We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Priceline$153
eDreams$153
Agoda.com$154
StayForLong
Vio.com
Etrip
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (232)
Filter reviews
232 results
Traveller rating
100
62
28
21
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
100
62
28
21
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews garden suite breakfast menu high street evening meal food was lovely warm welcome three nights excellent stay well worth a visit pity sherry rear
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 232 reviews
Reviewed 8 June 2022

Stayed in Melrose for a couple of days last week, and although we didn’t actually stay in the Kings Arms we found it to be very friendly with a great atmosphere serving very good mainly traditional food.
The jewel in the crown for us though was Connor the barman who was exceptional at his job in our opinion. Not only does he serve a great pint, he was so friendly and nothing was to much trouble to him including bringing a bowl of water for our black Labrador Monty.

Date of stay: June 2022
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 568MFF
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 17 May 2022

My wife and I called in today and were served by Daniel. He was a very polite, personable and efficient young man. He showed an interest in us and also sorted out a loyalty card for us. We will certainly return

Date of stay: May 2022
    • Location
    • Service
Thank yorkshireboy235
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 3 May 2022

Stayed here during our trip. Room was clean, comfortable beds and a lovely shower.
Food wise it would be described as a gastro pub. There is a separate bar area. Food was good - veggie burger, mac & cheese and salads. No continental breakfast was available but a sufficient selection of cooked to satisfy most people. It's clear that quite a few businesses are struggling to come to terms with Brexit and post covid issues.

Date of stay: April 2022
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ali921
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 29 April 2022 via mobile

I am a pro-Melrose local resident and I go out of my way to support local business. However, after visiting the Kings Arms tonight I can absolutely say I will never go back ever again and that makes me very sad. That was also the view of fellow dinners tonight. One table left saying as they went out of the door, “We’ll never come back here again” and sarcastically shouting “See you next week!”. I wholeheartedly agree.

We’ve eaten there a few times over the past year and it’s been above average for Melrose, but sadly that’s not saying much. But tonight the management should hang their heads in shame for leaving such inexperienced staff on their own without a manager.

From sitting down to getting our food it took over an hour. The food was badly cooked. Raw steak and posh chips that are frankly just over cooked and awful. Having to take food back ourselves to the kitchen to be cooked because there is nobody about is just plain wrong.

The owners will undoubtedly blame the young staff. But it wasn’t their fault. Understaffed, undertrained and trial staff backed by a young kitchen, again with inexperienced staff. The owners will blame everything but themselves, but they’ve dented their own reputation tonight with so many tables.

Horrid food and service. Take my advice and don’t waste your money here. I hope the staff find somewhere better to work where their employers support them. Such a shame for Melrose.

Room tip: Just avoid this restaurant.
Date of stay: April 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Sacha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 6 April 2022 via mobile

Dreadful service, pre-booked from menu for 1, started to serve 2.20!, complained twice at the delay, no reason given. Food Mediocre, if anything we all considered it overpriced. £15+ for Fish pie but no potato on top?, kitchen said a "thin layer of potato was put on top it must have Sunk into the Sauce"!!!
So must the teaspoons of salt!
We had to ask for the heating to be turned on as we were cold sitting waiting.
Took 10 minutes to serve table of 11 so we all started eating at different times.
Very disappointed with quality of dishes.
To cap it off having sat there for 2hrs 20mins loud music was played, impossible to have a conversation.
There are other more welcoming places to dine in Melrose.

Room tip: Try else where if you want reasonable priced food and good service.
Date of stay: April 2022
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank BorderRover1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews