We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A perfect holiday cottage.”
other travellers have booked this property
Lavender Blue
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lavender Blue
Cottage with parking for 1/2 cars
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
37 reviews
Lavender Blue
Cottage with parking for 1/2 cars
Garden with table and chairs
Welcome basket.
Kitchen
Sitting room
Sitting room
Reading corner in Sitting room
Downstairs toilet
Bedroom as Super King Size
Downstairs hall way.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Melrose, Borders, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
allan b
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A perfect holiday cottage.”
Reviewed 5 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had an excellent short stay here.
From the fast and efficient communications on making the booking to the lovely welcome basket, an excellent service was provided.
The cottage was clean, well stocked with the essentials, everything worked and the beds were very comfy indeed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew W
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 19 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

A spacious, yet cosy and warm cottage. Fully equipped with quality products and very nicely decorated throughout. The garden is enclosed with a good private parking space. When we arrived, there was fresh bread and milk, plus other treats - which was a very nice touch. Fantastic location, within 1 to 2 minutes walk to Melrose High Street which offers a good range of shops and pubs. Locals were very friendly as well.
Highly recommended and we hope to return again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mfc009
2 reviews
“Just Perfect!”
Reviewed 23 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014

We were thrilled with our few days in this lovely cottage. We will definitely be back. Location is perfect, quiet but a stones throw from great places to eat, shop and drink. We had a lovely borders welcome from the owner who couldn't be more helpful. Pet friendly, clean and beautifully presented house. Can't wait to come back!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
akmacaula...
UK
Level 5 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful!!!”
Reviewed 12 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Lavender Blue Cottage in October. We had 2 little Yorkies who would have escaped through the gate railings and Laura the owner asked her gardener to try to cover them over. This was really unexpected but very welcomed so we would not have to worry letting them in the garden. What can we say the cottage was absolutely gorgeous. We arrived there in the evening to a lovely fire on the go and a warm cottage. The cottage is definitely a home from home and in a great position if you want to walk into town which takes less than a minute. Laura's hospitality was fantastic she puts the bigger companies to shame. There were scones and jam/butter on the table for us. A basket with oatcakes,porridge and crisps. There was another basket with fresh bread and eggs and fresh milk in the fridge. We were up for a sad occasion but this cottage made us want to stay for longer is was that nice!! We have stayed in lots of places and this cottage and Laura's hospitality has to be the best we have ever had! You would be hard pushed to find anything to complain about regarding this cottage or the hospitality you receive. Would go back in a heartbeat !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon K
1 review
“Ideal setting for a stay in Melrose!”
Reviewed 16 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Lavender Blue Cottage is ideally situated in the village of Melrose. Despite being just off one of the two main commercial streets of the town, the cottage provided the peace and privacy my friend and I were hoping for during our ten-day stay. Ample, easy parking and a large lawn ringed with a high stone wall made it convenient yet quiet, with shops, services and the lovely abbey just a short stroll away. The house is furnished for comfort and equipped for convenience, a cheery aspect in every room. We were away touring most days and loved coming "home" to make our dinners and enjoy evenings in the pretty cottage. We slept so well in the excellent beds and always felt safe and secure in lovely surroundings. We stayed home one day to entertain five lady friends from Edinburgh with a leisurely lunch in the garden, thanks to a sunny day and the use of the outdoor tables and chairs, surrounded by late-summer roses and hydrangeas. Espaliered fruit trees, two apples and a pear, displayed fruit against the stone wall like a Medieval tapestry, just beautiful to look at. When we let ourselves into the house the first day, Laura had lights on, the gas fire going in the parlor and the most generous assortment of welcome items in the kitchen. I appreciated the use of laundry facilities very much, as I was on a 7-week extended stay in Scotland. The dishwasher was also a plus. I highly recommend Lavender Blue cottage! I would stay there again with pleasure if the opportunity came up and would relish the chance to return. I can't imagine a more ideal place to rent in Melrose. Evening walks on quiet lanes and past the evocative abbey, gently illuminated and glorious at night, gave us memories to last a lifetime. I loved staying here so much and hated to leave!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and privacy.
Liked least: No complaints at all.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing