We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New owners”
Review of Apples for Jam

Apples for Jam
Ranked #1 of 3 Coffee & Tea in Melrose
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Reviewed 4 November 2018 via mobile

Had quick coffee, with friends,in this classy wee place before work the other day, open at 8.30am maybe 8 and open Sundays, oh my goodness what an amazing transformation,full of finesse and class, the coffee was spot on, supplied by three hills coffee Selkirk,from the menus to the little touches it all just spot on.... These guys certainly not clueless, they are on the ball.
If you visit melrose folks this wee place well worth spending some time in.

Date of visit: November 2018
4  Thank Katiedoll62
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviews (180)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

103 - 107 of 180 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2018 via mobile

Was in this morning with my 2 year old daughter . Excellent service by two girls . They where very accommodating to my daughter giving her a china cup the same as mine .tea and cake where both lovely Will definitely be back and will recommend to others .

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank thin2382
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
12Linglie, Owner at Apples for Jam, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2018

Thank you so much for your kind comments
Look forward to seeing you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2018 via mobile

Had a lovely cheese scone & coffee.. cheese scone was one of the best we had tasted & lovely cup of coffee.. great service.. Shona & Autumn couldn’t do enough for us.. lovely friendly people.. definitely recommend & will be back soon

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank stewart67loan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
12Linglie, Owner at Apples for Jam, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2018

Delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit to us
We look forward to welcoming you back

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2018 via mobile

We had open top sandwiches which we very tasty and well presented followed by carrot cake and tea first class friendly service would recommend

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Jane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
12Linglie, Owner at Apples for Jam, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2018

Delighted to hear you enjoyed your lunch
Look forward to welcoming you back

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2018

This small cafe used to have the most delicious cakes and teas with really interesting flavours, plus some nice if a limited range of savoury offerings. It was good enough that we would visit Melrose specially to come here. Now It has apparently changed owners and is alas a shadow of its former self, though it looks much the same, inside and out.

Our open sandwiches were ok but small and not very satisfying, and the cake was just average. Service was fine. Prices are quite high but the food and ambiance are disappointing. Not a good sign that the menu still claims to be the book festival one, given that was several weeks ago.

Date of visit: August 2018
3  Thank namenotgiven
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
12Linglie, Owner at Apples for Jam, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2018

In response to your review
We have continued with the book festival menu as the Topless Sandwiches have proved to be very popular,it is not the case that we have neglected to change the menu
If you had made your disappointment known to the staff,they would have not charged
Scones are made freshly every day
We use good quality ingredients for the sandwiches,hence the price
Our drink prices are average for the Borders
We do have flavoured teas as well as Flora teas which have interesting flavours

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Apples for Jam also viewed

Melrose, Scottish Borders
Melrose, Scottish Borders
 
Melrose, Scottish Borders
Galashiels, Scottish Borders
 

Been to Apples for Jam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing