We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Gorgeous!”
other traveller has booked this property
The Mill @ Lewinshope
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Mill @ Lewinshope
Beautiful light and warm bedrooms
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
41 reviews
The Mill @ Lewinshope
Beautiful light and warm bedrooms
The Kitchen has everything you need.
Tennis Court can be used anytime. Football too!
Plenty of seating area and space to relax.
Ash room with steam shower in the ensuite.
Open plan area and Mezzanine above to hide away and read.
The Beech Room.
Hidden under the Waterwheel a small window in the Ash Bathroom looking onto the hills beyond.
The Elm Bedroom with ensuite bathroom with a the only bath in the Mill with a shower
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Selkirk, Borders, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
yummymumm...
Oban, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Gorgeous!”
Reviewed 7 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Gorgeous house for friends and family to stay in. Lots of crockery etc for family dinners. Ordered a big Asda shop for just after we arrived. The hosts were very friendly but unobtrusive. Kids loved the see saw and tennis courts. Despite inclement weather we had a fantastic weekend. All enjoyed steam room and sauna. The big bath was so relaxing as well. Nice playarea upstairs for kids and it was lovely sitting in front of open fire as wind and rain blew outside! Thanks Lulu and Johnny.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Apr 2016
Thank you very much for the kind review. Glad you made use of the good weather in between the rain! Hope to see you all again. With love The Watsons x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdonia...
Southport, United Kingdom
1 review
“Exceptional property - luxury accommodation - really comfortable”
Reviewed 18 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We fell in love with The Mill the minute we walked through the door and it only got better as we explored further. No photos can do justice to this beautifully renovated property. Attention to detail is exceptional with wooden floors, doors, window seats, shelves, etc - all lovingly crafted. Our dad was a French Polisher and and he would have loved it too! Johnny and Lulu have done an amazing job - a definite labour of love. Comfy chairs, sofas, log burning fire, large dining table, double cooker, 2 dishwashers, fridge/freezer, and every conceivable kitchen utensil! There was even a tea cosy - a must for any lifelong tea drinker. Spacious comfy beds with quality linens. Selkirk, Hawick, Jedburgh, Kelso, Melrose, Moffat, Peebles within easy reach for a stroll or shopping although lovely scenery all around for walks. Train to Edinburgh 1 hour from Tweedbank Station 12 miles away with free all day parking. Ticket machine on platform. We enjoyed tea and scones in the tearoom at Floors Castle and explored some of the local areas associated with Sir Walter Scott and William Wallace. Thank you Johnny and Lulu for your lovely welcome and the lemon drizzle cake was yummy! We hope to see you again next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Rural quiet location
Liked least: Going home
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jul 2016
Bowled over by your response to The Mill. Thank you so much and really useful with all you did for future guests. Hope to see you all again. Love Lulux
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
petemmcc1...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“5star plus”
Reviewed 16 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Spent a long weekend in March with a group of friends, returning to this wonderful accommodation. The Mill has been treated to a luxury refurbishment. Very high quality finishes. Lots of granite and natural wood. Enormous kitchen/dining/ living space. En-suite bedrooms are spacious and light. Plenty of walks in the beautiful surrounding countryside. Great Italian restaurant in Selkirk if a meal out is required. Overall, couldnt fault anything!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jul 2016
Sorry for the delay to thank you for your review. Hope to see you all again. Lulux
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David W
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Wonderful time in a wonderful house”
Reviewed 13 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Thanks Lulu for making our stay so warm and welcoming. Your house is amazing and it felt like we were staying in a 5 star hotel. The log fire made the house so cosy and the attention to detail in all the rooms was superb. It is a most relaxing place to stay. We were tempted to extend our weekend but unfortunately work called. We shall return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The overall cleanliness and the superb standard of the rooms. We even had a welcome basket including a delicious lemon drizzle cake.
Liked least: Nothing really
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jul 2016
Thank you for your lovely review, glad you liked the logs, quite a lot around with Johnny's job as a Tree surgeon! Hope to see you soon. love from The Watsons x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy F
Basildon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed 11 February 2016 for a stay in December 2015

First impressions of The Mill - Wow. We arrived a little early and thought we were going to have to hang around for hours, but after a quick call to Lulu she insisted we were allowed in early. We even had a plate of her delicious chocolate brownies to greet us! The decor has such a wonderful balance of modern with cottage feel, the big windows looking out over the beautiful Scottish countryside. Lulu was kind enough to have the Christmas Decorations up (the biggest real Christmas tree I've had) so we could celebrate second Christmas with the family. The kitchen/ Lounge area is so spacious, more than enough space to relax and unwind in front of the fire. The upstairs mezzanine is such a good idea, the kids could spend their chill out time up there without having to fight over the TV. All of the bedrooms are beautiful, comfortable beds, all ensuite. And after a long, wet, windy day out hiking around the Scottish Borders what could be better than coming home to a sauna? We had a group of 10 family staying for New Years and we all fit comfortably without feeling crowded. The outdoor fire pit - despite the stormy week we had - we managed to get going for New Years Eve which was fantastic. Supermarkets are relatively close by, just a drive to Galashiels (the fridge is massive so stock up) We are looking to book again, there was so much to explore we didn't get to do everything we wanted to. I highly recommend hiking up Grey Mare's (should your fitness allow it), the views are incredible. Our hosts were so accommodating, Lulu and Johnny were at hand when we needed anything. Thank you again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The sauna, the open fire, the huge stocked up kitchen
Liked least: The weather - but what else can you expect in December!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Feb 2016
Thank you Lucy, what a fantastic review. We love decorating The Mill @ Christmas and I am so pleased you loved the tree, that was one of our last ones to cut in the woods. Need to plant more! You were amazing guests and left it beautifully. Hope to see you all again. Thank you again. Lulux
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing