We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quality B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Alexander House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Alexander House
Ranked #2 of 10 Gretna Green B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow
Level Contributor
54 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Quality B&B”
Reviewed 27 January 2012

I spent 2 nights at Alexander House B&B.
On arrival I was welcomed by Steve who was friendly and welcoming.
Steve showed me where everything was located.
I was shown to my room which was at the back of the house a double with ensuite which was well decorated and immaculately clean.The bed was comfortable with quality bedding which made for a good nights sleep.
Freeview tv and tea and coffee was supplied.
The breakfast was excellent with a choice of cereals, fruit juice, tea, or coffee, and toast.
I had scrambled egg and smoked salmon each morning which was excellent.
There is a breakfast menu where you have a choice of cooked breakfast.
Cath and Steve are a lovely couple who will do all they can to make your stay enjoyable,they are easygoing and friendly.
I highly recommend this b&b spotless throughout cannot find any fault.
The rates are very reasonable.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saltire_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    16
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
90
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 January 2012

My husband and I spent five fantastic nights at this guest house and would recommend it very highly to anyone who likes clean comfy rooms and very good food. Catherine and Stephen who run this accommodation were so friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buttiesplace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

Can't fault it. Great room and whole of guest house was spotless. Couple running the guest house, Catherine and her partner could not do more for you and the full Scottish Breakfast was A1. I would highly recommend and within easy walk of everything.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaroleGandfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2011

A great cycle friendly B&B I would recommend to cyclists undertaking the End to End challenge.
I arrived after a horrible days cycle in the rain and received a lovely warm welcome which was greatly appreciated. Steve and Catherine locked my cycle up overnight and even washed and dried all my cycle clothes! They later helped me out with the following days route. The en-suite room was immaculate and attention to detail was excellent. Lovely breakfast which set me up for another days cycle.
Thoroughly recommend this B&B to all, especially cyclists.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marshgate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2011

We recently stayed 1 night and would certainly have stopped longer had our itinerary allowed us to. Our bedroom was very clean and comfortable. The breakfast was excellent especially the poached eggs. The hosts were very pleasant and helpful and we would not hesitate to stop here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philjay15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gretna Green
0.4 km away
Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel
0.3 km away
Gretna Hall
Gretna Hall
#2 of 4 in Gretna Green
903 reviews
0.7 km away
The Gables Hotel
The Gables Hotel
#1 of 5 in Gretna
855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Greens at Gretna
Greens at Gretna
#2 of 5 in Gretna
382 reviews
0.7 km away
Hunters Lodge Hotel
Hunters Lodge Hotel
#5 of 5 in Gretna
143 reviews
1.3 km away
The Gretna Chase Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexander House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander House

Property: Alexander House
Address: Glasgow Road, Gretna Green DG16 5DU, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Gretna Green
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Gretna Green
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,793 - ₹ 6,348
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Alexander House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellent Bed and Breakfast Accommodation in the heart of Gretna Green, four ground floor bedrooms, all en-suite with shower. Three Double rooms, one twin/kingsize, single rates also available. Free, off road private parking. All rooms have Freeview, Flatscreen Colour TV, Tea & Coffee Tray, Hairdrier, Radio. Free WIFI throughout the house. Breakfast to suit all tastes, served in our quirky, garden view dining room. Choose from Full English, Full Scottish, Vegetarian or Smoked Salmon & Scrambled Eggs. Packed breakfast & Packed lunches also available by prior arrangement. We also have our own taxi service which you can book in advance for your wedding party, station or airport pick up/drop off, or a day trip out around the area - priority for our guests is given.Good base to tour from into the Lakes or Hadrians Wall or further into Dumfries & Galloway. We are close to all the wedding venues and larger hotels, churches and Blacksmiths Shop, Gretna Gateway Outlet Shopping Village and Gretna Green Railway Station. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alexander House Gretna Green, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing