We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding weekend”
Review of Hetland Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hetland Hall Hotel
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Dumfries
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wedding weekend”
Reviewed 7 June 2012

We have also just returned from the wedding below. We just wanted to say that from the moment we arrived, we felt very at home at Hetland Hall. There is something very relaxing and comfortable about the place that made us feel that.
The staff were faultless, helpful, flexible and efficient and worked so hard all weekend. We even tipped one young lad at the end of it as he seemed to be working at every mealtime and every bar all weekend! At the same time they also were unobtrusive.
The food was very good - we ate every meal at the hotel for the whole 3 days and everything was well cooked and served to a huge group, hot and fresh, which must be very difficult to achieve. In particular, the wedding breakfast was excellent - the beef was "melt in the mouth".
Our room was lovely - in the older part of the house - and was clean and comfortable.
The wedding itself was beautiful (inside on this occasion) with an open fire in the lovely room setting. Everything flowed smoothly and was enjoyable.
The grounds of Hetland Hall are stunning too, and it was fantastic having a drink outside when we arrived in the sun!
Overall, a fantastic weekend, a beautiful wedding and a great time with friends - much of this was down to the environment, but mostly the staff at Hetland Hall.
Thankyou so much - we will definately be returning for the reunion trip!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gabrielle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

655 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    183
    232
    123
    64
    53
See reviews for
121
384
3
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

We have just returned from a lovely weekend at Hetland Hall. Hotel itself is a fantastic building, decorated in keeping with the style of the house with fabulous views. We honestly couldn't fault the food, drink or the service provided all of which were excellent value for money! The wedding day itself went without a hitch (no pun intended) and the Bride and Groom were beaming all day long! The disco - provided by "Jingles" - was great fun, the DJ was very attentive, playing everything on the play list that had been given to him and when the dance floor went quiet he got everyone to join in some traditional Scottish dancing which we all enjoyed. We had booked the whole hotel so the atmosphere was relaxed from the start with drinks on the lawn (in the sunshine - bonus) as everyone arrived the day before the wedding. Overall I would say this is an ideal wedding venue! 5 Stars! Well done Hetland Hall!!

Room Tip: Stay in the old wing as I think the rooms are bigger!
See more room tips
Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank A K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

'Trip Advisor!' What a hoteliers nightmare, unfortunately as is the norm we Brits like to have a little moan and I would like to try and level some of the comments I have read in the about the hotel.
We have just returned from what can only be described as a wonderful weekend at the Hetland hall where we were married . We did have exclusive use of the whole hotel as we filled it up on wedding night as planned, if we had less guests we would have chosen a smaller hotel. Yes the ownership has changed hands over the past 18 months and yes we were worried about how it would all go.
On our first visit in November 2010 we had access to all the rooms including function and bedrooms and yes the rooms did vary in size and quality. We were originally going to be married at another venue, however we decided that we loved the building so much we would arrange the wedding to take place at the Hetland Hall.
On our second visit we met the infamous owners who disappeared a month later, they again gave us a guided tour of the hotel, rooms and function halls, yet again we felt the hotel was what we wanted and the prices very reasonable.

We arrived very early on our wedding weekend and were made very welcome by Gail, we knew that the rooms would not be ready due to our early arrival, however the staff worked wonders and the rooms were ready for the guests as they filtered in throughout the day. The comments from all our guests could not have been more complimentary about the hotel and the rooms, the building and its grounds looked fabulous, we had a wonderful day topped off by a great evening in the bar with all our guests, your staff were fantastic and looked after all our needs.

Wedding Day

We may be slightly bias as it was our wedding but from the moment we got up to moment we closed our bedroom door in the early hours of Sunday morning you and your staff treated us like royalty, all the function rooms had been laid out and looked fantastic, you organised and managed the whole event superbly without fault, your staff again worked hard and all of our quests wanted for nothing and complimented on the venue and the staff. I have had nothing but praise regarding the wedding breakfast, the food was served piping hot and to all guests at the same time, the beef roast was amazing, I have had one friend comment it was the best beef he has ever had, so please pass our sincere compliments to your chef. Brilliant service all Day.

We stayed for a further night and had again a wonderful meal, which topped off the weekend.
On checking out, most of our guests were pleasantly surprised at how reasonable their bill was, they have all commented on what a fantastic venue and weekend they have had.

We could not fault the weekend, your hotel and your staff were fabulous, it was all we wanted it to be and more. Be assured if you have booked your wedding at the Hetland Hall you will not be disappointed, we are already arranging a return visit on request of most of the guests.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 June 2012

We've just returned from a wonderful weekend wedding at Hetland Hall. We also had read a number of reviews for the hotel; some good and some not so good.
On a positive note the Hall is set in beautiful grounds, the staff are very friendly and nothing is too much trouble.The food, though not outstanding, was certainly good value for money, and the wedding breakfast was very nice indeed. The public areas are in need of redecoration in places, but are still charming and have a gentle feel of grandeour to them.
The only real negative was the bedroom. We were in the 'new wing' of the building and the room was in need of updating. The bed (though very comfortable) was missing a head board and the wall paper behind was ripped in places.There were cobwebs on the windows and our room unfortunately had large pipes running all round the edge, both at floor and ceilling level which were covered in dust and cobwebs.The shower room was small but adequate, although on one occasion there was no hot water. On a positive note, it was a nice quiet room at the rear of the hotel overlooking some amazing countryside
Overall, the main hotel, food and the staff were lovely, but the bedroom itself was overpriced and dissapointingly shabby, however we would reccomend it for Weddings/occasions as we had a lovely weekend.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the remodelled bedrooms in the main house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 May 2012

We stayed at Hetland Hall from Thursday 24th May 2012 until Saturday 26th 2012 for our Wedding. The grounds and Hotel are stunning, which we got to enjoy because of the fabulous weather. The thing that made such a huge difference from Hetland that you wouldn't get at a 5 star Hilton etc is the friendliness of the staff, they are so helpful and nothing was a problem. Jan the owner brought my breakfast to my room herself on my wedding morning & gave me a good luck cuddle. The staff lined up at the bottom of the stairs as I went to the car that was taking me to the Church. Ourselves and our guests were made to feel like Royalty and we really couldn't ask for more. I totally recommend a visit to Hetland for a Wedding or even just a mini break in a beautiful location. Furthermore the food is excellent. Would love to go back for a visit soon.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 17 which is a Bridal suite. Very large and spacious room with a lovely new bathroo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank evilwinst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dumfries
11.0 km away
Holiday Inn Dumfries
Holiday Inn Dumfries
#3 of 7 in Dumfries
1,058 reviews
20.9 km away
Friars Carse Country House Hotel
12.2 km away
Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 km away
Best Western Station Hotel
12.0 km away
Best Western Dryfesdale Country House Hotel
11.1 km away
Travelodge Dumfries
Travelodge Dumfries
#6 of 7 in Dumfries
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hetland Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hetland Hall Hotel

Property: Hetland Hall Hotel
Address: Carrutherstown, Dumfries DG1 4JX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Dumfries
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Dumfries
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,451 - ₹ 8,767
Hotel Class:3 star — Hetland Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hetland Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dumfries
Dumfries Best Western
Hetland Hall Hotel Dumfries, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing