We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal location for our Gretna Green weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Anvil View Guest House
Ranked #5 of 9 Gretna Green B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 June 2012

We booked the de-luxe room and were not disappointed in any way. We tend to try and stay at the cheaper end of the market normally (because we travel more than most): this time I decided to push the boat out a little and our two night stay was lovely in every aspect.

Within walking distance of everything within the village and easy to find with amble parking for the three letting rooms and apartment. A well kept garden is available to sit in if the weather is kind (it wasn't when we stayed): Brenda and Roy (the owners) freely give advice on anything local, from pubs and shops to tourist destinations

Great full, well cooked breakfast and a well appointed room to eat it in: our room was as advertised and the en-suite huge compared to our own at home or anything we'd normally have in our low cost hotel stays.

All in all an excellent stay and I higly recommend splashing out and having the best room.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lincolnshirechap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (114)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

69 - 73 of 114 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2012

We stayed here for two nights for our wedding. The guest house itself is lovely,very modern, welcoming and nicely decorated. The owners Brenda and Roy are so friendly and helpful, nothing is too much trouble and they really want to make sure you enjoy your stay. We stayed in the deluxe room which was lovely, the bathroom was a real treat as it had a spa bath and a touch screen TV in the bathroom, which added a special touch to our stay. The room had a 4 poster bed which was really comfortable and we had two wonderful nights sleep. The breakfasts were delicious and there was plenty of variety on offer, we highly reccommend the full Scottish breakfast. The B&B is in a good central location perfect for weddings or tourists on holiday, there are several pubs, shops and places to eat near by. We would reccommend this guest house to anyone staying in gretna, it is a real credit to Brenda and Roy and we cant thank them enough for the wonderful weekend we have had.

Room Tip: Choose the deluxe room, its a little bit more expensive but worth it for the bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amy147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

This B&B is brilliant! The location is excellent; right in the centre of Gretna Green! The family who own the place are extremely friendly, they made me and my party feel so welcomed! The actual b&b itself is really charming; extremely clean and well presented... Has everything you would expect a good B&B to have. Every room had plasma televisions, and they had free wifi! Would never go to Gretna and stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JJwats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2011

Very warm welcome from the owner and fist impressions of the guest house where very good.
The place was very clean and modern in appearance. The room was very spacious and it has one of the best beds we have ever slept in at a small guest house.
The breakfast was first class and freshly cooked to order and you can get what ever you want as the owners are very obliging.
Thank you Brenda for a lovely nights stay.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gavin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights for our wedding, this B&B is fantastic and the owners couldn't do enough for us to make our stay truely enjoyable, the rooms are spotlessly clean and tidy and the breakfasts were a perfect way to start the day. We would definately stay here again, maybe for our anniversaries in the future. The Anvil View is definately worthy of a 5 star+ rating.

Room Tip: Choose the delux suite, its out of this world in luxery.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martin b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gretna Green
0.2 km away
Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel
0.1 km away
Gretna Hall
Gretna Hall
#2 of 4 in Gretna Green
189 reviews
1.3 km away
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
#3 of 4 in Gretna Green
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Hunters Lodge Hotel
Hunters Lodge Hotel
#4 of 5 in Gretna
154 reviews
1.0 km away
The Gables Hotel
The Gables Hotel
#1 of 5 in Gretna
919 reviews
0.2 km away
Hazeldene Hotel
Hazeldene Hotel
#2 of 9 in Gretna Green
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anvil View Guest House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anvil View Guest House

Address: Gretna Green, Gretna Green DG16 5EA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Gretna Green
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Gretna Green
Price Range: ₹ 4,639 - ₹ 10,395 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A delightful guest house situated in the heart of Gretna Green, located opposite the world famous Blacksmiths Shop and within walking distance from the renowned Smiths Hotel. We offer a range of en suite rooms which all include an LCD TV, wifi, tea and coffee facilities and complimentary toiletries. Alongside this, we also offer our newly renovated apartment which provides your own kitchen, lounge and conservatory leading to landscaped gardens.Included within your stay, we also provide our guests with a diverse breakfast menu and can cater for many dietary requirements. Secure off road parking is available and we can do our very best in accommodating for any requests during your stay that you may have. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Anvil View Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anvil View Guest House Gretna Green, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing