We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely brilliant hotel”
Review of Hazeldene Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hazeldene Hotel
Ranked #1 of 9 Gretna Green B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely brilliant hotel”
Reviewed 29 January 2012

I had really low expectations of this hotel after reading reviews but i absolutely loved it. people imply that its just a couple of rooms above a pub but its actually a huge building an the bedrooms are decent. we got married in gretna an filled all of the rooms. i was massively impressed with our honeymoon suite and its jacuzzi bath an four poster bed. The superior room was also brilliant but for cheap rooms they are all brilliant quality. food was gorgeous! there were 17 of us and not one person complained. staff were polite and helpful. they overcharged us for rooms but were very quick to refund us and very apologetic. I am already looking at when i can get time off work to go back. the hotel is perfect location for weddings, shopping or visiting the little village :)

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joandpaulfairley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

375 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    182
    103
    43
    18
    29
See reviews for
131
135
16
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Snowdonia National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2011

The room itself was adequte, but the staff were miserable and unhelpful, we asked for a late check out (I had emailed many times with no response) to which they huffed and puffed and eventually said 11am, for an additional £20! As if!
The tv didn't work properly so we had to ask for it to be fixed which got us further dirty looks from the staff members, lovely.
Still there was hope for the full cooked Scottish breakfast we got up especially for...
But the chef didnt turn up, (according to the manager at the days in at Gretna this is a serious issue at this hotel.) The miserable staff member from last night explained and gave us a refund... All in all it was a nightmare in a pokey, shabby, dirty place with no room to wait for your taxi and the rudest staff in Scotland I'm sure. Thanks for ruining our wedding night!
In short - Avoid, Avoid, Avoid!!!

Room Tip: Do not use their honeymoon suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Vacillations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strathaven, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2011

we had our wedding reception here under the new owners in august 2011 the staff were fantastic/ friendly and attentive meal great. We had been there under previous owners in june and didnt find it half as good as now.
Definitely go back maybe not this time in a wedding dress!!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joirvine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

We didnt actually stay at the Hazelwood we ate here and the food was exellent. I would recommend it a lot. My advise would be if you are staying at the Smiths then eat here because its nicer and you get a lot more value for your money. Service also very good plus drinks are better value.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JudeCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scunthorpe
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2011

i stayed here a few days ago,i was travelling with my son whos 6 for a friends wedding and was disappointed to say the least. On the website it looks lovely and modern but i soon realised it is basically a local pub. The member of staff who checked us in was pleasant enough but everyone else just looked miserable, i cant understand any of the positive reviews on here relating to this. My room was adequate but small, the fridge didn't work, the beds were squeaky and there was no hairdryer (even though it said on the website one was provided) there is no infotmation in the rooms relating to times for breakfast, dinner etc. We were informed food was served until 8.30 i think, i went to order some for myself and my some at 7pm and was told i better be quick as they had a large party arriving! As for award winning food.....definately not in my opinion. but the worst thing by far was the horrendous noise coming from downstairs, not only were the doors and walls paper thin ( you could literally hear everthing) i wish i had read these reveiws before i booked it really is awful. We were opposite the bridal suite (room 6) and i realised as we left it is DIRECTLY above the bar. I was trying to get my 6 year old son to bed as we had a wedding the next day and all you could hear was the noise from downstairs til gone midnight both friday and saturday, now im not old by any means and like to have fun but the volume was ridiculous considering there were guests upstairs. This place is far more suited to couples or young people, who would probably be in the bar til that time but if you stay with young children it is impossible for them to sleep.Definately not a friendly, family orientated hotel, basically a local pub with a few rooms. When we came down for breakfast we were informed we would have to eat in the bar, we werent given a menu or cereal choice at all. Service was just all round shoddy and half hearted. I would definately never stay here again, even more so if i was travelling with young children and i honestly believe more should be made on their website that you should expect loud music til midnight/1 am. The only positive thing to say is its ok value for money if your on a budget.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank n4ome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gretna Green
0.2 km away
Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel
0.3 km away
Gretna Hall
Gretna Hall
#2 of 4 in Gretna Green
923 reviews
1.2 km away
The Gables Hotel
The Gables Hotel
#1 of 5 in Gretna
872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Greens at Gretna
Greens at Gretna
#2 of 5 in Gretna
404 reviews
1.4 km away
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
#3 of 4 in Gretna Green
388 reviews
1.0 km away
Solway Lodge Hotel
Solway Lodge Hotel
#5 of 5 in Gretna
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hazeldene Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hazeldene Hotel

Property: Hazeldene Hotel
Address: Main Street, Gretna Green DG16 5EA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Gretna Green
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Gretna Green
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,909 - ₹ 7,686
Hotel Class:3 star — Hazeldene Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family run 11 bedroom hotel in the UK's Wedding Capital; Gretna Green. We have recently undertaken a £250,000 refurbishment of the hotel; now boasting a 60 seat restaurant and a 40 seat covered decking area adjacent to the restaurant, with a door access inbetween. So therefore this area can accommodate up to 100 diners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hazeldene Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hazeldene Hotel Gretna Green, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing