We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very Welcoming and Relaxing”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Tweed Cottage

Contemporary cottage central quiet  location. Free wifi and real log fire.  Peebles . Dining table 2
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Contemporary cottage central quiet  location. Free wifi and real log fire.  Peebles . Dining table 2
Contemporary kitchen. Glass hob. Microwave. Fridge freezer. Dishwasher. king bed laura ashley. additional single. spacious
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
46 reviews
Contemporary cottage central quiet  location. Free wifi and real log fire.  Peebles . Dining table 2
Contemporary kitchen. Glass hob. Microwave. Fridge freezer. Dishwasher.
king bed laura ashley. additional single. spacious
Bathroom Shower over bath.
Patio private area enclosed belongs cottage . Not adjacent to cottage  but steps away
Complimentary Treats every visit .
Eastgate section of Peebles High Street where cottage is situated down a lane.
River Tweed runs through Peebles, Borders. Down hill from cottage one minute walk.
Ruins of Neidpath Castle. Thirty minute walk from cottage along river.
The Bridge Inn Peebles. Lovely Beer garden.
Cademuir Valley Peebles. Great walks all around town.
Town of Peebles . Photo Southside Photography Peebles
Jim Jacks Fish and Chips Peebles, cooked fresh on order. 2 mins walk
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Peebles, Borders, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Alex M
Castlebay, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very Welcoming and Relaxing”
Reviewed 29 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

This was a wonderfully relaxing break. The cottage was on a little private lane just off the High Street so it was handy for everything in the town but was also very quiet and peaceful. The cottage was well equipped with everything we needed and Caroline had provided a wealth of information and resources to help us plan outings or just stay in and enjoy the tranquility. The cake and dram on arrival was much appreciated. I will definitely be checking it is available the next time we go to the Borders.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Nov 2014
Thanks for your review and i'm glad your stay went well. Kind regards owner.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosa l
Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, Spain
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice and Cosy cottage”
Reviewed 25 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

This cosy cottage is well located in a quiet town. It is well conected with nearby beautiful surroundings and not far from the marvellous city of Edinburgh. The cottage is fully equiped and especial care has been taken for tiny details to make you feel comfortable. We particulary liked the bed which helped us to have a wonderful rest all night long. Caroline provided us all the information needed to make our state even more pleasant like tips where to eat,, places to visit, things to take into account around the house etc..........She welcame us with fantastic presents and Easter eggs for my daughter. We thanks her very much because coming from the Canaries we felt like at Home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything specially the bed
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 May 2014
Dear Rosa, Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay at Tweed cottage. I am glad too your daughter enjoyed her Easter Egg! Yes Peebles is 20 miles South of Edinburgh with half hour bus links, or a free car park two miles south of Edinburgh park and ride. I do agree with you with the king size bed , it has a Dunlopillo Mattress and is very comfortable. kind regards owner.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
590debora...
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
1 review
“picturesque cottage in a great location”
Reviewed 11 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Great cottage, well equipped and nicely decorated. Some great finishing touches to welcome us including chocolates, whisky and kitchen essentials. Contact with the owner ensured we were clear on how to find it and what to expect. Location meant we could walk everywhere and car parking off site was no problem. Plenty places to go for a drink or something to eat as well as take aways. Kitchen was so well equipped I happily cooked every night, Walking routes on the doorstep and a local gym meant I could try a couple of classes! Lovely shops, fresh bread, baker right across the road and supermarket an easy walk!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Decoration of cottage and location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Apr 2014
I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay here and found the Cottage well equipped too. Yes I too love the fresh daily bread baked over at Forsyths and everything is so easy to walk to . Thank you , owner.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
missorgan...
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Little hidden gem of Peebles.”
Reviewed 17 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This is a fabulous cottage tucked away behind the high street. Pictures on the website do not capture the olde world charm of the place mixed with a chabby chic interior, contempory kitchen and a real fire. Great wifi signal too :)
It is situated in a perfect location facing a church. It is reached by an alley with views of mountains which were snow capped in February when we stayed. Next door to a chemist and convenience store with a butcher and baker opposite. A tasty fish and chip shop, lovely restaurants, pubs and shops, a theatre, swimming baths and riverside walks and cycle paths. Simply perfect in every way. The only improvement we could suggest is a larger tv as the one in the cottage is laptop size but has an excellent picture.
Thank you very much Caroline for your most unusual welcome gift. We would love to buy this cottage you are lucky to own it.
We hope to return to visit Peebles in a different season and would chose this cottage again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Feb 2014
Dear Miss Williams,
I am pleased to hear you had such an enjoyable stay and feel the photos don't do it justice. Thank you for your review and I will be very pleased to welcome yourselves and your son back to Tweed cottage Peebles. I will consider getting a bigger TV as you suggest the size is not too large as it fits neatly into the space without causing clutter. I do agree the location is so easy for getting about the centre of Peebles , buses directly into Edinburgh etc however it's a very quiet close. Just to note too, for readers, the church is silent , no bell ringing. Thanks again Caroline owner.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian H
Peebles, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Home from home”
Reviewed 24 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013

We rented the cottage for two months as temporary accommodation whilst moving house. To say we were well provided is an understatement. Caroline, the owner, thoughtfully ensured we had everything we needed for a long stay. The cottage was warm and comfortable even in the winter period. It is clear that attention has been paid to equipping this small house with quality furnishings and facilities. The location, just off Peebles High Street could not be more convenient for shops and transport. Access to the surrounding area is so easy.
We now live in Peebles and would recommend Tweed Cottage most highly for holidays and temporary purposes.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The friendliness of the owner, who we have yet to meet.
Liked least: Walking in the rain.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Feb 2014
Thank you for your review. I have just joined this site and glad that all went well with you. I do try to put in extras such as quality mattresses, DVDs, speakers etc and a portable dvd player too amongst other things helping towards an enjoyable stay. Kind Regards, owner.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing