We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“corporate or leisure - all good and 10/10 for Carlo !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Forbes of Kingennie
Ranked #5 of 28 Hotels in Dundee
Certificate of Excellence
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“corporate or leisure - all good and 10/10 for Carlo !”
Reviewed 24 March 2012

Just returned from a training event at Kingennie and it was brilliant. Wonderful lodges, great food, lovely surroundings. Our training course was made perfect by the excellent attention and most smiley manner of Carlo for whom nothing was to much trouble. I don't fish or golf but you don't need to to have a great time here - I guess if you do its the double icing on the cake. I only live a few miles away but I would certainly consider staying here just for a weekends downtime.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank catinthehat1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingennie, Manager at Forbes of Kingennie, responded to this review, 25 March 2012
Thank you so much for your review. I am delighted to hear your comments which I have shared with the team here at Kingennie. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

305 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    221
    45
    18
    13
    8
See reviews for
127
70
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dumbarton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

Great lodges, restaurant, bar and facilities; staff are very helpful and friendly, especially Johnny the fishery manager who is always welcoming and willing to offer advice on what flies are effective.
My fishing party is returning for our 29th stay at this fantastic estate so i think this say it all.

D. Simpson
Dumbarton. Scotland
.

Room Tip: All lodges are of a high standard therefore selection is not important
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingennie, General Manager at Forbes of Kingennie, responded to this review, 20 March 2012
Thanks for your review Mr Simpson, delighted to hear your comments and look forward to welcoming you for your 29th stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

Had lunch at Kingennie today. Asked for a fresh apple juice each to be told 5 minutes later that they had run out. 2nd choice - fresh orange juice. Can't even describe what it tasted like but it was off - the 'manager' even agreed and then proceeded to tell us she had looked at the other stock in the kitchen and it was a funny colour!
Food came - soup/sandwich combo (did not pay for) as bread was sticky and doughy - accompanying leaves were just that - not a salad. Burger meal was made with cheap, doughy roll - slice of processed cheese and frozen chips (inclusive of black/bad potato bits.) Have had a better McDonalds!
Advised waiter of all of this at the end - to be advised when the kitched is busy the chef can't check for 'bad chips' etc and really the waiter should have checked. Charged for burger meal and also charged for orange juice which was off - had to drive back to get refund for the £2.70 juice!
Have been to Kingennie many times and enjoyed. Have attended many weddings there too. Will never go back and will make sure people I know are aware of it's very low standards.
Disappointed customer.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank epatullo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingennie, General Manager at Forbes of Kingennie, responded to this review, 10 March 2012
Thank you for your feedback regarding your disappointing visit to Forbes of Kingennie. I am very sorry that on this occasion we failed to meet our normal high standards of service and have spoken to the team to ensure this doesn’t happen again. Unfortunately on the day it was not the manager that you spoke to, and I was only made aware of your disappointment after you had left.
We take all feedback very seriously and have now looked at a new bread supplier and will monitor the quality of all of our products much more closely.
I am disappointed to hear that you will not be returning as I note that you have been to Kingennie many times and enjoyed it. I do hope that we will see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2012

Great resort, great location.

Stayed in a cabin with a balcony looking toward the restaurant, over the middle pond. Beautiful, serene atmosphere. Two floors with good space, pleasantly fixtured and good quality appliances. Great furnishing.

Restaurant and bar we great - clean, staff were friendly, good food. Resort acitivities were accessible - everything on your door step and again, staff were friendly and pleasant to deal with. Golf course is only 9 holes, and they're short at that, but it's extremely fun, for what it is. I'm a long hitter, but the shortness didn't detract from the fun - rather, that had me take on some more fun "go-for-it" shots.

Proximity to Dundee, but still out in the wilds, means best of both worlds - bucolic, yet no more than 10 minutes from re-supply.

Missing "star" is for the bottle caps and other crud found on the balcony. Not a big deal, but it left a bad taste.

Overall, highly recommended. I plan to be back.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DnxMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 February 2012

First visit to Forbes of Kingennie for my wife's 40th Birthday with friends. Accomodation in the Bard's Neuk Lodge was fantastic. We all enjoyed the surrounings and had a great weekend. Booked table in restaurant on Saturday evening and had a excellent meal. Will definately be back. Staff were friendly and helpful. All in all, great value and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dundee
9.3 km away
Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa
14.4 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dundee
8.2 km away
Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 km away
The Hotel Broughty Ferry
4.5 km away
Best Western Dundee Woodlands Hotel
5.7 km away
Jolly's Hotel
Jolly's Hotel
#13 of 28 in Dundee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forbes of Kingennie? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forbes of Kingennie

Property: Forbes of Kingennie
Address: Kingennie, Dundee DD5 3RD, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dundee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Dundee
#4 Luxury Hotel in Dundee
#14 Romantic Hotel in Dundee
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,748 - ₹ 61,222
Hotel Class:4 star — Forbes of Kingennie 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are looking for an activity holiday with family and friends, a romantic short break, the perfect wedding venue, or somewhere to celebrate that special event, Forbes of Kingennie Country Resort has it all. With top-class golf and fishing on the estate, the peaceful and unspoiled environment is also home to some of the very best luxury woodland and lochside lodges in Scotland. Its location makes it the perfect spot to explore Scotland's glorious countryside or play a round or two at the world's best know golf courses nearby. Conference and business meetings and events are all catered for, while sister company Corporate Kingennie can create memorable and effective team building or corporate days out. In the heart of the countryside, Forbes of Kingennie Country Resort nevertheless enjoys easy access to major towns and cities. Dundee is only 6 miles away, while Edinburgh, Perth and Aberdeen are within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Forbes of Kingennie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forbes Of Kingennie Hotel Dundee
Forbes Of Kingennie Dundee, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing