We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“restaurant surcharges” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Dumfries

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Dumfries
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Dumfries
kilmarnock
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“restaurant surcharges”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

on a leisure break with £19 dinner allowance I could not believe that I was charged suppliments regardless of my overall spend in effect I migh thave choosen to only have a cheese board and would have paid an additional £3:95 on top of the prepaid £19 beware--- when I raised this at reception and asked to speak to duty manager he was unavailable but my concerns would be passed on --the food in fact was not of the high standard we had been used to in past stays and not up to tripadvisors 4 rating in 2011 I do intend to contact hotel direct as this seems highly odd

Room Tip: all rooms good
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Happyfellow, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dumfries, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
Thank you for this feedback. Previously we have offered a set allowance for guests on an inclusive rate. Recently this was changed and guests now have the opportunity to have three courses from our Brasserie menu choosing from six starters, eleven mains and seven desserts all without any supplement. Cheese like some other additional dishes carry a small supplement Unusual to serve only cheese but had this been requested we would not have charged as you have suggested.

With regret you have been notified on your agents booking form incorrectly with regard to the supplement. This appears to have caused some confusion which I apologise.Hoping this clarifies the situation but should you visit us again I will be pleased to explain further. Mike Phillips General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

963 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    426
    330
    118
    56
    33
See reviews for
146
500
24
138
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

My Husband stayed for a week as part of business training and had been very impressed with the day to day service quality. So when it came to deciding where to stay in the area to attend my brothers wedding in Annan on 20th I left it to my Husband to decide what to book as we required two rooms as our children where travelling with us. I had assumed that it would be a travelodge :) But no the Aston had impressed Andrew so much from start to finish that he rang through and booked without looking any further. Yes they have scaffolding up due to mother nature but we didn't notice. From the greeting to departing the friendly professional service that all the staff gave was poles apart from the London hotels we have used. An air of serenity in the morning and a homely welcome in the evening was the best I have yet experienced. I would so love to visit again.

Room Tip: Andrew has stayed on the second floor and on this visit we were on the ground floor both were equall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Happyfellow, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dumfries, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
Thank you for writing this excellent review. Your comments are much appreciated by all the team and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay and met all your expectations.Will shortly be taking the scaffolding down and our appearance will return to normal. Look forward to hopefully welcoming you for a return visit. Best Regards, Mike Phillips, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Wife, in-laws and I had family business to attend to in Dumfries and area. Great weekend package, staff most attentive, rooms clean, restaurant excellent. Staff totally outstanding, a great choice for us. Good base in a quiet area close to town. Highly recommended. Some building work being carried out, not disruptive at all.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

We stayed here on the 20th and 21/4/2012. We had two executive rooms in the newer part. The hotel suffered major damage to the roof earlier this year and there is scaffolding and upper stairs areas blocked off. When we entered the room there was a letter explaining the situation in detail. Work is carried out during the day Monday to Friday, as we stayed during the weekend we suffered no disruption. I cannot comment on how this might affect you during the week. The hotel is located in the Crichton grounds with the church nearby. We were welcomed at reception and given our key cards,the rooms were spacious and clean,the bathroom had a shower cubicle and a bath. A small selection of toiletries where provided however these were not replenished when the room was cleaned,as there was only 1 small bar of soap between two people for the weekend this was a bit of a stretch and should be addressed by management. Drinks at the bar are quite expensive. Although we did not eat in the restaurant,some of my family did and said the food was very good.Breakfast was very good,well organised,efficient and polite staff. The decor throughout the hotel in in good order. Ample parking is provided at the side of the building. A good experience had by all and we would return.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Youcouldntmakeitup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Happyfellow, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dumfries, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
Thanks for this giving an overall view of the hotel. Pleased our repair work did not distract from the enjoyment of your stay. Scaffolding is currently being removed and we hope to back to normal shortly. Will speak to the housekeeper on the room toiletries as this appears not to be our usual standard. Glad to hear that you will return. Best Regards, Mike Phillips General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

We booked a 4-night stay in the Aston based on tripadvisor reviews and we were not disappointed. The setting within the Crichton complex in Dumfries is beautiful, and the hotel itself is clean, well furnished, well maintained and staffed with excellent, helpful people. The value is incredible, with 4 night deals for dinner, bed & breakfast for around £170. Checkin was easy and efficient, and the room allocated was roomy, clean, well furnished and much better than many more expensive hotels I have been in.

The restaurant is very pleasant, nicely lit with views of the Crichton complex. Service was very efficient, and the menus varied. The food, for the price, was excellent. The textures of lamb dish on the main manu is absolutely lovely, as is the steak. Walnut, pear and goats cheese starter is a highlight too. My wife loved the halloumi main course. Desserts aren't quite the same standard, and the portions are maybe a bit large too.

Breakfast is a buffet and pretty much as you would expect. Service again was spot on.

Overall, I thoroughly recommend this hotel. The combination of price and quality is hard to beat. Hence 5 star rating. We will be back.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Great_Cornholio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Happyfellow, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dumfries, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
Thanks for this review. Good that you found one of our special offer leisure breaks which we offer all year round depending on availability. Will pass on your comments to all the team. Hopefully we can welcome you again sometime. Kind Regards Mike Phillips General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dumfries
2.0 km away
Premier Inn Dumfries Hotel
2.1 km away
Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club
2.3 km away
Best Western Station Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 km away
Hetland Hall Hotel
Hetland Hall Hotel
#7 of 8 in Dumfries
3.5 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
12.2 km away
Friars Carse Country House Hotel
17.1 km away
Townhead Hotel
Townhead Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lockerbie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Dumfries? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Dumfries

Property: Holiday Inn Dumfries
Address: Bankend Road, Dumfries DG1 4ZZ, Scotland (Formerly Aston Hotel Dumfries)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Dumfries
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Dumfries
#5 Romantic Hotel in Dumfries
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,437 - ₹ 7,714
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Dumfries 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG and Booking.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Dumfries reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dumfries Aston
Aston Hotel Dumfries
Holiday Inn Dumfries Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing