break, the perfect wedding venue, or somewhere to celebrate that special event, Forbes of Kingennie Country Resort has it all. With top-class golf and fishing on the resort, the peaceful and unspoiled setting is also home to some of the very best luxury woodland and waterside lodges in Scotland. Its location makes it the perfect spot to explore Scotland's glorious countryside or play a round or two at the world's best know golf courses nearby. Conference and business meetings, and events are all catered for too, with two events suites on site that benefit from glorious views over the countryside. In the heart of the countryside, Forbes of Kingennie Country Resort enjoys easy access to major towns and cities. Dundee is only 6 miles away, while Edinburgh, Perth and Aberdeen are within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Forbes of Kingennie Country Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forbes Of Kingennie Hotel Dundee
Forbes Of Kingennie Dundee
Forbes Of Kingennie Country Resort Dundee, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing