We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Dumfries
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

Just returned from a weekend stay at the hotel, had a wonderful time, the hotel was lovely and clean, my room was well fitted, nicely decorated and the bed was very comfortable, the food was second to none! and the service we received from the staff was excellent. The hotel is within walking distance to the town centre and most of the tourist attractions. Would definetly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank V M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthewWallace, General Manager at Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such an excellent review on our hotel. It was great to hear that you had a wonderful time and would recommend the hotel to others.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

730 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    228
    274
    129
    59
    40
See reviews for
120
293
20
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
128 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

To start with, this hotel has no major faults, the rooms are comfortable, clean and well fitted, the hotel service is very good, the breakfast is fine, and parking is excellent. In summary, its a pretty good hotel for a small town. There are some glorious hotels in Dumfries and Galloway which are quite a distance from the town, many of which I would recommend, but for THE hotel in Dumfries town centre, this is the one. Its a short walk into Dumfries town centre, and the road into the centre has some really good chinese and Indian restaurants.

Its certainly not a 5 star luxury hotel, but I dont think it pretends to be. Its a good hotel at a very competitive price, but with a superb addition - the health club and spa. The health club alone would equal the standard of at least a 4 star hotel if not more. It has the most modern fitness facilities, a generously sized pool and a sauna area, all of which are immaculately clean.

The staff are excellent, in manner, presentation and helpfulness.

If I compared it to the Peking Hotel in Moscow, or the St Pauls in London or the Warwick in New York then I would be able to find some differences, but for Dumfries, its the best there is.

Room Tip: The rooms are of variable size, so ask for the biggest
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank harveyt252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthewWallace, General Manager at Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
I was delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your visit to our hotel. As you know we are situated close to the town centre and very close to all the usual amenities in town including the Theatre Royal, Odeon Cinema and DGone Leisure Complex. We certainly don't pretend to be a five star hotel but appreciate your comparision to some of the other fine establishments you have visited.
Your comments about our Leisure Club are also much appreciated and these facilities are certainly well partonised by hotel residents and locals alike.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

This hotel was clean, the rooms well sized and the staff helpful. The hotel looks like it belongs to a different decade and needs to be refreshed. I note previous management comments that rooms have been regularly upgraded, but that's not how it looks. Breakfast was pretty average. Would be worth it for £40 b&b or less. Sits between two roads which were busy when I stayed and made enough noise to disturb my sleep. No reason to complain on departure as stay was average, but will not book by choice again.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Learmonthwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthewWallace, General Manager at Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
I was pleased to find that the reviewer found our hotel to be clean, rooms well sized and our staff helpful.
Although road noise isn't generally a problem we are situated close to the town centre and many guests request front facing rooms. Rooms at the back of the hotel are generally quieter but don't have such a good view.
As far as refurbishment is concerned this is ongoing and as well as making improvements to the hotel reception area we will be redecorating 12 bedrooms in "Burnock" wing in the next couple of months.
The bedrooms in this part of the hotel are particularly spacious and also have marble bathrooms.
Perhaps if you are returning to the area on a future occasion we could upgrade you to one of these rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

we stayed at the Cairndale for 1 night , very friendly staff great room and the use of the Leisure club during the stay was very enjoyable , a nice touch was a call to our from from the reception team to make sure everything was ok with the room , if in the area again we would stay at the Cairndale again

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emmamorris1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthewWallace, General Manager at Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, 7 February 2012
Thank you for taking the time to give such an excellent review on our hotel. Maybe next time you visit you'll be able to stay more than just the one night!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

The hotel staff were extremely helpful and really pleasant. The breakfast selection was very good. We ordered porridge each morning and it was freshly cooked. The decor is a little dated and could do with a face lift. The sound proofing between the rooms I found very poor which made sleeping difficult.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yettie1701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthewWallace, General Manager at Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, 7 February 2012
I was pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your recent stay. We are constantly trying to make improvements in the hotel and will shortly be embarking on the refurbishment of 12 bedrooms and the hotel's main reception area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dumfries
2.1 km away
Holiday Inn Dumfries
Holiday Inn Dumfries
#3 of 8 in Dumfries
4.0 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
1.3 km away
Premier Inn Dumfries Hotel
0.4 km away
Best Western Station Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 km away
Friars Carse Country House Hotel
35.4 km away
Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel
19.2 km away
Trigony House Hotel
Trigony House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Closeburn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club

Property: Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club
Address: English St., Dumfries DG1 2DF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Dumfries
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Dumfries
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,377 - ₹ 10,792
Hotel Class:3 star — Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairndale Hotel And Leisure Club
Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club Dumfries, Scotland
Cairndale Dumfries Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing