We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Comfortable, cosy and very well located.”
other travellers have booked this property
Lavender Blue
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lavender Blue
Cottage with parking for 1/2 cars
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
Lavender Blue
Cottage with parking for 1/2 cars
Garden with table and chairs
Welcome basket.
Kitchen
Sitting room
Sitting room
Reading corner in Sitting room
Downstairs toilet
Bedroom as Super King Size
Downstairs hall way.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Melrose, Borders, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
wheelieba...
Yorkshire
2 reviews
“Comfortable, cosy and very well located.”
Reviewed 16 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Lavender Blue Cottage. It was cosy and warm, extremely comfortable and had everything we needed for our short walking holiday. Laura was very helpful and welcoming, and the hamper of goodies awaiting us was an unexpected bonus. There were wonderful walks from the door, and some excellent eateries within a few minutes walk. We will be back.....

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TiptopJay...
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect holiday cottage”
Reviewed 7 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Had a lovely week staying in this pretty cottage. Every need and more is catered for. The cottage is very comfortable, a perfect home from home. Owner Laura couldn't have been more helpful, accommodating a change to the rental week. Our dog was made to feel welcome, enjoying the doggie treats left by Laura, whilst we enjoyed the lovely basket of goodies!
Will definitely return again, the property is so convenient for walks along the Tweed and of course, just minutes out of the pretty town centre.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was very well equipped
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carol1746
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Exceeded expectations”
Reviewed 4 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

This was our second time Lavender Blue cottage and once again exceeded our expections. Even though the weather conspired against us we still enjoyed our family get together. There is nothing that you could want that is not supplied in this cottage and I wholeheartly recommend Lavender Blue.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Family get together
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bingles19...
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Home From Home”
Reviewed 6 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013

Laura is the example that all owners should strive for she went out of her way to make it warm an welcoming even putting up a Christmas tree that my daughters really appreciated.
The cottage is very pretty to look at and inside is just as you would imagine old world charm.
Everything has been thought of and if it has not I am sure Laura would do her upmost to rectify it if possible.
Lovely bedrooms with nice quality bedding , lot of storage if you should need it .
Bathroom is roomy with nice towels and a bath which I personally like the option of having.
Big homely kitchen with everything you could think of the only negative is the weather was very very cold, normal for the Borders at that time of year and downstairs would feel quite cold when coming back from being out all day so would suggest putting on heating for a couple of hours before you are due back and it will be lovely and toasty when you arrive.
The nicest private rental we have ever stayed in.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Kitchen very cold.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NICOLA R
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 4 December 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Beautiful cosy cottage with everything you need for a comfortable stay. Lovely little touches throughout. Warm and cosy after a lovely walk.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing