We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Official Hotel
$81
View deal
Booking.com
$73
View deal
Vio.com
$70
View deal
Expedia.com$80
Hotels.com$80
Destinia.com$113
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (996)
Filter reviews
997 results
Traveller rating
258
385
205
90
59
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
258
385
205
90
59
Show reviews that mention
All reviews self drive dining room evening entertainment coach trip entertainment room hotel grounds public areas weekend break ground floor buffet style first floor enjoyable weekend restaurant staff waiting staff lovely break excellent value for money lovely grounds
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 997 reviews
Reviewed 23 September 2022 via mobile

Great location to enjoy the very interesting area
Pleasant staff and food plentiful. First bedroom at the rear of the hotel overlooking the service area with a skip and visits from the bin men and laundry truck in the morning with the kitchen extractor outside the window, not happy!! Asked if there was another room available the next morning and we were able to move to a room at the front overlooking the lawns with rabbits and squirrels much better

Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank 240va
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Waverley Castle, General Manager at Waverley Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2022

Dear 240va
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. We are glad we were able to change rooms for you and that you enjoyed watching the local wildlife! We hope to be able to welcome you back in the future
Kind regards

James GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2022

Stayed at the Waverley hotel for 3 nights mid September.
Fair and true review of our stay:-

Pros
Hotel was an excellent base to explore the borders, near enough to town centre to walk (25 mins each way albeit with a slight hill).
*Most* of the staff couldnt do enough for you.
Inside of room was adequate. Relatively quiet too.
Bed was comfortable (albeit only a double).

Cons
Check in at reception could have been handled more smoothly than "Here's a bit of paper with some info on it and here's your key".... No directions to room offered etc
Some of the inside of the hotel is a bit dated and badly in need of an upgrade.
Our room door (228) felt far from secure and could easily be breached by intruders. Reported to reception with me who agreed however were unable to move us as the hotel was full. So take refund and go home or put up with the risk.
Beds on offer seems to be only double or twin - in this day an age, I prefer a King size.
Entertainment within the hotel appears to only coincide with bus tours - If no tours, no entertainment. Be warned. We had zero entertainment over Sat, Sun, Mon evenings.

Breakfast
Breakfast whilst ok, was identical each day - no variation. No black pudding, mushrooms nor haggis on offer (Extremely disappointing).
No cold meats or cheeses or anything like that on offer.
Some of the younger breakfast waiting staff need further training although the foreign girl (looked polish or similar?) was excellent.
On Day#1, we arrived at the buffet 30 minutes before it closed and there was no bacon left. We had to report this to staff, who then had to inform the kitchen to make some more. I find most hotels handle things like this pre-emptively, rather than waiting for it to run out before preparing more.
I waited the best part of 15 minutes for my breakfast due to this.

Dinner
Ordered Pizza for dinner one evening in the bar. Was very nice.

Overall, it WAS value for money and we would return if visiting the area again.

Date of stay: September 2022
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DarrenMooney
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Waverley Castle, General Manager at Waverley Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2022

Dear DarrenMooney
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We have taken you comments onboard and discussed with the relevant teams as we strive to meet customers expectations.
Kind regards
James GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2022

Just got back home after a 2 night stay at the Waverley Castle Hotel with a large group of friends from choir and zumba classes. Looking at other reviews on this site I found them quite harsh. My experience was that the hotel staff dealt really well with such a large group and were extremely welcoming. The meals themselves were fab, so much better than I had expected, hats off to the chef. I was expecting delays at mealtimes but the service was really quick and all the staff were so pleasant and helpful. The room I had was very pleasant and spotlessly clean. Yes there were certain areas which could do with an update but lets remember hotels are still recovering from closure of business during lockdown.
Outside the hotel the grounds are lovely and we went for a beautiful walk this morning straight out of the hotel and down to the River Tweed, what a picturesque spot.
I would definitely recommend this hotel either for a group visit or if I was staying with family and friends. I hope to get the chance to visit again before too long.

Date of stay: September 2022
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank dott99
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Waverley Castle, General Manager at Waverley Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2022

Dear dott99
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us and we are delighted that you have enjoyed your weekend with us. The chef thanks you for your kind comments!
We look forward to the welcoming you back in the future
Kind regards

James GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2022 via mobile

Very well maintained hotel grounds wonderful rooms and facilities 1st class meals excellent staff very attentive
Rooms very clean towels lovely and soft pristine white
Bathing facilities very good housekeeping excellent
All helped to a enjoyable and relaxing stay

Date of stay: August 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Jean F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Waverley Castle, General Manager at Waverley Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2022

Dear Jean F

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay and we are pleased that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay.
We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to the Waverley Castle in the future
Kind regards
James GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2022

Check in: quick & friendly
Room: supposed to be superior- just basic room, shower was pitiful & no hot water
Food: 1st night the food was amazing, 2nd night was awful..bit hit & miss..
Bar: good service, friendly barman. Pizza was excellent.
Grounds & Area: lovely grounds & beautiful riverside walks.
General areas: looking a little run down in some areas, 3rd floor corridor stunk of weed

Date of stay: August 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Donna E
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Waverley Castle, General Manager at Waverley Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2022

Dear Donna E

Thank you nfor taking the time to review your recent stay and we are sorry that you were not fully happy with your stay. We have taken your comments onboard and discussed with the relevant teams. We are always trying to ensure customers are not bringing any illegal drugs into the hotel.
Kind regards
James GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews