We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (880)
Filter reviews
880 results
Traveller rating
288
325
147
69
51
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
288
325
147
69
51
Show reviews that mention
All reviews leisure facilities reivers restaurant swimming pool tribute night steam room and sauna elvis tribute trouser press kippers breakfast was buffet style golf trip course meal town centre night porter both nights bit dated great night weekend break
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 880 reviews
Reviewed 29 August 2018

Be very very careful when booking a golf package with this hotel, it's a rip off.
Their alleged golf co ordinator Kevin was conspicuous by his absence. We queried the rate that we had paid 2 days before our arrival and were told that he would sort it out on our arrival; this was not to be. On departure we we charged a supplement of £10-00 each for dinner but the brochure price states it is included; the reception staff were not to be convinced of the facts and so under duress we paid as more fruitless debate would have meant missing our tee off time. So, golfers beware of this hotels unashamed approach to overcharching guests

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank s m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew W, General Manager at Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2018

We have a number of golf packages in the hotel and these are clearly priced in our golf brochure.Other breaks are tailor made depending on course preferences and availability.
It would be usual for our Golf Coordinator to establish whether a package should be priced up on a Dinner,Bed and Breakfast or a Bed and Breakfast basis.
It is clear from the initial enquiry back in January 2018 that the guest in question requested a Bed and Breakfast package.
This is confirmed in correspondence received from the hotel on no fewer that 5 separate occasions - when agreeing the tee off times and courses booked , when requesting a deposit to secure the booking , when asking to provide guest names/rooming list and when requesting the final balance prior to arrival.
Dinner was never included and this was reflected in the price.
Our Golf Coordinator suggests that all details should be checked prior to booking and he also highlights that he is available from 9am to 2pm every Monday,Wednesday and Friday should there be any changes or alterations to numbers etc.
As the guest chose to have dinner in the hotel during his stay he was charged £12 for a four course dinner with coffee which would have been the difference he would have paid had the dinner been included from the outset.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2018

We stayed at this hotel on a coach deal with Crusader and was pleasantly surprised with the standard. The hotel is a maze of corridors and stairs.Unfortunately our room was quite a trek especially with a case but the hotel does offer a porter if needed.
Room was comfortable with hairdryer tea and coffee facilities and biscuits !!!
We had a evening meal which consisted of Hagis and soup main meal then a nice surprise of three small desserts which were 5 star standard.
The hotel was quite a long drive from Edinburgh but a nice stay.

Room Tip: Room 6-8 near reception
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MAUREEN W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew W, General Manager at Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2018

Hi Maureen. I was delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your recent visit to the hotel. Your feedback is much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2018 via mobile

Arrived at the hotel on friday 17th august for 2 nights. We were over the moon to find we had been upgraded to a 4 poster deluxe room. At no extra cost.
The room had 2 small bottles of red wine which was lovely. Along with some bottled water.unfortunately this wasn't replaced on the second day
The room was very spacious and clean. The upstairs toilet was really nice
We had also booked in for 2 nights dinner bed and breakfast
Not a great or massive menu. What we had was really nice though.
The entertainment on the Saturday was a nice change
A down point if the hotel was that there was only one place to eat at night. The other pub/ restaurant was shut. So you were left with one bar that wasn't manned all the time. So you had to get reception to serve you.
The staff were welcoming professional and very helpful.
Would recommend this hotel to others. would love to go back

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Iain G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew W, General Manager at Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2018

Hi Iain. I was pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your anniversary in the hotel and to find that our staff went out of their
way to ensure you were upgraded to one of our Four Poster rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2018 via mobile

Friendly staff who were helpful with a couple of issues we had but hotel needs a good refurb.
Room 8....Family room....Double bed a single and sofa bed if needed.
The double mattress we found very soft and 1st nights sleep wasn't great...
Also a fan running constantly outside which can be heard even with the windows closed.
Also staff smoke area is directly below the window and it's not the best to look out and see a fair number smoking...chefs etc.
We did mention the soft mattress and to be fair staff made efforts to resolve this.
We enjoyed the buffet breakfast which was fresh and well stocked during our stay.
Bathrooms in the rooms have been upgraded and are really nice but think the monies spent on jaccuzi baths and tv's in bathrooms mat have been better spent making some upgrades to the rooms.
Made use of the health suite which was pretty decent.
Good location for Town centre
Not sure I would return at the same rate...

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank rmundo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew W, General Manager at Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2018

Thank you for your very constructive feedback following your recent stay. As you've noticed we've already made a number of improvements in the hotel and the refurbishment of the bathroom in your room was only the beginning. We will shortly be carrying out further works to the bedrooms over the winter months having completed the major works to the bathrooms. We'd be delighted to welcome you back to the hotel so that you can see these changes for yourself. Guests wishing to stay one of these newer rooms should mention
this at the reservation stage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2018 via mobile

Booked through booking.com and it was very last minute.
Staff great. Stayed in room 55.. four poster bed. Really lovely room. All very clean. Breakfast basic but fine.
Will definitely be back. Thank you for your hospitality.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank vsln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew W, General Manager at Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2018

Thank you for your lovely review of the hotel. I'm sure your comments will be warmly welcomed by everyone concerned with your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews