We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Outstanding property in a beautiful place”
other traveller has booked this property
The Mill @ Lewinshope
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Mill @ Lewinshope
Beautiful light and warm bedrooms
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
41 reviews
The Mill @ Lewinshope
Beautiful light and warm bedrooms
The Kitchen has everything you need.
Tennis Court can be used anytime. Football too!
Plenty of seating area and space to relax.
Ash room with steam shower in the ensuite.
Open plan area and Mezzanine above to hide away and read.
The Beech Room.
Hidden under the Waterwheel a small window in the Ash Bathroom looking onto the hills beyond.
The Elm Bedroom with ensuite bathroom with a the only bath in the Mill with a shower
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Selkirk, Borders, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Anne E
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Outstanding property in a beautiful place”
Reviewed 9 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

A beautifully restored property in a lovely place. At night it was actually dark! No street lights so you could see millions of stars. The owners made you feel very welcome and their attention to detail was second to none. Loved spending a long weekend there with my family and going for long walks seeing all the colours of Autumn, I really couldn't have asked for more. I Have to say that Lulu's lemon drizzle cake, which was waiting for us on arrival, was gorgeous and went down a treat with a cuppa. It was just what we needed after walking miles with our dog! I'd definitely recommend this property to any one of my family and friends and we'll definitely be visiting again - I can't wait :-) The Mill has recently been awarded a five star rating and I must say it's very well deserved. The Mill is a credit to both Lulu and Johnny.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was everything expected and more
Liked least: Having to go home!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Nov 2015
Thank you just so much for the amazing review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan S
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing place”
Reviewed 18 October 2015 for a stay in April 2015

This was our second stay at The Mill, both times we were with friends and the group included 5 children. What a wonderful place to holiday. The house is immaculate and has everything you could possibly need/want. The Watsons are lovely hosts and Lulu makes the best lemon drizzle cake! We walked and cycled from the house. Tesco delivery to the house on the evening we arrived saved a large supermarket shop :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Nov 2015
Thank you for your kind words. See you again. Lx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sakiScotl...
Falkirk
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Excellent - Stylish and Very Comfortable”
Reviewed 17 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Wow! The Mill at Lewinshope certainly has the wow factor and a host of amenities which help make a holiday a success despite disappointing weather. We highly recommend it.

We booked many months before the holiday itself with a view to repeating a very successful family holiday in a large villa near Bergerac nine years ago. Now, however, in addition to our two sons and their wives we had two grand-daughters aged 8 and 6, our recently born grandson and a spaniel.

The house is the star, helped by it having a well-equipped and maintained tennis court (a form of astro-turf), a pond with small dinghy, ample parking adjacent to the house, and a barbecue and chiminea area with seating, table etc.. The design of the house is excellent. The large open-plan sitting/dining/ kitchen area is a very attractive space which is ideal for family sharing time. Even though it was meant to be summer we loved the open log fire. The mezzanine area, complete with TV wired to allow headphone sound, games, big floor cushions etc complements the main living area perfectly allowing children to watch/listen without disturbing adults below or, conversely, adults to retreat in peace. A large cooker with gas hob, two dishwashers, large fridge-freezer etc allied to ample space made cooking a pleasure though we also ate out and ordered carry out food. It is almost impossible to list all that is provided, suffice to say it is very comprehensively equipped!

The four bedrooms are all spacious and can be configured as super-kings or twins. They are lovely and the beds very comfortable. We chose the one on the same level as the living area and loved the space, the double shower room and the sauna. We nobly shared the sauna. Taller people may need to be cautious getting out of bed in this room as the ceiling slopes. The three downstairs bedrooms are all delightful. All are ensuite and one has a steam room and another has a free-standing bath. One is separated from the others and the main stairway along a corridor and as such offers a sense of distance from any hubbub. We found it great for mother and new baby.

The spacious boot room with adjacent cloakroom toilet and washbasin was ideal with lots of space for hanging jackets, parking sticks, umbrellas, tots and, of course, boots. The downstairs laundry room with washing machine and tumble drier was much appreciated.

The decor is also lovely with a contemporary wood theme and some interesting paintings, prints and artefacts.

Our cocker spaniel loved the holiday too. We stuck to our usual rules forbidding on furniture and no bedroom access and were very careful when outdoors to avoid livestock, but this was not difficult. Bowhill Country Estate is only 10 minutes by car and provides excellent woodland walks (easy to convert a daily admission to a season ticket at no extra cost). You can access Bowhill before it officially opens. The owners' dogs are friendly and unobtrusive.

Finally, we loved the Mill. We had a fabulous time and have many happy memories. We found the owners, Lulu and Johnny, very pleasant and helpful (especially Johnny's tent packing skills) while leaving us to enjoy the house. Given the vagaries of Scottish weather this is the perfect place for a family or group holiday in the country. We would imagine it would also be ideal as a winter family retreat.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The style, the space, the amenities.
Liked least: Almost nothing - the odd blip with the BT wi-fi a minor inconvenience.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Nov 2015
Thank you so much for the lovely long helpful review. Great promotion for winter retreats....x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tremendou...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A wonderful week in a beautiful environment”
Reviewed 3 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

This was a family celebration week, birthdays and an anniversary, with 6 adults and 6 children, ages ranging from 8 months to sixties. The Mill is beautifully finished inside and out, and set in spectacular surroundings in the hills close to Selkirk. It is very well equipped, including the thoughtful addition of a second dish-washer, and the sauna and steam-room add to the luxurious feel. There is plenty to do in the area, the nearby Bowhill House has something for everyone, and the owners at Lewinshope could not be more helpful. We all thoroughly enjoyed our stay, and would love to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The high quality finish and attention to detail to provide a really special experience.
Liked least: leaving...
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Aug 2015
Thank you for the wonderful review. Hope to see you all again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma E
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Look no further...”
Reviewed 2 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

This is an amazing self-catering property, with everything you could possibly need.

The owner provides an exceptional level of service, including sending a list of what is already in the house for you to use and an excellent welcome pack of the area. The kitchen is very well equipped, there is a separate laundry room, sauna, steam room, tennis court, the list goes on. If you need anything, the owner is on hand and very responsive but not at all intrusive.

There are also lots of things to do in the surrounding area, including plenty of ways to keep kids occupied.

We have pretty high standards when it comes to holidays and this place exceeded them without a doubt.

Look no further and book now!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The high level of service we received from the owner
Liked least: Nothing -- this place is great.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Aug 2015
Thank you for the lovely review. x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$ 420
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing