We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding April 2012” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hetland Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hetland Hall Hotel
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Dumfries
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Wedding April 2012”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012

Were shall I start, I booked the venue 12 months ago and from the start we had numerous problems, living well away from the Hotel we were unable to view it before paying deposits etc. On our first visit our first impressions were that the main public rooms were reasonably well maintained and nicely decorated. Once you open a bedroom door the story begins to go sour.

Anyway during the 12 months the wedding planner/manager changed 3 times so we were constantly having to repeat our requests, although credit to Marion (who has just left or is leaving) she did her best with the resources available.

On arrival we were greeted by the new grumpy wedding planner/manager who was not helpful at all and always seemed to have an attitude, she wouldn't let us view our guests rooms and had in fact moved them all to different rooms even though we had allocated each guest a specific room only the week before (having seen how awful some of them were). Anyway next morning before most of our guests arrived we finally managed to get access to the rooms and move our guests back around to the correct rooms, thanks to a helpful room maid.

The wedding day itself went reasonably well, the wedding breakfast was average and the beef very very tough, vegetables resembled the dried out microwaved variety. The starters and puddings were fairly good though. On the night of the wedding we noticed several other guests in the hotel (even though we were meant to have exclusive use). On numerous occasions the bar was left unattended for long periods of time (20minutes or so) and this was early on in the evening 8-10pm. Anyway at 10pm I was told by a member of staff that the music had to be turned down as their was other guests in the hotel. After politely explaining the exclusive use and the fact that I had turned a blind eye that other guests were using/staying at the hotel the person in question went and found what appeared to be the only other member of staff the night receptionist, who also ranted about us disturbing the other guests and the noise. Anyway after asking if anyone had complained and where they were staying (no guests had complained and the other non- wedding guests were actually staying in the awful 1960's wing of the building and couldn't hear the music anyway) so when I asked what the problem was, I was told their wasn't any (I can only guess the staff on duty wanted a quite night).. anyway after that we didnt hear another thing on the matter.

Honey moon suite is nicely decorated but the bed is awful, if you breathed the bed would creek and the mattress resembled something from the 2nd world war, the bed is clearly in need of replacement and on closer inspection is being held together with some additional screws that stick out all over the place. and some patch work wood underneath holding it together.

The Spa bath is still broken even though we were told throughout the past 12 months that the parts are on order (why not just tell the truth, you have no intention of fixing it) The bath rail is hanging off the wall too. And as per the other visits numerous bulbs were not working and no new bulbs of the correct size were available. Oh and the fire made some worrying noises so was switched of straight away.

On a positive the young girl on reception was very helpful and always greeted us with a smile and always did her best to try and resolve any problems for us. Thankyou!

In all we had a good wedding but it was more down to what we made it rather than anything the hotel did. If your looking for a place to have a wedding or reception look else where. Which is a shame as with a little investment and some general TLC this place could be a great place to have a wedding. I should point out that no manager or owner was available to discuss my issues when trying to check out, and I'll be surprised if they respond to this review.

Room Tip: Find another hotel, if you have to stay their stay in an executive room or room 24.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BrilloBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan A, Owner at Hetland Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2012
Can I firstly say that I am glad you managed to have a good wedding, but also that I am very sorry that in this instance we did not meet up to your expectations. I also thank you for your positive comments.
You are correct in stating that the manager has changed; the company that you booked your wedding at Hetland with went into administration, and we, the original owners, are now back in full control with the intention of returning Hetland Hall to its former glory. ( The deposit you paid went to the previous company Carabee Ltd – this, along with all other deposits is being honoured ).
I am not sure why you thought you had ‘exclusive use’. Whilst this is available at Hetland Hall -and with 30 rooms is a very popular option - your party numbered 28 and you had 13 rooms; exclusive use ( in any hotel) means taking over all the hotel rooms. There was nothing on your booking form about exclusive use.
I am sorry you were unable to get immediate access to your guest rooms but I am afraid this was not possible on your early mid morning arrival when other guests were still in those rooms.
Regarding the noise complaints, we were not aware that you would be installing your own disco in the hotel lounge. Should we have known we would happily have made suitable arrangements; we fully understand a function can be noisy and lively – we just need to know it is happening!
Finally I am sorry that you were not informed that the ‘spa’ element of the bath had been disabled and would remain so, I agree that we were at fault here, and I apologise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

603 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    172
    214
    115
    54
    48
See reviews for
110
353
3
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

I stayed there for my wedding for 2 nights stayed in the bridal suite Jacuzzi had no switches to it electric fire sparked when you turned it on or off towel rail was hanging off gym was not open been closed for years pool was now filled in see. Web site lol other rooms very much the same
Food was good on the Wednesday evening and good value
Wedding breakfast was not as good but cost twice as much

Evening buffet not much food and extra chicken was very expensive
Never stayed in a place like it

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1150dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan A, Owner at Hetland Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2012
Apologies but the old ‘Chalet’ style pool and gym complex has been closed for a number of years and is certainly not advertised as being open on the hotels own web-site.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dumfries hotels

Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

I recently stayed here for a family wedding and saw amny highs and lows. On arrival the house and grounds are kept well. The Reception, Bar Area, Lounge and Restuarant are all maintained to a good standard with good looking fire places and spiral stair cases.
Then you hit the bedrooms and corridors. The corridor floors always looked dirty and needed a good hoover. The Bride and Grooms room looked nice, but the jacuzzi bath didn't work and the bed - well you only had to breath and it made noises - extremly old and in serious need of repair. We even lifted the matress to see and some of the slats underneath were re connected and just about holding together. The Guest rooms, well you are looking at 3 star and less. The rooms near the Main Suite were the better of the bunch. The rooms on the top floor where ok, one bed was missing a wheel so you slept at an angle, the showers where either boiling hot or freezing cold and there were electrical wires sticking out in the bathroom. Various rooms had mould on walls, ceilings and windows. The rooms on the otherside of the hotel can only be described as halls at a university.....
This house could be amazing if someone just went around and gave it some TLC and added a few little touches. In some places its just a matter of adding a lick of paint, filling a hole, or updating fixtures and fittings.
My other gripe was use of the bar during the 2 nights. There wasn't a regular person manning the bar, so if someone wasn't there, you had to go to the reception and ask for the barman. I wouldn't expect to do this at a wedding.
Either way the wedding went well and the couple took it in their stride. Its just a shame that the people running this property aren't getting on top of the issues and making sure couples and their guests have the best experiences on the special day.

Room Tip: I would see the room before I book it.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RideAnElephant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan A, Owner at Hetland Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2012
Firstly, thank you for your thoughtful review and positive comments as well as your constructive criticisms. We, the original owners, have recently re-taken control of Hetland Hall, and like you believe that ‘This house could be amazing’.
We firmly believe we are on the way to making it so, and reviews such as yours do actually help us in this process.
That the corridors ‘ needed a good hoover’ and that the bar was left unattended we agree is unacceptable; these problems have now been remedied, but we thank you for noting them.
It should have been pointed out that the ‘ jacuzzi’ element of the bath had been disabled, although some of the noises from the bed are an unavoidable result of it being an old and beautiful Four Poster ( We do have alternative Honeymoon suites).
Some of the maintenance issues you describe should not have happened, and again, we thank you for pointing them out. The full refurbishment programme we are carrying out would, we hope, answer most of your criticisms, and we would welcome you back to Hetland Hall to see how we are progressing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

Stayed here for three nights for daughter's wedding. Staff made us feel truly welcome. The Hotel is in a wonderful setting. The public areas, especially the hall with it's gorgeous staircase is beautiful. Executive bedroom we stayed in was comfortable. Breakfast plentiful and cooked well. Must commend the staff on the food for the wedding - the beef was to die for! We had many positive comments regarding the food from our wedding guests. Well done and thank you to all the staff involved.

Room Tip: If you like spacious rooms - go for an executive room - they are huge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jacqueline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

Me and my new husband have just returned from an amazing stay at Hetland Hall Hotel. We had our wedding at Comlongon Castle and our reception at the hotel! Could not fault this place at all! From the moment we arrived till the moment we left the staff were truly fantastic! From the reception staff right to the house keeping and care takers. They could not do enough for you and no matter what we asked of them they done it with a smile! The hotel it self was absolutely stunning, the grounds were beautiful. The drive up to the hotel from the drive made hotel look very grand and posh. We had around 30 guests staying at the hotel with us with rooms ranging from the honeymoon suit, to a single occupancy room. The honeymoon suit was gorgeous, a huge 4 poster bed and grand fire place, bathroom was huge, only problem was the spa bath did not wrk :( our parents were in rooms 1 and 2 (executive rooms) both were lovely, huge and beautifully decorated. Bridesmaids, grandparents and brother/sisters were in rooms, 21,22,24 and 26. Their rooms were all lovely decorated, lovely sizes. I didn't get into everyroom our guests had booked out but all our guests were more then happy with their rooms!
The food we had with our reception package was out of this world! Was so nice, well cooked and all our guests commented on how good it was! The bar staff were fantastic, friendly and chatty, the cleaners were more then happy to help with the constant requests and the reception staff were fantastic! Overall I dnt think we could have wished for a better setting or nicer staff to share in our big day! We will b going back, and when we do we will be staying for longer! Mr & Mrs Traverse!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Willow-Ro5e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dumfries
21.2 km away
Friars Carse Country House Hotel
11.2 km away
Holiday Inn Dumfries
Holiday Inn Dumfries
#3 of 8 in Dumfries
4.0 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
12.5 km away
Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 km away
Premier Inn Dumfries Hotel
22.6 km away
No photo provided
The Gables Hotel
#1 of 5 in Gretna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
10.9 km away
Townhead Hotel
Townhead Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lockerbie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hetland Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hetland Hall Hotel

Property: Hetland Hall Hotel
Address: Carrutherstown, Dumfries DG1 4JX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Dumfries
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Dumfries
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,341 - ₹ 7,931
Hotel Class:3 star — Hetland Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Hetland Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dumfries
Dumfries Best Western
Hetland Hall Hotel Dumfries, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing